Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #10741  
Old February 28th, 2018, 09:05 AM
superfrog's Avatar
superfrog superfrog is offline
This is merely a joke.
 
Join Date: March 12, 2012
Location: USA - CA - South Pasadena
Posts: 9,067
Images: 4
Blog Entries: 1
superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth superfrog is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

The questions before and after that one do a pretty good job of mentioning checking engagement after each space moved in the context of leaving engagement.

customs/maps/c3v/sov

how to:
make a card/post your maps

google sheets:
ohs link generator/attack outcomes

CVN~ "I highly recommend C3V customs!"
Reply With Quote
  #10742  
Old March 1st, 2018, 12:25 AM
flameslayer93's Avatar
flameslayer93 flameslayer93 is offline
I could go
 
Join Date: December 31, 2009
Location: Akina Pass (Cleveland, Ohio)
Posts: 7,139
Images: 93
Blog Entries: 37
flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun flameslayer93 is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Can’t link anything directly, but this is how it works in picto-word form:

(1)(u)(_)(2)

Here, we are going to assume the numbers are enemy figures and the ‘u’ is your figure who is moving. If the ‘u’ moves to the blank space adjacent to the ‘2’, then he would take an immediate leaving engagement attack from ‘1’.

Continuing...
..(_)(_)
(_)(1)(_)
..(_)(_)
(u)

Now if your unit moves adjacent to the enemy 1, it can still move to any of the six space surrounding it and remain engaged with the 1. For this type of movemement, the 1 doesn’t get to give leaving engagement attacks.

Hopefully this helps!

My customs.
NE Ohio Tourney - TBA
SW Ohio Tourney - NHSD 550 points
AotV - Colliding the minis of AotP with the world of HS.
Reply With Quote
  #10743  
Old March 1st, 2018, 07:17 AM
pnkfelix pnkfelix is offline
 
Join Date: January 17, 2018
Location: FRANCE - Ile-de-France - Paris
Posts: 13
pnkfelix Woo who?
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by superfrog View Post
The questions before and after that one do a pretty good job of mentioning checking engagement after each space moved in the context of leaving engagement.
I don’t know, I found text like this only made me wonder further about the other interpretation of the rules: “Remember, adjacency is checked only on spaces, not the area in between spaces.“

(Where the erroneous reasoner here is thinking “yes! The area in between my starting and ending spaces, which is what I’ve been calling ‘intermediate spaces’)
Reply With Quote
  #10744  
Old March 1st, 2018, 09:13 AM
itsbuzzi's Avatar
itsbuzzi itsbuzzi is offline
 
Join Date: November 27, 2012
Location: USA - RI - Providence
Posts: 360
itsbuzzi knows what's in an order marker itsbuzzi knows what's in an order marker itsbuzzi knows what's in an order marker
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pnkfelix View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by superfrog View Post
The questions before and after that one do a pretty good job of mentioning checking engagement after each space moved in the context of leaving engagement.
I don’t know, I found text like this only made me wonder further about the other interpretation of the rules: “Remember, adjacency is checked only on spaces, not the area in between spaces.“

(Where the erroneous reasoner here is thinking “yes! The area in between my starting and ending spaces, which is what I’ve been calling ‘intermediate spaces’)
This type of speaking reminds me of something I recall some members talking about adjacent and engagement strikes. There were a few talking about it. Let me find it.

EDIT: @Mr Migraine I guess you guys talk about this topic a lot. I was referring to the discussion in The Books of the Nakita Agents when talking about when engagement Strike triggers. Here is the quote i was thinking of.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyrgard View Post
We had a similar discussion on the french forum, and I changed my point of view. Let me tell you what I believe now, and what I think is supported by official sources.

There are two types of movements :
  1. Movements where the figure full movement can be divided in a succession of 1 hex movement. It is normal moves, and moves with powers with the flying/Grapple Arm wording
  2. Movements where the figure is "teleported" from one hex to another, without being able to divide this move.
The moves in the first list consists in a succession of atomic moves, moves in the seconde list consist of a unique atomic move. (atomic meaning here that this move cannot be divided further in smaller moves)

Each atomic move triggers a "left engagement" check

The official FAQ tells how to do this check :

Quote:
When does a figure actually receive a leaving engagement attack?
The leaving engagement attack occurs as soon as you declare that the figure is moving onto a space that is no longer adjacent. Remember, adjacency is checked only on spaces, not the area in between spaces. Once you do that, your opponent can take a leaving engagement attack. The figure is considered to be still on the adjacent space when it receives or doesn't receive the leaving engagement attack.
This FAQ clearly states that to check if a figure left engagement, for each atomic move, one doesn't look at how it moved or how many hex it moved with this atomic move, one just checks if the ending hex is still adjacent to the opponent figure.

