Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > HeroScapers Community > Scapers Online
Scapers Online Discussing the online HS community

Old September 24th, 2006, 12:05 PM
ATF Agent

ninthdoc rolls all skulls baby! ninthdoc rolls all skulls baby! ninthdoc rolls all skulls baby! ninthdoc rolls all skulls baby! ninthdoc rolls all skulls baby! ninthdoc rolls all skulls baby!
'Scapers and Your Safe Internet Experience

Hello, all.

I'd like to ask an administrator to sticky this thread. It should be the first thing that anyone reads for any website they go to. I'd like to share with you all why we should never let our guard down, not even on heroscapers.com.

Most people here know that I'm a police officer IRL. I spent 5 years working on cases involving crimes against children. Sadly, twice in the past 9 months, it has been brought to my attention that even in our community, there exist wolves in the fold.

The first time was on heroscapehq.com. Using only methods that were available to anyone who knew where to look online, I discovered that one of our members, who had been attending events at which children were present, was to attend a court session as a defendant in a case in which he had been accused of sexual assault of a child.

The next incident of note, was when several members were contacted by a user who wanted people she did not know to teach her how to play Heroscape. Thankfully, she asked good people, but this could have just as quickly gone south for her.

Most recently, it has come to my attention that an adult user here has tried to contact an person who is under age for the purpose of soliciting something from this child.

I'm being very careful, not to name names or cause anyone embarrassment. This is a great community. Truth has worked very hard to give us a wonderful website that he has struggled to keep family-friendly, sometimes against great adversity, but he has persevered.