Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11077  
Old February 8th, 2019, 07:41 PM
Dad_Scaper's Avatar
Dad_Scaper Dad_Scaper is offline. Isn't that smurfy?
Counting gray cells and coming up short... Also, I confess to being a fanboy.
 
Join Date: January 3, 2007
Location: MD - Baltimore
Posts: 23,278
Images: 4
Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

You are fascinating.

C3V "Easily the best quality classic customs I have ever seen."
Designing Customs? Help With Wurdz
= =
Reply With Quote
  #11078  
Old February 8th, 2019, 07:46 PM
superfrog's Avatar
superfrog superfrog is offline
This is merely a joke.
 
Join Date: March 12, 2012
Location: USA - CA - South Pasadena
Posts: 7,186
superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heroscaper 101 View Post
I do expect Valkrill a squads with a disciplined or valiant personality. This is what you might think Valkrill might have in human squads?


P.S. They might have a band of outlaws with devious, vicious, ruthless personalities or something.
I'm confused as to why you're putting these "questions" (that are really just speculations or observations or personal theories) here.

If you have ideas for customs, you have a thread dedicated to your customs. I'd post there, if I were you.

I think a valiant Valkrill human sounds implausible. But maybe you have a fantastic idea. Post it somewhere other than a Question Dump.

customs/maps/c3v/sov

how to:
make a card/post your maps

CVN~ "I highly recommend C3V customs!"
Reply With Quote
  #11079  
Old February 8th, 2019, 07:55 PM
Heroscaper 101 Heroscaper 101 is offline
 
Join Date: January 24, 2018
Location: USA - CA - Clovis (Town)
Posts: 1,132
Heroscaper 101 rolls all skulls baby! Heroscaper 101 rolls all skulls baby! Heroscaper 101 rolls all skulls baby! Heroscaper 101 rolls all skulls baby!
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

I do not have any new questions, but is there a book or something that can shed some light on heroscape?

P.S. It is a mystery that is unsolved, but there are somethings we do know about, starting with the many different planets.
Reply With Quote
  #11080  
Old February 8th, 2019, 08:00 PM
superfrog's Avatar
superfrog superfrog is offline
This is merely a joke.
 
Join Date: March 12, 2012
Location: USA - CA - South Pasadena
Posts: 7,186
superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Thormun's Journal is a collection of official Heroscape lore.

customs/maps/c3v/sov

how to:
make a card/post your maps

CVN~ "I highly recommend C3V customs!"
Reply With Quote
  #11081  
Old February 9th, 2019, 09:05 PM
Astroking112's Avatar
Astroking112 Astroking112 is online now
 
Join Date: March 15, 2011
Location: USA - TX - Dallas
Posts: 1,267
Images: 17
Blog Entries: 27
Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Hypothetical question here, but I believe that I saw it mentioned somewhere before that since a figure is not adjacent to themselves, a figure with just Ghost Walk and not Disengage could never really work, because they would take a leaving engagement strike whenever they stepped onto the opposing figure's space. Would this still apply if the figure was double-spaced, since at least one space would be adjacent at all times during the movement?
Reply With Quote
  #11082  
Old February 9th, 2019, 09:23 PM
superfrog's Avatar
superfrog superfrog is offline
This is merely a joke.
 
Join Date: March 12, 2012
Location: USA - CA - South Pasadena
Posts: 7,186
superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Astroking112 View Post
Hypothetical question here, but I believe that I saw it mentioned somewhere before that since a figure is not adjacent to themselves, a figure with just Ghost Walk and not Disengage could never really work, because they would take a leaving engagement strike whenever they stepped onto the opposing figure's space. Would this still apply if the figure was double-spaced, since at least one space would be adjacent at all times during the movement?
It works decently well on a double-spaced figure, although there are some corner cases involving smaller figures and elevation changes.

customs/maps/c3v/sov

how to:
make a card/post your maps

CVN~ "I highly recommend C3V customs!"

