Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #10417  
Old March 23rd, 2017, 12:26 AM
Dad_Scaper's Avatar
Dad_Scaper Dad_Scaper is offline. Isn't that smurfy?
Counting gray cells and coming up short... Also, I confess to being a fanboy.
 
Join Date: January 3, 2007
Location: MD - Baltimore
Posts: 22,277
Images: 4
Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

The trades and sales subforum of this very forum. You'll do much better than eBay. Happy hunting!

C3V "Easily the best quality classic customs I have ever seen."
Designing Customs? Help With Wurdz
= =
Reply With Quote
  #10418  
Old March 23rd, 2017, 12:32 AM
lefton4ya's Avatar
lefton4ya lefton4ya is offline
PDFin' sweet self spammer
 
Join Date: December 22, 2008
Location: USA - OH/KY - Cincinnati/Florence
Posts: 3,892
Images: 126
Blog Entries: 1
lefton4ya is a penguin with a machine gun lefton4ya is a penguin with a machine gun lefton4ya is a penguin with a machine gun lefton4ya is a penguin with a machine gun lefton4ya is a penguin with a machine gun lefton4ya is a penguin with a machine gun lefton4ya is a penguin with a machine gun lefton4ya is a penguin with a machine gun lefton4ya is a penguin with a machine gun lefton4ya is a penguin with a machine gun lefton4ya is a penguin with a machine gun lefton4ya is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Sales and Trades thread here. Also BoardGameGeek marketplace has some (flagrant advertising but check my signature below for my sales). Cheapest place is Craigslist but you have to be lucky at the right time.
Reply With Quote
  #10419  
Old April 22nd, 2017, 11:31 PM
Lord Dragonix's Avatar
Lord Dragonix Lord Dragonix is offline
 
Join Date: May 30, 2011
Location: USA - OH - An hour south of Cleveland
Posts: 119
Lord Dragonix knows what's in an order marker Lord Dragonix knows what's in an order marker
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Could someone help me out? I'm having trouble locating where in the rulebook or faq it specifically says that you must attack with the same common figure that you moved with.

It's been a while since I played, but I can only find places where it seems to be implied by the working of cards like the Zombies. However, that could be seen as just a reminder that you can attack with any 3 Zombies, not just those activated by the Horde Movement.

I'm looking for something that firmly states you must attack with the figures you moved. And, related to that, where it says that you can choose to move less that a full squad of figures and save your extra attacks for any figures that didn't move.
Reply With Quote
  #10420  
Old April 23rd, 2017, 12:38 AM
Dad_Scaper's Avatar
Dad_Scaper Dad_Scaper is offline. Isn't that smurfy?
Counting gray cells and coming up short... Also, I confess to being a fanboy.
 
Join Date: January 3, 2007
Location: MD - Baltimore
Posts: 22,277
Images: 4
Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

You are correct about the rules. I don't care enough to dig out chapter and verse, but there is only a handful of people on earth who have run more tournaments than I.

If you are trying to persuade someone else, that may help. If you are trying to satisfy yourself, that's all I got for you in this thread.

C3V "Easily the best quality classic customs I have ever seen."
Designing Customs? Help With Wurdz
= =
Reply With Quote
  #10421  
Old April 23rd, 2017, 12:10 PM
cmgames's Avatar
cmgames cmgames is offline
 
Join Date: November 26, 2008
Location: USA - CA - San Francisco (Pacifica)
Posts: 1,945
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Dragonix View Post
Could someone help me out? I'm having trouble locating where in the rulebook or faq it specifically says that you must attack with the same common figure that you moved with.

It's been a while since I played, but I can only find places where it seems to be implied by the working of cards like the Zombies. However, that could be seen as just a reminder that you can attack with any 3 Zombies, not just those activated by the Horde Movement.

I'm looking for something that firmly states you must attack with the figures you moved. And, related to that, where it says that you can choose to move less that a full squad of figures and save your extra attacks for any figures that didn't move.
In the FAQ, the first paragraph under Movement:
Quote:
Movement
Does each individual member of the squad move and attack before the next one, or do they all move, then all attack in turn?
First you may move any or all Squad figures shown on your chosen Army Card (up to the figure limit on that Army Card), if you want to. Then after all desired movement, you may attack with those figures.
In the D & D Rulebook, in the glossary under Common Figures:
Quote:
Common Figures: Each Army may have any number of a Common
Army Card with the same name. If your Army has two or more of the
same Common Army Card, you do not have to keep these figures
separate (that is, keep track of which figures belong to which card).
For example, if you are using two Army Cards of Deepwyrm Drow
figures, each order marker placed on either Army Card activates
any three of them. See also: Army Card, Unique Figures, and
Uncommon Figures.
There is no specific definition of "activate", but the interpretation (by the game designer and the players) has been that even if you don't move all the "figures shown on your chosen Army Card" (the number of figures), you have still "activated" the full number. The rule about movement says that those you did move are potential attackers. But that, since you did not move all you could, you have a "floating" activation for each un-moved figure that can be used for attacking also.