So clearly, for normal 1hex moves and every powers in the second list, if the starting hex and the ending hex are both adjacent to the opponent figure, you didn't left engagement, and then don't triggers opportunity strike.
For powers with Flying/Grapple Arm wording, it is different because the power itself states that it behave differently, and the text of a power overule the standard rules (it is the goal of powers, of course).

So every atomic move that keeps a figure adjacent to an opponent figure doesn't break engagement UNLESS the power explicitly say so, as it does in powers with the Flying/Grapple Arm wording.

Finally, the list of power that triggers Nakita's opportunity strike when used to move from an hex adjacent to the nakita to another hex also adjacent to this nakita is :
Flying/Stealth Flying/Stealth Leap/Grapple Arm/Swing Line/Super Leap

any other power follows the rule stated in this FAQ and does not triggers opportunity strike if it keeps the figure at each atomic move adjacent to the nakita.

Can you see a flaw in my reasoning ? It has the advantage to be (I think) entirely based on official statements.

Keep doing what you're doing, but do it better. ~Self

Classic Card Scans & Tourney Map Building Requirements Excel Sheet

Last edited by itsbuzzi; March 1st, 2018 at 09:26 AM. Reason: Found It
Reply With Quote
  #10745  
Old March 1st, 2018, 09:20 AM
Mr Migraine's Avatar
Mr Migraine Mr Migraine is offline
Watch out - he's a meme drunk!
 
Join Date: March 11, 2008
Location: GA - Atlanta
Posts: 2,888
Images: 7
Blog Entries: 13
Mr Migraine is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Mr Migraine is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Mr Migraine is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Mr Migraine is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Mr Migraine is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Mr Migraine is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Mr Migraine is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Mr Migraine is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by itsbuzzi View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by pnkfelix View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by superfrog View Post
The questions before and after that one do a pretty good job of mentioning checking engagement after each space moved in the context of leaving engagement.
I don’t know, I found text like this only made me wonder further about the other interpretation of the rules: “Remember, adjacency is checked only on spaces, not the area in between spaces.“

(Where the erroneous reasoner here is thinking “yes! The area in between my starting and ending spaces, which is what I’ve been calling ‘intermediate spaces’)
This type of speaking reminds me of something I recall some members talking about adjacent and engagement strikes. There were a few talking about it. Let me find it.
That discussion starts on page 880 of this thread.

Edit: if I'm looking at the same one you thought of
Reply With Quote
  #10746  
Old March 1st, 2018, 10:37 AM
pnkfelix pnkfelix is offline
 
Join Date: January 17, 2018
Location: FRANCE - Ile-de-France - Paris
Posts: 13
pnkfelix Woo who?
Re: Law of Averages

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dysole View Post
5.35

I have a spreadsheet.

~Dysole, who if you're curious, the average Heroscape figure has

MOVE: 5.44
RANGE: 2.28 (6.24 for figures with a range not including specials)
ATTACK: 3.22
DEFENSE: 3.31
LIFE: 4.37
SQUAD FIGURES: 3.24

Would you be willing to share this spreadsheet?


(I am assuming it has the stats on the heights of each miniature ... unless its based solely on the height stat given on the army card, and not on the physical characteristics of the miniatures themselves?)


My reason for asking is that I want to do a survey of what alternative miniatures I own would serve well as proxies for the Heroscape miniatures I do not own.
Reply With Quote
  #10747  
Old March 1st, 2018, 10:49 AM
Dysole's Avatar
Dysole Dysole is offline
PuppetMaster & #2 Ranked CoNner
 
Join Date: March 18, 2008
Location: Oregon Eugeneish area
Posts: 15,201
Images: 252
Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
I Could

I could share it but looking at it, I'd want to clean up some stuff before public consumption. It has heights listed on the cards though, so I'm not completely sure how useful it'd be to you.

