Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #13  
Old July 26th, 2019, 05:41 AM
The Long eared bat's Avatar
The Long eared bat The Long eared bat is offline
 
Join Date: June 5, 2019
Location: UK - Hertfordshire
Posts: 198
The Long eared bat knows what's in an order marker The Long eared bat knows what's in an order marker
Re: Settling Line of Sight Rules for Double Spaced Figures

Quote:
This means that figures with a head in front, like many soulborgs, cannot see behind themselves. Shurrak would be another example. Figures like Jotun don't have this problem since their head is on top of their body.
I didn't think you used line of sight when attacking adjacent figures.

Last edited by The Long eared bat; July 26th, 2019 at 11:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old July 26th, 2019, 11:00 AM
superfrog's Avatar
superfrog superfrog is online now
This is merely a joke.
 
Join Date: March 12, 2012
Location: USA - CA - San Gabriel
Posts: 10,760
Images: 7
Blog Entries: 1
superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth
Re: Settling Line of Sight Rules for Double Spaced Figures

You're right, but Jotun does need clear sight when placing figures with Throw.

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old July 26th, 2019, 11:16 AM
The Long eared bat's Avatar
The Long eared bat The Long eared bat is offline
 
Join Date: June 5, 2019
Location: UK - Hertfordshire
Posts: 198
The Long eared bat knows what's in an order marker The Long eared bat knows what's in an order marker
Re: Settling Line of Sight Rules for Double Spaced Figures

Oh yes of course and Shurrak needs clear sight when knocking a figure. It is weird because on Shurrak's card the green dot appears to be on his hands.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old July 26th, 2019, 11:24 AM
superfrog's Avatar
superfrog superfrog is online now
This is merely a joke.
 
Join Date: March 12, 2012
Location: USA - CA - San Gabriel
Posts: 10,760
Images: 7
Blog Entries: 1
superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth
Re: Settling Line of Sight Rules for Double Spaced Figures

That is weird. I'd probably say that the dot's actually right on top of his head under his hands, but it's definitely not on his eyes. I do think it's an error that should have been errata-ed.

Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old July 26th, 2019, 04:23 PM
Flash_19's Avatar
Flash_19 Flash_19 is offline
Frank Lloyd Wright of Hexes
 
Join Date: June 29, 2017
Location: USA - UT - Saratoga Springs
Posts: 919
Images: 1
Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness Flash_19 wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Settling Line of Sight Rules for Double Spaced Figures

Quote:
Originally Posted by superfrog View Post
In my mind, there's only one ruling that is consistent with established rules:

There must be a clear line of sight from a "seeing" figure's Target Point to the other figure's Hit Zone. This line must not pass through any part of the "seeing" figure's body other than its head.

This means that figures with a head in front, like many soulborgs, cannot see behind themselves. Shurrak would be another example. Figures like Jotun don't have this problem since their head is on top of their body.
That's the simplest and best explanation I have heard. Thanks Superfrog!

My Map Thread
Maps for Online HS
My Customs
"Life before death, strength before weakness, journey before destination."

Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old July 26th, 2019, 05:01 PM
Dr.Goomonkey's Avatar
Dr.Goomonkey Dr.Goomonkey is offline
On vacation...
 
Join Date: February 20, 2012
Location: USA - WA - Seattle(Marysville)
Posts: 1,666
Images: 270
Dr.Goomonkey is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Dr.Goomonkey is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Dr.Goomonkey is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Dr.Goomonkey is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Dr.Goomonkey is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Dr.Goomonkey is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Dr.Goomonkey is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Dr.Goomonkey is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Settling Line of Sight Rules for Double Spaced Figures

Wait, so what is this conclusion actually saying? Are you trying to tell me that Q10 cannot shoot that Nagrub?

Spoiler Alert!


Quote:
When checking to see if you have a clear line of sight with Q9, you may want to look behind the targeted figure’s Hit Zone to see if you can see Q9’s head, or the side of his face. He cannot fire directly behind himself.
I interpret that differently than @SuperSamyon 's, "Q9 cannot fire behind himself. With that in mind, use your opponents figure and see if you can see any of the facing Q9s head. If you can, he can hit you."

I would read it more as, "Q9, like all figures, must be able to see figures to shoot them. Because his sculpt is funky, you might want to look from the other side to make sure he can see properly. Because of his sculpt, he can't see people directly behind him." It seems to me like they just didn't think of a situation where a figure was behind him and could be seen from his head when they answered that question. Having two characters singled out as being unable to shoot anybody they can see seems really ridiculous.

