Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Custom HeroScape Creations > Software
Software Software created for enhancing HeroScape


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 24th, 2008, 09:52 PM
Slaader Slaader is offline
 
Join Date: May 12, 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 104
Slaader is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Virtualscape help

I have a few questions about the 1.052 release of virtualscape

1) Why do I always have an extra level on my build instructions? My map is only 4 levels high, but the instructions print up a level 5 (with nothing on it).

2) How do I create a high quality image of my 3d map? The camera icon never seems to be available.

3) Is there a help file online? The help window tells me the page I requested cannot be displayed.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 24th, 2008, 10:20 PM
TOG's Avatar
TOG TOG is offline
 
Join Date: January 20, 2007
Location: MO - KC Metro - Evil Admin Hangout
Posts: 977
Images: 7
TOG knows what's in an order marker TOG knows what's in an order marker
Re: Virtualscape help

1) Must be an oversight. I had never noticed it before, but sure enough, you get an extra grid.

2) The camera icon should become available after building the 3d image using the icon that looks like 3 gold bricks.

3) A help file doesn't exist. If it did, it would probably be in French as well, as that is where Zzzzz is. However, posting here will usually get you some relatively quick answers.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 24th, 2008, 10:41 PM
Slaader Slaader is offline
 
Join Date: May 12, 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 104
Slaader is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: Virtualscape help

Thanks for the quick response. Still not luck on the camera icon. Even in 3D mode its not available.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 24th, 2008, 10:53 PM
TOG's Avatar
TOG TOG is offline
 
Join Date: January 20, 2007
Location: MO - KC Metro - Evil Admin Hangout
Posts: 977
Images: 7
TOG knows what's in an order marker TOG knows what's in an order marker
Re: Virtualscape help

And you have the 3d window in the foreground when you are trying this, correct?



There is also one other possibility. That would be that your video card is old enough that it does not support OpenGL. But, it would have to be pretty old (several years) for that to be likely.

Last edited by TOG; April 24th, 2008 at 11:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 24th, 2008, 11:26 PM
Slaader Slaader is offline
 
Join Date: May 12, 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 104
Slaader is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: Virtualscape help

That might be it. The laptop I'm on is a bit old. I just took a .bmp and let photobucket convert it to a jpg.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 25th, 2008, 08:15 AM
TOG's Avatar
TOG TOG is offline
 
Join Date: January 20, 2007
Location: MO - KC Metro - Evil Admin Hangout
Posts: 977
Images: 7
TOG knows what's in an order marker TOG knows what's in an order marker
Re: Virtualscape help

You could try 1) making sure your video drivers are up to date, and 2) there is some free software available that checks for OpenGL compatibility. (google it) That might give you some answers.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 25th, 2008, 11:56 AM
Cavalier's Avatar
Cavalier Cavalier is offline
Trainer of n00bs
 
Join Date: August 16, 2006
Location: AZ - PHX Metro (Mesa)
Posts: 10,843
Images: 176
Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death!
Re: Virtualscape help

If your video card does not support openGL, the high res/shadowing is unavailable. This is an atribute of your video card. If your video card does not support it, there is not anything you can do* short of replacing the video card which is not really an option on a laptop.







* it is possible, however unlikely, that a firmware upgrade for you gard could inable openGL but if it is an older laptop, I wouldn't hold my breath.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 25th, 2008, 12:24 PM
Slaader Slaader is offline
 
Join Date: May 12, 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 104
Slaader is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: Virtualscape help

Well, I can render the shadows fine. The only feature I don't have access to is the high quality image button.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 25th, 2008, 01:58 PM
Aeston's Avatar
Aeston Aeston is offline
The Chronicler
 
Join Date: August 22, 2007
Location: CT - Rocky Hill
Posts: 200
Aeston wears ripped pants of awesomeness Aeston wears ripped pants of awesomeness Aeston wears ripped pants of awesomeness Aeston wears ripped pants of awesomeness Aeston wears ripped pants of awesomeness Aeston wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Virtualscape help

Slaader, I'm not sure if this is an issue, but on my PC I've noticed that the High Quality option isn't available unless I have the shadows tunred *on*.

6 RoTV, 3 SotM, 3 RttFF, 3 FotA, 3 VW, 3 TT, 3 TJ.
At least 3 of every common, 1 of every unique.

Aeston's Maps
Before Heroscape: The History that Lead to our Game
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old April 25th, 2008, 02:15 PM
Slaader Slaader is offline
 
Join Date: May 12, 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 104
Slaader is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: Virtualscape help

Hmm I'll have to try that out tonight. I just took a .bmp, and can always convert it to another file using photoshop. I was just curious about the bug.

I've got to find a place to host the .pdf and the virtualscape file, then my map thread domination will begin!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old April 25th, 2008, 02:34 PM
Cavalier's Avatar
Cavalier Cavalier is offline
Trainer of n00bs
 
Join Date: August 16, 2006
Location: AZ - PHX Metro (Mesa)
Posts: 10,843
Images: 176
Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death!
Re: Virtualscape help

Get one of these and you can host them right here.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old April 25th, 2008, 03:45 PM
Zzzzz Zzzzz is offline
 
Join Date: July 2, 2006
Location: * France - Paris (near)
Posts: 566
Zzzzz wears ripped pants of awesomeness Zzzzz wears ripped pants of awesomeness Zzzzz wears ripped pants of awesomeness Zzzzz wears ripped pants of awesomeness Zzzzz wears ripped pants of awesomeness Zzzzz wears ripped pants of awesomeness Zzzzz wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Virtualscape help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaader View Post
Well, I can render the shadows fine. The only feature I don't have access to is the high quality image button.
Please can you confirm that to me because I checked my code one minute ago and I saw that if you turn on shadow the high quality mode must be enable. I confirm also that if you don't have all OpenGL necessary extensions shadow will not be available.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Custom HeroScape Creations > Software
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtualscape-Virtualscape question HeroscaperHuh Software 15 November 28th, 2009 05:23 PM
pdf to virtualscape witchlocke Software 9 November 11th, 2008 01:42 PM
Help with VirtualScape Ricky007 Maps & Scenarios 1 July 26th, 2007 04:00 PM
Virtualscape Help Please jjrsportsfan Software 16 April 9th, 2007 05:04 PM
In VirtualScape, How Do You... the-next-wade Software 18 March 29th, 2007 09:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:47 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.