Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Arena of the Planeswalkers: MtG > Official Rules and FAQs
Official Rules and FAQs Compilation and discussion of AotP Rules and Frequently Asked Questions.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #73  
Old August 17th, 2015, 02:51 PM
SantelliC0 SantelliC0 is offline
 
Join Date: August 17, 2015
Location: Country - State - Major City (Town)
Posts: 4
SantelliC0 is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: AotP Question Dump

So am I correct in thinking Liliana can one-shot figures on her turn by attacking doing one wound and then using Snuff Out after?
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old August 17th, 2015, 02:55 PM
quozl's Avatar
quozl quozl is offline
Silly quozl, dinosaurs are for orcs!
 
Join Date: January 11, 2008
Location: USA - WA - Vancouver
Posts: 25,679
Images: 123
Blog Entries: 3
quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: AotP Question Dump

Squad creatures, yes.

Also, if you're asking questions about a specific card, please ask it in that card's thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Van Ness View Post
I highly recommend C3V and C3G customs!
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old August 17th, 2015, 02:58 PM
SantelliC0 SantelliC0 is offline
 
Join Date: August 17, 2015
Location: Country - State - Major City (Town)
Posts: 4
SantelliC0 is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: AotP Question Dump

yes I meant creatures I know it doesnt work on Planeswalkers thank you seems like she's very good I've only gotten to play 1 game so far though
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old August 17th, 2015, 04:45 PM
Hogg's Avatar
Hogg Hogg is offline
 
Join Date: September 3, 2006
Location: Midgard - North Carolina
Posts: 3,676
Blog Entries: 1
Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death!
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradtato View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hogg View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradtato View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hogg View Post
It doesn't say specifically in the rules (because its not a good game and someone tacked a bunch of spell rules onto a simplified HS system)

C'mon, that's not fair. There were just as many questions relating to obscure wording a decade ago when HeroScape first debuted...so what of a few very situational wording issues were overlooked, or not anticipated at all. A game can only be playtested but so thoroughly...
Yeah, it is. This game feels like a badly done custom. There are more holes in the rules than HS. See my question about the poor wording on the Restless Zombies for an example.
That's not a hole in the rules; that's clearly stated that you only roll at the start of your black Planeswalker's turn. A hole in the rules would be Taelord and his Stealth Flying. They didn't include the tidbit about leaving engagement attacks when flying to reflect that he had stealth flying, and everybody overlooked it and wondered why he cost so much.

What is a black planeswalker's turn? The rules only talk about players having turns, except one passing reference that does not seem definitive. And in the passage above it it says "You can only use Liliana's Snuff out ability on a turn in which you choose Liliana." Which supports players having turns, not units, and could easily be "You can only use Liliana's Snuff Out ability on Liliana's turn." if planeswalkers had clearly explained turns.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old August 17th, 2015, 05:06 PM
bradtato bradtato is offline
 
Join Date: February 24, 2012
Location: USA - Virginia - Glen Allen
Posts: 60
bradtato knows what's in an order marker bradtato knows what's in an order marker
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hogg View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradtato View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hogg View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradtato View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hogg View Post
It doesn't say specifically in the rules (because its not a good game and someone tacked a bunch of spell rules onto a simplified HS system)

C'mon, that's not fair. There were just as many questions relating to obscure wording a decade ago when HeroScape first debuted...so what of a few very situational wording issues were overlooked, or not anticipated at all. A game can only be playtested but so thoroughly...
Yeah, it is. This game feels like a badly done custom. There are more holes in the rules than HS. See my question about the poor wording on the Restless Zombies for an example.
That's not a hole in the rules; that's clearly stated that you only roll at the start of your black Planeswalker's turn. A hole in the rules would be Taelord and his Stealth Flying. They didn't include the tidbit about leaving engagement attacks when flying to reflect that he had stealth flying, and everybody overlooked it and wondered why he cost so much.

What is a black planeswalker's turn? The rules only talk about players having turns, except one passing reference that does not seem definitive. And in the passage above it it says "You can only use Liliana's Snuff out ability on a turn in which you choose Liliana." Which supports players having turns, not units, and could easily be "You can only use Liliana's Snuff Out ability on Liliana's turn." if planeswalkers had clearly explained turns.

