Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 25th, 2010, 10:05 PM
Jordo02 Jordo02 is offline
 
Join Date: December 14, 2009
Location: USA - OH - Canton
Posts: 30
Jordo02 Woo who?
Engagement rules

I read somewhere that you cannot walk through your figures that are engaged. Is this correct? Also, can you shoot through friendly figures if on the same level? I am guessing the line of sight rules just apply.

Thanks

Last edited by Jordo02; March 25th, 2010 at 10:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 25th, 2010, 10:28 PM
cmgames's Avatar
cmgames cmgames is offline
 
Join Date: November 26, 2008
Location: USA - CA - San Francisco (Pacifica)
Posts: 1,984
Images: 63
Blog Entries: 1
cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla cmgames is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Engagement rules

Right on all counts.

From the latest (MS3) Rulebook (page :
Quote:
Passing and landing on other figures: You can move through a space with a friendly figure on it (one of your own or a teammate's) unless the figure is engaged. You can't move through a space with an opponent's figure on it, or end your move on a space with any other figure.
All ranged figures in Heroscape are excellent marksmen. As long as they can see target, they can shoot for that target. They never hit something they are not targeting even if that figure/obstacle is mostly in the way. (Well, except for area-effect attacks like explosions.)

~Z

A squid eating dough in a polyethylene bag is fast and bulbous. Got me?
My map thread
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 25th, 2010, 10:30 PM
Carakki Carakki is offline
 
Join Date: January 3, 2009
Location: USA - FL - Tampa
Posts: 445
Carakki knows what's in an order marker Carakki knows what's in an order marker
Re: Engagement rules

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jordo02 View Post
I read somewhere that you cannot walk through your figures that are engaged. Is this correct? Also, can you shoot through friendly figures if on the same level? I am guessing the line of sight rules just apply.

Thanks
That is true. You cannot move through your own engaged figures.

You can also shoot "through" friendly figures on the same level so long as you have line of sight to your target.


EDIT: Humbug. My first experience with being ninja'd.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 26th, 2010, 12:56 AM
Trav11111's Avatar
Trav11111 Trav11111 is offline
 
Join Date: January 31, 2007
Location: MN - St.Cloud
Posts: 1,084
Images: 30
Trav11111 knows what's in an order marker Trav11111 knows what's in an order marker
Re: Engagement rules

Well you get on one knee, and then you hold out the ring... Oh you mean in heroscape.

Yes, you are correct as the other two replies have stated.

"Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun." - Ash, Army of darkness
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 26th, 2010, 02:00 AM
Schulzy's Avatar
Schulzy Schulzy is offline
wants to have Anne Hathaway's babies
 
Join Date: July 29, 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 882
Schulzy rolls all skulls baby! Schulzy rolls all skulls baby! Schulzy rolls all skulls baby! Schulzy rolls all skulls baby! Schulzy rolls all skulls baby!
Re: Engagement rules

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trav11111 View Post
Well you get on one knee, and then you hold out the ring...
Engagement rules. Got it. Took me a few minutes. Very nice.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 26th, 2010, 02:50 AM
Jordo02 Jordo02 is offline
 
Join Date: December 14, 2009
Location: USA - OH - Canton
Posts: 30
Jordo02 Woo who?
Re: Engagement rules

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schulzy View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trav11111 View Post
Well you get on one knee, and then you hold out the ring...
Engagement rules. Got it. Took me a few minutes. Very nice.
took me a few too! haha
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 23rd, 2010, 11:41 PM
MrWookiee's Avatar
MrWookiee MrWookiee is offline
 
Join Date: June 22, 2010
Location: USA - FL - Ponte Vedra Beach
Posts: 1,191
MrWookiee knows what's in an order marker MrWookiee knows what's in an order marker MrWookiee knows what's in an order marker
Re: Engagement rules

I have a question. So, my 3 Minions had height on a Sentinel, and they had trapped him with 3 hexes like so:

Minion Minion Minion {2 levels}
Sentinel {1 level}
Could he fly over my Minions like so:

Sentinel {level 2}
Minion Minion Minion {level 2}

I thought that you could not fly over figures you are engaged with. Am I right, or am I talking nonsense?