~Z

A squid eating dough in a polyethylene bag is fast and bulbous. Got me?
My map thread
Reply With Quote
  #10422  
Old April 23rd, 2017, 03:05 PM
R˙chean's Avatar
R˙chean R˙chean is offline
GenCon 2014 Main Event Champ / Obsessive-Compulsive HS Storage Organizer
 
Join Date: May 9, 2006
Location: TX - Dallas
Posts: 7,294
Images: 89
Blog Entries: 10
R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth R˙chean is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Pos rep to you, cmgames. Those are the exact entries and resources I was reviewing in an effort to respond. Thank you for your efforts!!!!!

A must read for all 'Scapers!
Reply With Quote
  #10423  
Old April 23rd, 2017, 04:27 PM
Lord Dragonix's Avatar
Lord Dragonix Lord Dragonix is offline
 
Join Date: May 30, 2011
Location: USA - OH - An hour south of Cleveland
Posts: 119
Lord Dragonix knows what's in an order marker Lord Dragonix knows what's in an order marker
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmgames View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Dragonix View Post
Could someone help me out? I'm having trouble locating where in the rulebook or faq it specifically says that you must attack with the same common figure that you moved with.

It's been a while since I played, but I can only find places where it seems to be implied by the working of cards like the Zombies. However, that could be seen as just a reminder that you can attack with any 3 Zombies, not just those activated by the Horde Movement.

I'm looking for something that firmly states you must attack with the figures you moved. And, related to that, where it says that you can choose to move less that a full squad of figures and save your extra attacks for any figures that didn't move.
In the FAQ, the first paragraph under Movement:
Quote:
Movement
Does each individual member of the squad move and attack before the next one, or do they all move, then all attack in turn?
First you may move any or all Squad figures shown on your chosen Army Card (up to the figure limit on that Army Card), if you want to. Then after all desired movement, you may attack with those figures.
In the D & D Rulebook, in the glossary under Common Figures:
Quote:
Common Figures: Each Army may have any number of a Common
Army Card with the same name. If your Army has two or more of the
same Common Army Card, you do not have to keep these figures
separate (that is, keep track of which figures belong to which card).
For example, if you are using two Army Cards of Deepwyrm Drow
figures, each order marker placed on either Army Card activates
any three of them. See also: Army Card, Unique Figures, and
Uncommon Figures.
There is no specific definition of "activate", but the interpretation (by the game designer and the players) has been that even if you don't move all the "figures shown on your chosen Army Card" (the number of figures), you have still "activated" the full number. The rule about movement says that those you did move are potential attackers. But that, since you did not move all you could, you have a "floating" activation for each un-moved figure that can be used for attacking also.

~Z
Thank you for the references. I am attempting to teach my wife to play Heroscape and enjoy miniatures games in general, and I wanted to have a place to point her towards to explain how common squads function. Thanks again!

Thomas Edison: Religion is all bunk.
George Carlin: Religion is just mind control.
Thomas Jefferson: It does me no injury for my neighbor to say there are twenty gods or no God.

Reply With Quote
  #10424  
Old April 23rd, 2017, 11:49 PM
flameslayer93's Avatar
flameslayer93 flameslayer93 is online now
I could go
 
Join Date: December 31, 2009
Location: The Smouldercore (Cleveland, Ohio)
Posts: 6,481
Images: 92
Blog Entries: 30
flameslayer93 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla flameslayer93 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla flameslayer93 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla flameslayer93 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla flameslayer93 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla flameslayer93 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla flameslayer93 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla flameslayer93 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla flameslayer93 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla flameslayer93 is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

@Lord Dragonix

There's a tournement coming up on Saturday if you would like to come. Depending on where you are in Ohio, you could be as little as 30 minutes away from it.