A black Planeswalker's turn is a turn on which the player chooses a black Planeswalker to be the active unit.

It's not a hole, it's a rule left up to common sense. Bear in mind, this game is targeted at 10-year olds. The rules can only be but so specific before a 10-year old loses interest. That's what we as a community are here for.

If I could have had any influence on the ruling and wording, the turns would be structured similarly to in the TCG: Draw, Activate an army card, main phase 1 (cast spells, and if a Planeswalker was activated, summon creatures), move, attack, main phase 2 (see main phase 1), end phase. Instead of simply attacking, the attack phase would be declared, at which point, hidden enchantments that say "when a figure in enchanted squad is attacked" would be flipped and resolved, thereby eliminating the trouble in whether the attacker still gets their bonuses, and the cards would have a more careful wording. For example, the zombies in question should be worded "At the beginning of a turn on which a black Planeswalker is activated..." instead of "at the beginning of a black Planeswalker's turn..."

But then, it'd be almost like someone tacked some HeroScape rules to Magic: the Gathering.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old August 17th, 2015, 05:10 PM
aquamaniac27's Avatar
aquamaniac27 aquamaniac27 is offline
 
Join Date: November 9, 2007
Location: USA - PA - Landisville [Lancaster]
Posts: 594
Images: 23
Blog Entries: 14
aquamaniac27 rolls all skulls baby! aquamaniac27 rolls all skulls baby! aquamaniac27 rolls all skulls baby! aquamaniac27 rolls all skulls baby!
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hogg View Post
What is a black planeswalker's turn? The rules only talk about players having turns, except one passing reference that does not seem definitive. And in the passage above it it says "You can only use Liliana's Snuff out ability on a turn in which you choose Liliana." Which supports players having turns, not units, and could easily be "You can only use Liliana's Snuff Out ability on Liliana's turn." if planeswalkers had clearly explained turns.
Action 2 of a turn is "Choose and army card," (pp. 6, rule book). On the following page (7) under "Planeswalker Rules," it states "Before action 3 of your Planwalker's turn." I assume that once you choose an army card, that army card's turn starts.
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old August 17th, 2015, 06:21 PM
Hogg's Avatar
Hogg Hogg is offline
 
Join Date: September 3, 2006
Location: Midgard - North Carolina
Posts: 3,676
Blog Entries: 1
Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death! Hogg is hot lava death!
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradtato View Post
It's not a hole, it's a rule left up to common sense. Bear in mind, this game is targeted at 10-year olds. The rules can only be but so specific before a 10-year old loses interest. That's what we as a community are here for.
The community is not here to do their job for them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aquamaniac27 View Post
Action 2 of a turn is "Choose and army card," (pp. 6, rule book). On the following page (7) under "Planeswalker Rules," it states "Before action 3 of your Planwalker's turn." I assume that once you choose an army card, that army card's turn starts.
You shouldn't have to make assumptions about rules, they should be explained.

It just shows that they look at this as a casual game like Operation or Mousetrap, and not a serious hobby game like Magic. HS wasn't treated like a serious game either, and it did alright. But I predict this game will fizzle out and we will be seeing stacks of it on discount next year. Expansions may save it but the initial launch has been lackluster and must have been expensive. We will have a better idea around the holidays and it will be interesting to see if retailers sell out and restock.
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old August 17th, 2015, 06:46 PM
quozl's Avatar
quozl quozl is offline
Silly quozl, dinosaurs are for orcs!
 