Repaints My Maps Online Maps Customs
QC3 CHOPS Grand Chamion Announced
mac122 is the Best HeroScape Chef

What is The MollusClash's biggest radio hit?
Spoiler Alert!
Dr.Goomonkey is Toril Elemental...
in BLUE CAVE
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old July 26th, 2019, 05:04 PM
superfrog's Avatar
superfrog superfrog is online now
This is merely a joke.
 
Join Date: March 12, 2012
Location: USA - CA - San Gabriel
Posts: 10,760
Images: 7
Blog Entries: 1
superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth
Re: Settling Line of Sight Rules for Double Spaced Figures

Q10 can totally see that Rat. He's got a clear line from his head to the Rat that doesn't pass through his back or any part of his body other than his head.

Most of the time they can't shoot behind themselves, but a different angle like you've got changes that. The note about seeing the side of Q9's head suggests that "Q9 and Q10 can't shoot behind themselves" is not an absolute rule, but a rule of thumb.

Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old July 26th, 2019, 05:09 PM
lefton4ya's Avatar
lefton4ya lefton4ya is offline
PDFin' sweet self spammer
 
Join Date: December 22, 2008
Location: USA - OH/KY - Cincinnati/Florence
Posts: 4,704
Images: 127
Blog Entries: 1
lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death! lefton4ya is hot lava death!
Re: Settling Line of Sight Rules for Double Spaced Figures

Quote:
Originally Posted by superfrog View Post
...
There must be a clear line of sight from a "seeing" figure's Target Point to the other figure's Hit Zone. This line must not pass through any part of the "seeing" figure's body other than its head....
I am not sure about the bolded part - can figures see through their own head? Even if so are you drawing from the eyes (green dot on card) or ANY part of the head? The only way the Rat in the top of the pic below can be shot is if you can use any part of own head as a target point which is totally against the letter and spirit of the rules, IMHO.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old July 26th, 2019, 05:13 PM
superfrog's Avatar
superfrog superfrog is online now
This is merely a joke.
 
Join Date: March 12, 2012
Location: USA - CA - San Gabriel
Posts: 10,760
Images: 7
Blog Entries: 1
superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth
Re: Settling Line of Sight Rules for Double Spaced Figures

I did mention that the line has to go through the target point, not just any part of the head.

The rule where it says that the side of Q9's face counts for drawing line of sight (from a figure mostly behind him, no less) suggests that double-spaced figures can see directions other than forwards out of their head.

Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old July 26th, 2019, 06:08 PM
SuperSamyon's Avatar
SuperSamyon SuperSamyon is offline
 
Join Date: January 5, 2012
Location: USA - TX - Houston
Posts: 349
Images: 17
SuperSamyon rolls all skulls baby! SuperSamyon rolls all skulls baby! SuperSamyon rolls all skulls baby! SuperSamyon rolls all skulls baby! SuperSamyon rolls all skulls baby!
Re: Settling Line of Sight Rules for Double Spaced Figures

@Dr.Goomonkey I agree with your logic in the example you pointed out if we are ruling that the one exception to the green dot not being able to see through your own body is being able to see through your own head.

From a thematic standpoint, however, it's still somewhat hard to accept. I would think that the spirit of the rule is that in order for a figure to see behind himself he would need to flip his base since one typically cannot turn his head all the way around.

It's why I like my 180 degree facing interpretation since you can typically turn your head side to side but to see behind yourself you would need to turn around or flip. It's also why I thought hasbro specifically pointed out that Q9 cant see behind himself but could see to the side if the shoulder pads arent blocking. Also in the instruction booklet via pictures, they frequently demonstrate line of sight as requiring you to get behind a figure you are aiming with to determine if the attack is possible.

One other thing to consider is the placement of the green dot on the card. If you could see anywhere from the head, I think they would have placed the dot in the center of the head instead of towards the front.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old July 29th, 2019, 06:19 PM
Vrin Vrin is offline
 
Join Date: July 12, 2019
Location: USA-2-2
Posts: 14
Vrin is surprisingly tart
Disease?

Is there a figure in heroscape that has a disease special attack?

Last edited by Vrin; July 30th, 2019 at 05:57 PM. Reason: Sorry just wanted to start new post. Not reply to prev.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do figures have line of sight on themselves? Markb97402 Comic Hero Custom Creations 2 March 8th, 2018 10:08 AM
The final word in settling line of site Purplebeard HeroScape General Discussion 7 January 12th, 2008 03:22 PM
Who uses the line of sight? Hsfan123 General 11 August 16th, 2006 09:36 AM
Line of Sight Thingemon Official Rules & FAQ's 6 August 11th, 2006 11:19 AM
Double-spaced figures and Fire Line DrFeelgood Official Rules & FAQ's 10 June 28th, 2006 02:31 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:20 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.