Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11017  
Old December 27th, 2018, 03:58 PM
Flash_19's Avatar
Flash_19 Flash_19 is offline
Frank Lloyd Wright of Hexes
 
Join Date: June 29, 2017
Location: USA - UT - Saratoga Springs
Posts: 943
Images: 1
Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by superfrog View Post
If Theracus uses Carry to place a hero you control onto a treasure glyph, can that figure pick up the glyph?

Or can a hero only pick up a t-glyph on its turn?
Only on its turn. The rule book says that to pick up a treasure glyph a unique hero must end its movement on the treasure glyph. That seems to indicate during the movement phase of its own turn since there are a number of ways figures could end up on a treasure glyph - like being carried (as you mentioned), summoned, knocked back, thrown, pushed, etc. IOW, the rules say "its movement" instead of "moved on to".

My Map Thread
Maps for Online HS
My Customs
"Life before death, strength before weakness, journey before destination."

Reply With Quote
  #11018  
Old December 27th, 2018, 04:10 PM
superfrog's Avatar
superfrog superfrog is offline
This is merely a joke.
 
Join Date: March 12, 2012
Location: USA - CA - San Gabriel
Posts: 10,900
Images: 7
Blog Entries: 1
superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flash_19 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by superfrog View Post
If Theracus uses Carry to place a hero you control onto a treasure glyph, can that figure pick up the glyph?

Or can a hero only pick up a t-glyph on its turn?
Only on its turn. The rule book says that to pick up a treasure glyph a unique hero must end its movement on the treasure glyph. That seems to indicate during the movement phase of its own turn since there are a number of ways figures could end up on a treasure glyph - like being carried (as you mentioned), summoned, knocked back, thrown, pushed, etc. IOW, the rules say "its movement" instead of "moved on to".
Yeah, but in context, I think "ends its movement" is there to establish a contrast with the surrounding context, which says that (unlike with a power glyph) figures don't have to stop their movement on a treasure glyph.

I don't see "movement" as specifically referring to a figure's turn.

Reply With Quote
  #11019  
Old December 27th, 2018, 05:12 PM
superfrog's Avatar
superfrog superfrog is offline
This is merely a joke.
 
Join Date: March 12, 2012
Location: USA - CA - San Gabriel
Posts: 10,900
Images: 7
Blog Entries: 1
superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Nevermind, everybody. Flash is right.

Here's a quote from that spells it out:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grungebob View Post
A figure may only pick up a treasure glyph if it takes a turn. In other words, the treasure glyph picking up is after moving and before attacking. Because of the open intent of treasure glyphs (we want players to get creative with their traps), and because there are too many abilities that would activate at the same time, we went with the wording we chose. When a power says "its movement" we are not talking about movement granted by some other figure such as Skahen etc.

Reply With Quote
  #11020  
Old December 27th, 2018, 05:36 PM
Flash_19's Avatar
Flash_19 Flash_19 is offline
Frank Lloyd Wright of Hexes
 
Join Date: June 29, 2017
Location: USA - UT - Saratoga Springs
Posts: 943
Images: 1
Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by superfrog View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flash_19 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by superfrog View Post
If Theracus uses Carry to place a hero you control onto a treasure glyph, can that figure pick up the glyph?

Or can a hero only pick up a t-glyph on its turn?
Only on its turn. The rule book says that to pick up a treasure glyph a unique hero must end its movement on the treasure glyph. That seems to indicate during the movement phase of its own turn since there are a number of ways figures could end up on a treasure glyph - like being carried (as you mentioned), summoned, knocked back, thrown, pushed, etc. IOW, the rules say "its movement" instead of "moved on to".
Yeah, but in context, I think "ends its movement" is there to establish a contrast with the surrounding context, which says that (unlike with a power glyph) figures don't have to stop their movement on a treasure glyph.

I don't see "movement" as specifically referring to a figure's turn.
I see what you’re saying. But I’d still say that the two words “its movement” refers to the movement of the individual taking the turn in contrast to a figure being “placed” on a space by another figure’s ability.
Also, when you read through some of the Q&A’s on the FAQ’s, they seem to support that a figure can only pick up a treasure glyph on their turn.
Quote:
... a figure can only attempt to pick up or activate a Treasure Glyph once during a turn.
Whereas responses to questions about figures and the Glyph of Kelda seem to use different language
Quote:
When one of your figures stops here, remove all wound markers...
So to me, it would make sense that Theracus can dump a wounded hero onto a glyph of Kelda and then that hero would be healed, but since picking up a Treasure Glyph is a once a turn ability, and it’s not that figure’s turn, that would not be possible for the hero being carried.

EDIT: Took too long doing my research and making my post.

My Map Thread
Maps for Online HS
My Customs
"Life before death, strength before weakness, journey before destination."

Reply With Quote
  #11021  
Old December 27th, 2018, 07:21 PM
superfrog's Avatar
superfrog superfrog is offline
This is merely a joke.
 
Join Date: March 12, 2012
Location: USA - CA - San Gabriel
Posts: 10,900
Images: 7
Blog Entries: 1
superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Okay, and another question (both this and the previous one came up in a game against Sir Heroscape earlier today).