Join Date: January 11, 2008
Location: USA - WA - Vancouver
Posts: 25,679
Images: 123
Blog Entries: 3
quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer quozl is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: AotP Question Dump

I just wanted to remind everyone this is a thread for questions about the rules, not complaints.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Van Ness View Post
I highly recommend C3V and C3G customs!
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old August 18th, 2015, 09:49 AM
gamjuven's Avatar
gamjuven gamjuven is offline
 
Join Date: June 22, 2006
Location: PA - Pittsburgh
Posts: 2,950
Images: 66
Blog Entries: 8
gamjuven wears ripped pants of awesomeness gamjuven wears ripped pants of awesomeness gamjuven wears ripped pants of awesomeness gamjuven wears ripped pants of awesomeness gamjuven wears ripped pants of awesomeness gamjuven wears ripped pants of awesomeness gamjuven wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: AotP Question Dump

Okay so I reached out to Hasbro regarding this issue:
Customer By CSS Web (gamjuven) (08/15/2015 09:58 AM)
Hello, I was wondering if you could clarify this issue. I was wondering if you can summon the Blazing Firecats, play an enchantment on them, and THEN resolve your haste attack with one of the firecats? The wording on the card is saying you may immediately attack with one of your firecats so I'm not sure. The rulebook doesn't really go into stacking or timing like the card game does. You can both summon units and play spells before phase 3 so I don't really know what it should technically be. Thanks!

This was the response:
"Hi gamjuven,

Thank you for contacting Hasbro, Inc.

I am pleased to reply but regret to advise that the information you have requested is not readily available in regards to the Arena of the Planeswalker Game.

I am sharing your question with those internal parties who are more familiar with this piece of our business. I will respond to you, as soon as I receive the information from them.

gamjuven, thank you in advance for your patience.

Kind regards"

Well I thought you guys made it pretty obvious but now I'm not so sure, lol. I guess we'll see what the ruling is.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old August 18th, 2015, 11:36 AM
bradtato bradtato is offline
 
Join Date: February 24, 2012
Location: USA - Virginia - Glen Allen
Posts: 60
bradtato knows what's in an order marker bradtato knows what's in an order marker
Re: AotP Question Dump

I just received a similar response in regards to my question about Dual Casting:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike

Hi Bradley,

Thank you for contacting Hasbro, Inc.

I am sharing your question with those internal parties who are more familiar with the Magic: Arena of the Planeswalker. I will respond to you, as soon as I receive the information from them.

Bradley, thank you in advance for your patience.


Kind regards
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old August 18th, 2015, 12:22 PM
Colorcrayons's Avatar
Colorcrayons Colorcrayons is offline
 
Join Date: March 7, 2012
Location: USA - MN - Minneapolis
Posts: 207
Colorcrayons rolls all skulls baby! Colorcrayons rolls all skulls baby! Colorcrayons rolls all skulls baby! Colorcrayons rolls all skulls baby! Colorcrayons rolls all skulls baby!
Re: AotP Question Dump

I take those responses to mean that they are forwarding those questions to people who understand the game, instead of being answered by your average customer service phone monkey.

Which, is a very good thing.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old August 19th, 2015, 10:56 PM
aquamaniac27's Avatar
aquamaniac27 aquamaniac27 is offline
 
Join Date: November 9, 2007
Location: USA - PA - Landisville [Lancaster]
Posts: 594
Images: 23
Blog Entries: 14
aquamaniac27 rolls all skulls baby! aquamaniac27 rolls all skulls baby! aquamaniac27 rolls all skulls baby! aquamaniac27 rolls all skulls baby!
Re: AotP Question Dump

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colorcrayons View Post
I take those responses to mean that they are forwarding those questions to people who understand the game, instead of being answered by your average customer service phone monkey.

Which, is a very good thing.
Having asked many question regarding MTG, I can confirm these are should actually be sent to the proper people within WotC offices. While response times tend to vary, I've always gotten the answer I was looking for, if not the one I wanted.

We should start a sticked FAQ thread when these answers start rolling in.

Edit: My bad, I see that we have one. Just make sure we get them posted!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Arena of the Planeswalkers: MtG > Official Rules and FAQs
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here. wriggz Official Rules & FAQ's 11485 January 3rd, 2022 02:24 PM
Official Site Question Dump Joseph Sweeney Scapers Online 660 September 5th, 2021 02:21 PM
The HoSS Question Dump Balantai Heroes of Star Wars Scape 265 February 27th, 2021 03:17 PM
C3V/SoV Question Dump Ninja Status C3V and SoV Customs 19 January 24th, 2021 11:18 AM
The Official GENERAL Question Dump Alex Karasavidis General 0 August 5th, 2013 10:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:32 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2022 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.