https://www.heroscapers.com/communit...ad.php?t=53653


My customs.
NE Ohio Tourney - Oct 20th 555/Bring 2
SW Ohio Tourney - Oct 27th TBD
Reply With Quote
  #10425  
Old April 28th, 2017, 06:07 AM
ZeusEQ ZeusEQ is offline
 
Join Date: February 9, 2016
Location: Netherlands - NH - Hoofddorp
Posts: 36
ZeusEQ is surprisingly tart
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Hi,


Does "figure you control" imply that the figure is still alive and on the battlefield? I want to give a custom unit a power that works while another unit controlled by the same player is alive and on the board, so could I say "While you control a (classname), this unit bla bla bla..."? And this would make clear that as long as that (classname) is not destroyed and is on the battlefield, the power takes effect, and when that figure is destroyed (or not part of the army at all), the power does NOT take effect?


Thanks, Zeus
Reply With Quote
  #10426  
Old April 28th, 2017, 10:36 AM
Dr.Goomonkey's Avatar
Dr.Goomonkey Dr.Goomonkey is offline
On vacation...
 
Join Date: February 20, 2012
Location: USA - WA - Seattle(Marysville)
Posts: 1,388
Images: 166
Dr.Goomonkey wears ripped pants of awesomeness Dr.Goomonkey wears ripped pants of awesomeness Dr.Goomonkey wears ripped pants of awesomeness Dr.Goomonkey wears ripped pants of awesomeness Dr.Goomonkey wears ripped pants of awesomeness Dr.Goomonkey wears ripped pants of awesomeness Dr.Goomonkey wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Yes, once a figure is destroyed it no longer counts for powers as a "figure you control".

Quote:
VALIANT ARMY DEFENSE BONUS
If every Army Card you control has a Valiant personality, each soldier in the 4th Massachusetts Line receives 1 additional defense die.
_________________________________________________________________

- VALIANT ARMY DEFENSE BONUS : Army With Valiant and Non-Valiant Units
If my non-Valiant figures are destroyed, and only Valiant figures are left on the battlefield, can the 4th Massachusetts Line use their Valiant Army Defense Bonus?
Yes. (Hasbro FAQ)

Repaints My Maps Online Maps Customs
Autumn Custom Contest - CONGRATS ARCH-VILE!
Where do you find giant snails?
Spoiler Alert!
Reply With Quote
  #10427  
Old April 28th, 2017, 05:28 PM
cmgames's Avatar
cmgames cmgames is offline
 
Join Date: November 26, 2008
Location: USA - CA - San Francisco (Pacifica)
Posts: 1,945
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness cmgames wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

The only power I can think of that is still in effect even after the figure is destroyed is Thanos' REJECTED BY DEATH.

~Z

A squid eating dough in a polyethylene bag is fast and bulbous. Got me?
My map thread
Reply With Quote
  #10428  
Old April 28th, 2017, 06:28 PM
Scytale's Avatar
Scytale Scytale is offline
Thanksgiving Custom Contest Champion
 
Join Date: August 25, 2006
Location: MN - Rochester
Posts: 7,055
Images: 442
Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth
Re: Question Dump: Post Your Questions Here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmgames View Post
The only power I can think of that is still in effect even after the figure is destroyed is Thanos' REJECTED BY DEATH.
There are more.

Parmenio's Disciplined Influence continues even after his death.
The Werewolf Lord's Lycanthropy continues even after his death.
Morsbane's Rod of Negation's negation affect lasts even after his death.
Thorgrim's Warriors Armor Spirit 1
Finn's Warriors Attack Spirit 1
Eldgrim's Swiftness Spirit

not as direct:
Mika Connour's Blend into Shadow leaves permanent shadow tiles on the board.
The Nakita Agent's Smoke Powder 13 would keep other figures that were adjacent to Nakitas when the power took affect from having visible hit zones for the remainder of the turn even if all Nakitas are destroyed.

From VC:

Ebon Armor's Eternal War
Arktos's Hunter's Aim Spirit
Myrddin's Mystic Sacrifice boost still takes place if Myrrdin dies.
Beorn Boltcutter's Upgrade will continue to boost the Soulborg after Beorn dies.
Manauvi's Warrior's Charging Spirit
Bahadur's Warrior's Melee Spirit

not as direct:
Zettian Deathwing's Detonation Special Attack destroys the Deathwing before the affected figures roll defense
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HS Database dump? LMB Software 5 October 21st, 2009 11:48 AM
Pokemon question (new question, please look) mr_rex777 Other Games 14 September 14th, 2007 08:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:26 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.