Last edited by superfrog; February 9th, 2019 at 09:24 PM. Reason: Had to check an upcoming C3V design first...
Reply With Quote
  #11083  
Old February 9th, 2019, 09:29 PM
Scytale's Avatar
Scytale Scytale is offline
Thanksgiving Custom Contest Champion
 
Join Date: August 25, 2006
Location: MN - Rochester
Posts: 7,553
Images: 452
Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by superfrog View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astroking112 View Post
Hypothetical question here, but I believe that I saw it mentioned somewhere before that since a figure is not adjacent to themselves, a figure with just Ghost Walk and not Disengage could never really work, because they would take a leaving engagement strike whenever they stepped onto the opposing figure's space. Would this still apply if the figure was double-spaced, since at least one space would be adjacent at all times during the movement?
It works decently well on a double-spaced figure, although there are some corner cases involving smaller figures and elevation changes.
Yeah, that, and climbing up, and entering another double-spacer's spaces.
Reply With Quote
  #11084  
Old February 9th, 2019, 09:31 PM
superfrog's Avatar
superfrog superfrog is offline
This is merely a joke.
 
Join Date: March 12, 2012
Location: USA - CA - South Pasadena
Posts: 7,186
superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

All of which can be handled by the rules, but several of which are counterintuitive or take some figuring.

I think. I'm not the best rules lawyer around.

customs/maps/c3v/sov

how to:
make a card/post your maps

CVN~ "I highly recommend C3V customs!"
Reply With Quote
  #11085  
Old February 9th, 2019, 09:50 PM
Astroking112's Avatar
Astroking112 Astroking112 is online now
 
Join Date: March 15, 2011
Location: USA - TX - Dallas
Posts: 1,267
Images: 17
Blog Entries: 27
Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Astroking112 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Thanks for the answers. I thought that would be the case, but honestly I think that it's silly that Ghost Walk would let you take a leaving engagement attack in the first place.
Reply With Quote
  #11086  
Old February 10th, 2019, 08:11 PM
cmgames's Avatar
cmgames cmgames is offline
 
Join Date: November 26, 2008
Location: USA - CA - San Francisco (Pacifica)
Posts: 1,967
Images: 63
Blog Entries: 1
cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Never thought about it before, but Carr, etc. are vulnerable to Engagement Strike, even though they are invulnerable to disengagement strikes. I would think that Ghosting through would be "invisible" to both, but apparently not.

~Z

A squid eating dough in a polyethylene bag is fast and bulbous. Got me?
My map thread
Reply With Quote
  #11087  
Old February 25th, 2019, 09:07 PM
Karat's Avatar
Karat Karat is offline
His sweat is highly explosive
 
Join Date: September 14, 2010
Location: USA-Washington-Olympia
Posts: 11,735
Karat is a penguin with a machine gun Karat is a penguin with a machine gun Karat is a penguin with a machine gun Karat is a penguin with a machine gun Karat is a penguin with a machine gun Karat is a penguin with a machine gun Karat is a penguin with a machine gun Karat is a penguin with a machine gun Karat is a penguin with a machine gun Karat is a penguin with a machine gun Karat is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

So this just came up today and my review of the rulebooks and FAQs and came up with no definitive answer. I lean towards no from a strict interpretation of engagement but discussion with another long time player made me question my stance so I figured I'd get more opinions.

Can a unit use a special power on a non-adjacent figure if it is engaged?
Reply With Quote
  #11088  
Old February 25th, 2019, 09:38 PM
Flash_19's Avatar
Flash_19 Flash_19 is offline
 
Join Date: June 29, 2017
Location: USA - UT - American Fork
Posts: 378
Images: 1
Flash_19 rolls all skulls baby! Flash_19 rolls all skulls baby! Flash_19 rolls all skulls baby! Flash_19 rolls all skulls baby! Flash_19 rolls all skulls baby!
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karat View Post
So this just came up today and my review of the rulebooks and FAQs and came up with no definitive answer. I lean towards no from a strict interpretation of engagement but discussion with another long time player made me question my stance so I figured I'd get more opinions.

Can a unit use a special power on a non-adjacent figure if it is engaged?
Yes it can. Braxas is a great example. See the section on Rulings and Clarifications in The Book of Braxas.

I've copied it here for easiness sake:
Quote:
-Rulings and Clarifications-
- POISONOUS ACID BREATH : Engagement Requirements
Do engagement rules apply to Poisonous Acid Breath?
No because Poisonous Acid Breath is not a Special Attack. (Hasbro FAQ)

- POISONOUS ACID BREATH : Engagement Requirement Clarification
Remember, you can use special powers and abilities that affect ranged opponents while still engaged to other opponents. (Hasbro FAQ)
There is a difference between Special Powers/Abilities and Special Attacks.

Check out my maps here and my customs here
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HS Database dump? LMB Software 5 October 21st, 2009 10:48 AM
Pokemon question (new question, please look) mr_rex777 Other Games 14 September 14th, 2007 07:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:40 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.