Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 13th, 2009, 10:27 PM
GromBloodboy's Avatar
GromBloodboy GromBloodboy is offline
Creamed by Corn
 
Join Date: May 14, 2006
Location: USA - MI - Metro Detroit
Posts: 2,670
Images: 14
GromBloodboy wears ripped pants of awesomeness GromBloodboy wears ripped pants of awesomeness GromBloodboy wears ripped pants of awesomeness GromBloodboy wears ripped pants of awesomeness GromBloodboy wears ripped pants of awesomeness GromBloodboy wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Tul-Bak-Ra in a Hole.

Okay, don't know if this has been thought of yet. And yes, I went and read the card, so don't tell me to read it.

Okay, say there is a castle that surrounds a 7-hex piece, leaving only one thing in the middle. Now if you put a 4/3 castle piece on it, it covers the top. So if Tul-Bak-Ra teleports into that open hole that is covered on the top, since he doesn't need LOS, can he just sit there and mindblast the crud out of anything that comes near, and be permanetly invunerable?

"I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones." ~Albert Einstein

Tourney Record:17-10 (08/02/11)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 13th, 2009, 10:30 PM
Mooseman's Avatar
Mooseman Mooseman is offline
 
Join Date: December 26, 2006
Location: FL - Tampa
Posts: 1,668
Images: 28
Mooseman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Mooseman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Mooseman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Mooseman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Mooseman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Mooseman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Mooseman wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Tul-Bak-Ra in a Hole.

No, because you go over to whoever is doing that and kick them in the junk.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 13th, 2009, 10:32 PM
GromBloodboy's Avatar
GromBloodboy GromBloodboy is offline
Creamed by Corn
 
Join Date: May 14, 2006
Location: USA - MI - Metro Detroit
Posts: 2,670
Images: 14
GromBloodboy wears ripped pants of awesomeness GromBloodboy wears ripped pants of awesomeness GromBloodboy wears ripped pants of awesomeness GromBloodboy wears ripped pants of awesomeness GromBloodboy wears ripped pants of awesomeness GromBloodboy wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Tul-Bak-Ra in a Hole.

Its legit, but cheesy as heck.

"I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones." ~Albert Einstein

Tourney Record:17-10 (08/02/11)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 13th, 2009, 10:38 PM
oracle92's Avatar
oracle92 oracle92 is offline
 
Join Date: July 20, 2007
Location: IL Hoffman Estates
Posts: 266
oracle92 knows what's in an order marker oracle92 knows what's in an order marker
Re: Tul-Bak-Ra in a Hole.

^Indeed...though maps will just have to be designed keeping TBR in mind I guess.

The dice help those who help themselves.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 13th, 2009, 10:41 PM
guido's Avatar
guido guido is offline
 
Join Date: November 3, 2007
Location: CT - East Killingly
Posts: 2,561
Images: 8
guido knows what's in an order marker guido knows what's in an order marker guido knows what's in an order marker
Re: Tul-Bak-Ra in a Hole.

Quote:
Originally Posted by oracle92 View Post
^Indeed...though maps will just have to be designed keeping TBR in mind I guess.
That's a very clever pun... +rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by ej
Did you lose your saving throw vs. Fabulous?
B.U.D.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 13th, 2009, 11:32 PM
kpotassiumk19's Avatar
kpotassiumk19 kpotassiumk19 is offline
 
Join Date: January 11, 2009
Location: USA - NJ - Somerset
Posts: 278
kpotassiumk19 is surprisingly tart
Re: Tul-Bak-Ra in a Hole.

The AE can probably be dropped in there to. But then they can't attack so it is pointless.

"The greatest advice ever given to me was don't be an idiot. Before I do anything, I always think, would an idiot do this? If they would, I don't do it."

~Dwight, The Office
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 13th, 2009, 11:35 PM
CheddarLimbo's Avatar
CheddarLimbo CheddarLimbo is offline
No Soup or Happy Endings For You!
 
Join Date: July 22, 2007
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 3,119
Blog Entries: 6
CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Tul-Bak-Ra in a Hole.

Seems pretty cheesy, but legit.

I guess you just have to hope you've got more than 130 points of guys that can get more than three spaces away from the middle of the tower.

