Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Valhalla HeroScape > HeroScape General Discussion
HeroScape General Discussion General discussions of packaging, terrain, components, etc. If it doesn't fit in any other official category, put it here.

Notices

Old June 27th, 2007, 04:56 PM

rramstad has disabled reputation
Out of print?

I'm totally new to HeroScape (don't even own a copy yet, actually) and have been confused by what I've been reading online.

I've heard two completely different things.

First, I read some quotes from the game designers that the intention is that while there may be bits and pieces that go out of print temporarily, the intention is that things will be reprinted i.e. this is not a collectible game.

Second, I've read in a few places opinions that with the Master Set 2 (Swarm) coming out and some retailers dumping Master Set 1 (Valkyrie) that perhaps Hasbro intends to discontinue Master Set 1.

I've noticed that availability for Master Set 1 at online stores is hit or miss, many of the bigger retailers have stock, many smaller ones don't.

So, is Master Set 1 out of print? Is Master Set 1 likely to be discontinued when Master Set 2 comes out? If so, given what is known about Master Set 2, would it be wise to purchase Master Set 1 immediately, or is Master Set 2 likely to be more generally played than Master Set 1?

Thanks in advance from a confused newbie... I'm having trouble getting motivated to shell out $40 for Master Set 1 when I hear of various retailers dumping them, but conversely, I'll really kick myself if they all disappear, Master Set 2 sucks, and folks on eBay want $200 for a Master Set 1 in three months...
Old June 27th, 2007, 05:02 PM

DingoDarkly is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa DingoDarkly is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa DingoDarkly is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa DingoDarkly is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa DingoDarkly is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa DingoDarkly is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa