Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 11th, 2010, 07:44 PM
Kaiser Cat's Avatar
Kaiser Cat Kaiser Cat is offline
 
Join Date: January 28, 2010
Location: If you are Megasilver then you just lost The Game!
Posts: 2,602
Kaiser Cat rolls all skulls baby! Kaiser Cat rolls all skulls baby! Kaiser Cat rolls all skulls baby! Kaiser Cat rolls all skulls baby! Kaiser Cat rolls all skulls baby!
Three "Gain High Ground" ?'s

I just got some Granite guardians 2 days ago, and have three questions.

1) I think the answer is yes, but just to be sure, can I move all of my Granite Guardians with GHG? It says to move each granite guardian you control.
2) When moving with GHG, do you take leaving engagement attacks?
3) The most burning question, what are the rules for using GHG to move up ladders?

Thanks in advance to whoever answers the questions.

Spoiler Alert!
...In the Dream Cave...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 12th, 2010, 01:17 AM
Xn F M's Avatar
Xn F M Xn F M is offline
Gets It!!!
 
Join Date: March 9, 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,145
Blog Entries: 7
Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Three "Gain High Ground" ?'s

1) yes
2) yes
3) Did you check the book?

I believe the consensus on 3 is that they can only move up or down one rung on a ladder, onto the landing space, or the space at the top of the ladder, no matter what the actual height difference is.

I don't need no instructions to know how to rock.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 15th, 2010, 06:04 PM
BurnyFlame BurnyFlame is offline
 
Join Date: August 7, 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,090
Images: 68
BurnyFlame has disabled reputation
Re: Three "Gain High Ground" ?'s

I think the general consensus to question "1)" may not be make sense with the ruling of Sgt. Drake, and should only apply to Guardians who can "move up." I brought this up in the Book of Sgt. Drake, but the wordings for Gain High Ground and Grapple Arm 25 are essentially the same. Sgt. Drake's FAQ section says he can only use it to "move up," not to level ground or downward. The Granite Guardians wording is the same, so, long story short:

Granite Guardians CAN NOT use Gain High Ground to move level or downward.

I hope they change the wording or FAQ to fix this.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 15th, 2010, 06:26 PM
Xn F M's Avatar
Xn F M Xn F M is offline
Gets It!!!
 
Join Date: March 9, 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,145
Blog Entries: 7
Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Three "Gain High Ground" ?'s

Quote:
Originally Posted by BurnyFlame View Post
I think the general consensus to question "1)" may not be make sense with the ruling of Sgt. Drake, and should only apply to Guardians who can "move up." I brought this up in the Book of Sgt. Drake, but the wordings for Gain High Ground and Grapple Arm 25 are essentially the same. Sgt. Drake's FAQ section says he can only use it to "move up," not to level ground or downward. The Granite Guardians wording is the same, so, long story short:

Granite Guardians CAN NOT use Gain High Ground to move level or downward.

I hope they change the wording or FAQ to fix this.
I don't I agree with that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Book of Drake
- GRAPPLE GUN 25 : Downward Movement
Can Sgt. Drake Alexander travel down up to 25 levels with his Grapple Gun without taking falling damage?
No, The wording for Grapple Gun states: “This space may be up to 25 levels HIGHER.” If Sgt. Drake Alexander travels down, he would take falling damage like any other figure. His Grapple Gun only helps him to travel up, not down. (Hasbro FAQ)
Emphasis added. Drake can move down with a grapple gun activation, he just risks falling because normal movement rules apply. It's the same with the Granite Gaurdians, when moving down normal movement rules aplly. If they're moving up, normal movement rules don't apply, they may ignore elevations up to four levels.

I don't need no instructions to know how to rock.

Last edited by Xn F M; April 15th, 2010 at 07:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 15th, 2010, 07:06 PM
Simpsons Scaper's Avatar
Simpsons Scaper Simpsons Scaper is offline
Super Bowel
 
Join Date: December 8, 2008
Location: State of Denial
Posts: 1,470
Simpsons Scaper knows what's in an order marker Simpsons Scaper knows what's in an order marker Simpsons Scaper knows what's in an order marker
Re: Three "Gain High Ground" ?'s

I disagree. I think it is just saying you can't use Grapple Gun to fall down levels.


Without dark, there is no light.
Without bad HScape figs, there are no good ones.
Dund is important, therefore
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 15th, 2010, 07:17 PM
Xn F M's Avatar
Xn F M Xn F M is offline
Gets It!!!
 
Join Date: March 9, 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,145
Blog Entries: 7
Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness Xn F M wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Three "Gain High Ground" ?'s

Then why wouldn't it use the much more simple, direct statement that "Drake cannot move down with Grapple Gun" instead of saying that if Drake moves down, normal movement rules apply?