~Dysole, who built the spreadsheet a while back and because she's been adding things kinda haphazardly it's gotten a bit confusing
Reply With Quote
  #10748  
Old March 3rd, 2018, 12:29 PM
The Grim Reaper's Friend's Avatar
The Grim Reaper's Friend The Grim Reaper's Friend is offline
He should definitely get that. (#4)
 
Join Date: September 19, 2010
Location: USA - ID - Post Falls
Posts: 6,903
Images: 8
Blog Entries: 50
The Grim Reaper's Friend wears ripped pants of awesomeness The Grim Reaper's Friend wears ripped pants of awesomeness The Grim Reaper's Friend wears ripped pants of awesomeness The Grim Reaper's Friend wears ripped pants of awesomeness The Grim Reaper's Friend wears ripped pants of awesomeness The Grim Reaper's Friend wears ripped pants of awesomeness The Grim Reaper's Friend wears ripped pants of awesomeness The Grim Reaper's Friend wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

The copyright paragraph on this site goes as follows:
Quote:
Originally Posted by HSers' Copyright
The Materials and Services on this Site are protected by copyright and/or other intellectual property laws and any unauthorized use of the Materials or Services of this Site violate such laws. Except as expressly provided herein, the creator of this site does not grant any express or implied right to you under any patents, copyrights, trademarks, or trade secret information with respect to the Materials and Services displayed on or provided by this site. No portion of the Information or documents on this Site may be reproduced in any form or by any means without the prior written permission of the Site Administrator or the original creator of said material.
Would anyone happen to know how far this extends? Does it, for example, protect fan fiction from being plagiarized?

~TGRF.

Eternity Prequels - Editing
Spoiler Alert!

Reply With Quote
  #10749  
Old March 3rd, 2018, 01:00 PM
Dysole's Avatar
Dysole Dysole is offline
PuppetMaster & #2 Ranked CoNner
 
Join Date: March 18, 2008
Location: Oregon Eugeneish area
Posts: 15,201
Images: 252
Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Copyright of Way

Fan fiction sits in an odd place legally in regards to copyright. I don't think your original fan work can legally be plagiarized, but there's fairly good odds that WotC could knock you and the person who plagiarized for infringing THEIR copyright.

~Dysole, who had to give herself a quick refresher on copyright law
Reply With Quote
  #10750  
Old March 3rd, 2018, 01:03 PM
Tornado's Avatar
Tornado Tornado is offline
Fan Fiction Prompt Master
 
Join Date: August 11, 2010
Location: USA - MI - Kalamazoo (Climax)
Posts: 24,045
Images: 253
Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

As I understand it (which is not 100%) yes, it does.

I brought it up once before and that was the answer I got.

EDIT: Good point by Dysole. If you tried to profit from your own fan-fiction then you may have some issues but you could always change the names and locations of the participants for your protection.
Reply With Quote
  #10751  
Old March 5th, 2018, 11:50 AM
Porkins's Avatar
Porkins Porkins is offline
guy who got blown up over Yavin, The
 
Join Date: February 24, 2009
Location: CA - East Bay Area
Posts: 12,103
Images: 99
Porkins is a man of the cloth Porkins is a man of the cloth Porkins is a man of the cloth Porkins is a man of the cloth Porkins is a man of the cloth Porkins is a man of the cloth Porkins is a man of the cloth Porkins is a man of the cloth Porkins is a man of the cloth Porkins is a man of the cloth Porkins is a man of the cloth Porkins is a man of the cloth Porkins is a man of the cloth Porkins is a man of the cloth Porkins is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Your work is automatically copyrighted by you once you write it down (or type it into a computer and save it...or into a forum site). You do not have to register a copyright to receive protection, however registration can provide better protection from improper use of your original material. Additionally you do not have to put a copyright statement on your material, but again, it can help prevent improper use. See this article:

http://smallbusiness.findlaw.com/int...copyright.html

Like Dysole said, however, there is still the issue of WotC's ownership of the Heroscape characters...
Reply With Quote
  #10752  
Old March 5th, 2018, 06:45 PM
Einarian Rifleman's Avatar
Einarian Rifleman Einarian Rifleman is offline
 
Join Date: February 5, 2018
Location: USA - Utah - West Jordan
Posts: 5
Einarian Rifleman Woo who?
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Hi, as I was browsing around on the site I came across the notion that people were wanting to get the HeroScape cards scanned to preserve them.

I was wondering if this task was completed or if there is something still happening with it?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HS Database dump? LMB Software 5 October 21st, 2009 11:48 AM
Pokemon question (new question, please look) mr_rex777 Other Games 14 September 14th, 2007 08:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:54 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.