My customs HERE. <-----
"I have not failed, I have just found 10,000 ways that won't work" -Edison
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 23rd, 2010, 11:49 PM
nyys's Avatar
nyys nyys is offline
quoting myself - insanity beckons
 
Join Date: June 21, 2007
Location: MA - South Shore
Posts: 15,222
Images: 2
nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth
Re: Engagement rules

As soon as you fly, even if its to go to an adjacent hex to both figures, it's considered disengaging and your opponent can take a swipe.

Boston Marathon 4/15/13 3:39:41
Last Race: Naragansett Running Festival 7/21/13 - Half Marathon - 1:50:01
Next Race: KeyBank Vermont Marathon 5/25/14
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old December 23rd, 2010, 11:49 PM
Fen_Hydra Fen_Hydra is offline
Bot Bloodhound
 
Join Date: July 8, 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1,976
Images: 29
Blog Entries: 13
Fen_Hydra has disabled reputation
Re: Engagement rules

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrWookiee View Post
I have a question. So, my 3 Minions had height on a Sentinel, and they had trapped him with 3 hexes like so:

Minion Minion Minion {2 levels}
Sentinel {1 level}
Could he fly over my Minions like so:

Sentinel {level 2}
Minion Minion Minion {level 2}

I thought that you could not fly over figures you are engaged with. Am I right, or am I talking nonsense?
If you are engaged and you start to fly, no matter where you go, you will take a leaving engagement attack.
If you are engaged, and you have ghost walk/flying, you can move through adjacent figures as normal.

Last edited by Fen_Hydra; December 23rd, 2010 at 11:49 PM. Reason: Ninja'd.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old December 23rd, 2010, 11:54 PM
MrWookiee's Avatar
MrWookiee MrWookiee is offline
 
Join Date: June 22, 2010
Location: USA - FL - Ponte Vedra Beach
Posts: 1,191
MrWookiee knows what's in an order marker MrWookiee knows what's in an order marker MrWookiee knows what's in an order marker
Re: Engagement rules

So I am right? I knew it. Man, that could have really helped me.


My customs HERE. <-----
"I have not failed, I have just found 10,000 ways that won't work" -Edison
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old January 5th, 2011, 08:18 PM
Simpsons Scaper's Avatar
Simpsons Scaper Simpsons Scaper is offline
Super Bowel
 
Join Date: December 8, 2008
Location: State of Denial
Posts: 1,470
Simpsons Scaper knows what's in an order marker Simpsons Scaper knows what's in an order marker Simpsons Scaper knows what's in an order marker
Re: Engagement rules

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrWookiee View Post
So I am right? I knew it. Man, that could have really helped me.
Yes, but as others stated, the three minions will all take leaving engagement attacks, so the sentiniel would most liikely (7/8 of the time) die. So, I don't think that would give you an advantage in this case.


Without dark, there is no light.
Without bad HScape figs, there are no good ones.
Dund is important, therefore
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old January 5th, 2011, 08:47 PM
Shockma Ranyk's Avatar
Shockma Ranyk Shockma Ranyk is offline
 
Join Date: July 21, 2010
Location: US of A - NE - Omaha
Posts: 2,300
Images: 8
Shockma Ranyk rolls all skulls baby! Shockma Ranyk rolls all skulls baby! Shockma Ranyk rolls all skulls baby! Shockma Ranyk rolls all skulls baby! Shockma Ranyk rolls all skulls baby!
Re: Engagement rules

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simpsons Scaper View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrWookiee View Post
So I am right? I knew it. Man, that could have really helped me.
Yes, but as others stated, the three minions will all take leaving engagement attacks, so the sentiniel would most liikely (7/8 of the time) die. So, I don't think that would give you an advantage in this case.
He's the Minions, and I think you messed up something in there...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ENGAGEMENT ALVINO Official Rules & FAQ's 25 June 19th, 2013 09:27 PM
Sacrieur's Alternative Engagement Rules Sacrieur Other Customization & HS Additions 1 March 22nd, 2010 12:51 AM
Basic Rules or Master rules SandMarauder HeroScape General Discussion 8 June 25th, 2009 05:47 PM
engagement rules manger Official Units 7 March 14th, 2007 03:00 PM
Engagement and Leaving engagement attacks questions. Pumpkin_King Official Rules & FAQ's 4 January 8th, 2007 11:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:11 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.