I don't need no instructions to know how to rock.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 15th, 2010, 07:19 PM
Taeblewalker's Avatar
Taeblewalker Taeblewalker is offline
Will Ultimately Face the Evil Black Dragon
 
Join Date: May 9, 2006
Location: Monticello, NY
Posts: 10,719
Images: 215
Blog Entries: 2
Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death!
Re: Three "Gain High Ground" ?'s

I think that when moving down, RotV Drake is simply not using Grapple Gun.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 15th, 2010, 09:41 PM
BurnyFlame BurnyFlame is offline
 
Join Date: August 7, 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,090
Images: 68
BurnyFlame has disabled reputation
Re: Three "Gain High Ground" ?'s

The more confusing FAQ is this one:
Quote:
- GRAPPLE GUN 25 : Grappling Over A Ruin
Can Sgt. Drake Alexander Grapple over a ruin and onto the hex on the other side?
Yes he can, as long as the addition height of the ruin (6 levels) does not exceed his Grapple Gun’s total height limit of 25 levels, and the landing space is HIGHER than his starting space. Note, if he does Grapple over the ruin, he will take falling damage on the other side (fall of 6 levels). (Hasbro FAQ)
Which dictates the "landing space is higher" than the starting space. Gain High Ground is the exact same, so I think it can only be used to move up.

Questions: Can a Granite Guardian on a castle use Gain High Ground to skip over a battlement and fall down 10+ levels to a water space below? Can Sgt. Drake do so this using Grapple Gun? I think the FAQ says Sgt. Drake can't do so with Grapple Gun (of course he could walking, so pretend it is a ruin if you want), so why would a Granite Guardian be able to?

Honestly, I just want the old FAQ to be thrown out, but until it is I think the Granite Guardians are being played incorrectly.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 15th, 2010, 10:21 PM
KCU Master 2007's Avatar
KCU Master 2007 KCU Master 2007 is offline
Likes the Look of Grungebob
 
Join Date: June 7, 2008
Location: KY - Grayson
Posts: 2,204
Blog Entries: 3
KCU Master 2007 rolls all skulls baby! KCU Master 2007 rolls all skulls baby! KCU Master 2007 rolls all skulls baby! KCU Master 2007 rolls all skulls baby! KCU Master 2007 rolls all skulls baby! KCU Master 2007 rolls all skulls baby!
Re: Three "Gain High Ground" ?'s

Ok...lets screw the FAQ for a second. What does the Granite Guardians card say?

Quote:
Granite Guardians: Gain High Ground

After taking a turn with Granite Guardians, you may move each Granite Guardian you control up to 1 space. This space may be up to 4 level higher.
What does that card say? 1) You MAY move each Granite Guardian you control up to 1 space. So you can either move it one space or no spaces. Simple enough. 2) This space MAY be up to 4 level higher. So, you may ignore elevation movement rules and go from a level 1 space to, say, a level 3 space. No where in that power does it say you can't move down elevation or across level elevation.

Use common sense when reading the power of units and you'll be ok. You don't need to analyze every word and cross reference it with an old FAQ for another unit (with a different power to boot) to determine what can and can not be done. Stop the rules lawyering and do what it says.

PS: When a new edition of something, such as an FAQ, is released, it becomes the supreme ruling. So the old FAQ has no authority over the situation anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old April 15th, 2010, 11:56 PM
Taeblewalker's Avatar
Taeblewalker Taeblewalker is offline
Will Ultimately Face the Evil Black Dragon
 
Join Date: May 9, 2006
Location: Monticello, NY
Posts: 10,719
Images: 215
Blog Entries: 2
Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death!
Re: Three "Gain High Ground" ?'s

Good job, KCU! The GG would take falling damage if applicable, but that's the only restriction (besides Hot Lava Death!). Oh, and heavy snow/slippery ice would be impassable. All common sense.

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old April 17th, 2010, 11:30 PM
RobertDD RobertDD is offline
Seeker of the Last Word
 
Join Date: April 3, 2008
Location: NH - Lebanon
Posts: 1,861
Images: 11
RobertDD wears ripped pants of awesomeness RobertDD wears ripped pants of awesomeness RobertDD wears ripped pants of awesomeness RobertDD wears ripped pants of awesomeness RobertDD wears ripped pants of awesomeness RobertDD wears ripped pants of awesomeness RobertDD wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Three "Gain High Ground" ?'s

Something to consider: the power is called "gain HIGH ground" If you are not moving up, how are you gaining high ground?

They are done! Version 1.00 is out: Books of HeroScape in pdf format
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old April 18th, 2010, 02:20 AM
Yodaking's Avatar
Yodaking Yodaking is offline
C3G Landlord
 
Join Date: March 7, 2008
Posts: 31,493
Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth Yodaking is a man of the cloth
Re: Three "Gain High Ground" ?'s

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertDD View Post
Something to consider: the power is called "gain HIGH ground" If you are not moving up, how are you gaining high ground?
You are moving toward the high ground, which allows you to gain it quicker on a future move.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Friendly" or "You Control" -- The Defin Revdyer Official Rules & FAQ's 42 November 22nd, 2011 07:32 PM
Seeking ideas for "Chieftain" or "Medicine Man" Aquilla FB rouby44 Custom Units & Army Cards 8 September 2nd, 2010 08:30 AM
Throwing a figure as "high" as Jotun Obsidian Official Rules & FAQ's 4 May 5th, 2009 12:34 AM
"New" "Tolkien" Book to be Published ninthdoc Other Media 29 May 23rd, 2007 05:42 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:01 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.