Or just don't make buildings like that. I usually put a column in the middle anyway.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpotassiumk19 View Post
The AE can probably be dropped in there to. But then they can't attack so it is pointless.
Nope.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Book of Airborne Elite
-Rulings and Clarifications-

- THE DROP : Landing Under Overhangs
Can you use The Drop to drop the Airborne Elite into an area below an overhang?
No. (Hasbro FAQ)


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 14th, 2009, 02:08 AM
Elf_Archer's Avatar
Elf_Archer Elf_Archer is offline
 
Join Date: August 23, 2007
Posts: 1,661
Elf_Archer rolls all skulls baby! Elf_Archer rolls all skulls baby! Elf_Archer rolls all skulls baby! Elf_Archer rolls all skulls baby!
Re: Tul-Bak-Ra in a Hole.

How many BoV maps have hollow hills to preserve hexes? A lot...

This will be major imbalance...

Elf_Archer is the Sacred Band...
in the GARNET CAVE...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 14th, 2009, 02:18 AM
kafkaesque kafkaesque is offline
 
Join Date: March 12, 2009
Location: USA - PA - Pittsburgh
Posts: 65
kafkaesque is surprisingly tart
Re: Tul-Bak-Ra in a Hole.

But then you'd have to take the map apart to see if he can fit.

I think most people will not be jerks like that, but we may have to contact WotC about whether or not all open hexes are legal places to stand.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 14th, 2009, 02:33 AM
Bahde Bahde is offline
 
Join Date: August 25, 2006
Location: WA - Vancouver
Posts: 711
Bahde knows what's in an order marker Bahde knows what's in an order marker
Re: Tul-Bak-Ra in a Hole.

Am I missing something here? Do you mean to remove the tiles to put him there? I would assume that nobody allows you to move tiles on the board to fit figures anywhere.....so if its open access to place the figure he is not invulnerable to attack.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old June 14th, 2009, 04:43 AM
rdhight's Avatar
rdhight rdhight is offline
Embraces the Suck
 
Join Date: June 1, 2007
Location: crawling through holes.
Posts: 2,678
Images: 7
Blog Entries: 4
rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Tul-Bak-Ra in a Hole.

1. I'm not sure if you're technically allowed to move terrain to place a figure. Personally, I've been letting it happen in my house games. Sometimes, a figure can fit neatly under a bridge if you pull up the bridge tiles themselves, slide him under to fit in the concavity, and replace them. I allow that.

2. Pulling up tiles in a BOV map and finding a sealed TBR hidey-hole underneath would be awesome. I'm not sure that any of the hollows are really big enough to fit those blades on his back, but I hope such a thing is found to exist.

3. You can't move your opponent's figures to place your own, so if there's one standing on a tile you need to tear up and replace, I don't think it would work.

4. Any minute now, someone is probably going to get offended and reprimand us that we even thought of such a thing. Map designers never intended such spaces to enter into play, it's rules lawyering, it's an exploit, and wah, wah, wah, boo hoo hoo.

5. Even if TBN can't get into sealed spaces, he's still going to be able to evade forever against some melee figures on some maps. I'm sure tournament directors will never allow hiding your TBR in a cave. He's still going to be a great staller any way you slice it. Bring range!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old June 14th, 2009, 08:26 AM
Kobu's Avatar
Kobu Kobu is offline
 
Join Date: July 11, 2006
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 716
Kobu knows what's in an order marker Kobu knows what's in an order marker
Re: Tul-Bak-Ra in a Hole.

No, it's not legit. The space you describe is not part of the map. Overhangs are allowed, but nothing completely inaccessible by regular movement.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Jotun has a big square-butt hole. Waaaaah!!! ishbul HeroScape General Discussion 48 February 28th, 2009 12:36 AM
Hole in the Wall nyys TV 25 September 13th, 2008 11:28 AM
Battlefields by 1111. *UPDATE 07/03/08* Hell Hole 1111 Maps & Scenarios 23 September 1st, 2008 11:35 AM
Marro Hive Hole? Niner Official Rules & FAQ's 40 July 9th, 2008 04:58 AM
Joah's Cubby-Hole Map. Joah Maps & Scenarios 12 June 12th, 2006 08:32 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:53 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.