When are you allowed to move from one space to another, specifically with overhangs involved? Here's the example in question: I have a figure that is Medium 5, single-spaced. It's currently on level 2. On an adjacent hex, there is a bridge that is on level 6, and a water space directly below the bridge on level 0. You can see a video of the map in question in this spoiler:
Spoiler Alert!
, although our game was online.

Can this medium 5 figure step onto the bridge space? The answer is definitely yes, as the rulebook instructs you to count "nearby support tiles". All you need is to be at least 4 levels tall (6-2=4), and have at least 5 movement points remaining.

Can this medium 5 figure step onto the water space? I think the answer should be yes, but I'm not sure the logic holds. Here's how I got to "yes": The figure can fit on both the first space (the level 2 space) and the second space (the level 0 space). Here's a quote from the FAQ (although it's answering a question about double spaced figures):
Quote:
Originally Posted by FAQ, emphasis mine
No. Sliding from one space to another never matters on any movement; it's actually fitting on each space as you go. As long as it can fit once you have flipped around, you can flip the figure.
Here's where this logic breaks down: Imagine instead that the first space is height 4. The overhanging bridge and the water are still there, as before, on levels 6 and 0. This seems absurd that any figure should be able to fit through this tiny gap (only a one hex-sized space between the top of 4 and the bottom of 6). Heck, you could extend this argument to a level 5 space. What's to stop you from going to level 0 from your level 5 spot, assuming you fit on both spaces?

Should the answer just be some quick math ("6-2=4, so you can't go down, you can only go up since your height is 5"?). That seems like a fair enough rule, although it would be disappointing that the crouching Airborne Elite couldn't move onto a space that he very comfortably fits on.

EDIT:

Here's a thread where somebody used my logic to claim that a dragon (or any big double-spaced figure) can fit through a one-hex hole between two levels, assuming it fits on both the top space and the bottom space.


Last edited by superfrog; December 27th, 2018 at 07:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11022  
Old December 27th, 2018, 08:22 PM
flameslayer93's Avatar
flameslayer93 flameslayer93 is offline
I could go
 
Join Date: December 31, 2009
Location: Playing with wedding bells (Cleveland, Ohio)
Posts: 7,472
Images: 93
Blog Entries: 40
flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

I believe the ruling is that if it fits legally, you can place it there. All other circumstances aside, including sliding into a dinky hole or being between 2 Stinger Rifles, Nilfy’s wings, smacked by Grimnak’s tail...

My customs.
NE Ohio Tourney - TBA
SW Ohio Tourney - NHSD 550 points
AotV - Colliding the minis of AotP with the world of HS.
Reply With Quote
  #11023  
Old December 28th, 2018, 03:10 PM
lefton4ya's Avatar
lefton4ya lefton4ya is offline
PDFin' sweet self spammer
 
Join Date: December 22, 2008
Location: USA - OH/KY - Cincinnati/Florence
Posts: 4,772
Images: 127
Blog Entries: 1
lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

@superfrog that Figures that can't go through the door - The Definitive list you linked to in your edit has a good summary:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hogg View Post
...
Summary: Figures have to fit onto each space along their path of movement, but don't have to slide between the spaces. Double spaced figures can flip mid-move and only have to fit onto a pair of hexes in one direction to move there.

These rules open a new possible way for figures to make it through the doorway. I call it the 'Flip Flop' move. If Sujoah, for example, wants to make it through the door using the flip flop move, he would use his head as his leading side and position it under the arch (doorway space 1 from the FoTA Rulebook.) His next space of movement will be to doorway space 2, but he will switch his leading side by flipping mid move so that his head is still under the arch and the part of his base with the taller section of sculpture is on door space 2. He is now inside the doorway and is in compliance with the rules.


There are three figures who can take advantage of the Flip Flop move:
Brunak
One of the Knights Templar squad figures with the lance held upright
Sujoah


There are also four figures who come close to the flip flop but do not center completly on their hexes. They might be allowed in casual play. They are:
Grimnak
Tor-Kul-Na
Charos
Othkuirk
Reply With Quote
  #11024  
Old December 28th, 2018, 03:11 PM
Flash_19's Avatar
Flash_19 Flash_19 is offline
Frank Lloyd Wright of Hexes
 
Join Date: June 29, 2017
Location: USA - UT - Saratoga Springs
Posts: 943
Images: 1
Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by superfrog View Post
Can this medium 5 figure step onto the water space? I think the answer should be yes, but I'm not sure the logic holds. Here's how I got to "yes": The figure can fit on both the first space (the level 2 space) and the second space (the level 0 space). Here's a quote from the FAQ (although it's answering a question about double spaced figures):
Quote:
Originally Posted by FAQ, emphasis mine
No. Sliding from one space to another never matters on any movement; it's actually fitting on each space as you go. As long as it can fit once you have flipped around, you can flip the figure.
Here's where this logic breaks down: Imagine instead that the first space is height 4. The overhanging bridge and the water are still there, as before, on levels 6 and 0. This seems absurd that any figure should be able to fit through this tiny gap (only a one hex-sized space between the top of 4 and the bottom of 6).
I agree with Flameslayer and your conclusion as well. While it seems weird, thatís how the rules are written. This interpretation also seems to be backed up by the FAQ for the Shaolin Monks - the question about the monk jumping through a window of terrain with a figure in that window. The answer states that
Quote:
when it comes to "space" there is a point where you just have to draw a line. Even if the figure was encased in the window, and it seems the leaping figure wouldn't be able to leap through/over it, he can.
so without a more definite formula as you suggested thatís the best way to do it - at least if youíre trying to be as official as possible (like playing your map pure gold in a tournament).

Quote:
Heck, you could extend this argument to a level 5 space. What's to stop you from going to level 0 from your level 5 spot, assuming you fit on both spaces?

Should the answer just be some quick math ("6-2=4, so you can't go down, you can only go up since your height is 5"?). That seems like a fair enough rule, although it would be disappointing that the crouching Airborne Elite couldn't move onto a space that he very comfortably fits on.

EDIT:

Here's a thread where somebody used my logic to claim that a dragon (or any big double-spaced figure) can fit through a one-hex hole between two levels, assuming it fits on both the top space and the bottom space.
I donít think you could extend the logic that far because the terrain is closed at that point. That would be the equivalent in my eyes of trying to pass through a ruin because there is a space where you can fit on the other side.

And you probably know this but your formula with height versus terrain would seem to be contradicted by the rules - in the SotM rule book, the one Marro Stinger canít fit under the overhang because of his gun, even though his height is just fine to fit under it. So unfortunately, doing it that way might be problematic too.

And yep - the example with the dragon is crazy, but it fits with the official rules.

So Iíd just say the responsibility is on map designers when designing tournament style maps to not abuse those rules and to minimize opportunities for these kinds of situations to arise. If itís a random map at your house - just house rule it.

thatís my anyway.

My Map Thread
Maps for Online HS
My Customs
"Life before death, strength before weakness, journey before destination."

Reply With Quote
  #11025  
Old December 28th, 2018, 03:15 PM
superfrog's Avatar
superfrog superfrog is offline
This is merely a joke.
 
Join Date: March 12, 2012
Location: USA - CA - San Gabriel
Posts: 10,900
Images: 7
Blog Entries: 1
superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Thanks to both of you. I feel more confident that I was right.

The hard thing is that MOST of the questions about fitting through some opening come about with double-spaced figures.

The monk FAQ is helpful in reinforcing the principle with single-spaced figures, even though it's not 100% the scenario I had in mind. Good find there.

Reply With Quote
  #11026  
Old December 28th, 2018, 05:42 PM
Sir Heroscape's Avatar
Sir Heroscape Sir Heroscape is offline
Sir Formerly Known As adoney
 
Join Date: September 14, 2015
Location: U.S - Idaho - Boise
Posts: 7,363
Images: 106
Sir Heroscape is hot lava death! Sir Heroscape is hot lava death! Sir Heroscape is hot lava death! Sir Heroscape is hot lava death! Sir Heroscape is hot lava death! Sir Heroscape is hot lava death! Sir Heroscape is hot lava death! Sir Heroscape is hot lava death! Sir Heroscape is hot lava death! Sir Heroscape is hot lava death! Sir Heroscape is hot lava death! Sir Heroscape is hot lava death! Sir Heroscape is hot lava death!
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Appreciate the diligence in researching this point. Definitely helps the judging of that particular map (and other future potential maps).
Reply With Quote
  #11027  
Old January 4th, 2019, 10:45 AM
toothpickman toothpickman is offline
 
Join Date: January 3, 2019
Location: Missouri
Posts: 15
toothpickman is surprisingly tart
Question Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Still figuring out the interface here, could only tell how to post as a reply, so help with that appreciated.

I wanted to know if there were any heroes or units based on the Stargate SG1 series, I'd love to incorporate something like that.

I'm new to the site and to Heroscape, I got lucky at a thrift store and am jumping into the game. Just a few plays but I've really enjoyed them. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #11028  
Old January 4th, 2019, 11:05 AM
NecroBlade's Avatar
NecroBlade NecroBlade is offline
"our design team knows what it's doing"
 
Join Date: November 22, 2006
Location: KY - Shepherdsville
Posts: 21,046
Images: 155
Blog Entries: 21
NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth NecroBlade is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Welcome to the site and the game! My your lucky finds continue.

I don't know that I've seen Stargate customs, but you could try the "Search This Forum" button in the Custom Units & Army Cards section. @MegaSilver is also a huge Stargate fan, so he may know something.

That reminds me, I have a custom Stargate terrain piece (with accompanying glyphs) and some other custom terrain made by other talented 'scapers that I need to get out and play with...


Arena of the Valkyire - Help create Heroscape's next Master Set!
317-149
C3V Brainstorm
Pepperony - 14/09/13
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HS Database dump? LMB Software 5 October 21st, 2009 10:48 AM
Pokemon question (new question, please look) mr_rex777 Other Games 14 September 14th, 2007 07:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:59 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.