Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


View Poll Results: If Marcu is your last figure and he betrays you, do you lose the game?
Yes 6 15.38%
No 33 84.62%
Voters: 39. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 9th, 2007, 06:48 PM
Firemaster's Avatar
Firemaster Firemaster is offline
Raconteur Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: November 6, 2006
Location: * Canada - Oshawa, ONT
Posts: 3,066
Blog Entries: 5
Firemaster rolls all skulls baby! Firemaster rolls all skulls baby! Firemaster rolls all skulls baby! Firemaster rolls all skulls baby! Firemaster rolls all skulls baby! Firemaster rolls all skulls baby!
Marcu as your Last Figure+Eternal Hatred

All right, this has been discussed somewhat in the News thread and Marcu's book, but I figure it deserves a topic as it's own. Basically the question is as follows:

If Marcu Esenwein is the last figure you control, and he betrays you, does this cause you to lose the game?

As far as I can gather, there are two sides to this argument:

1. You do not lose, since you get him back at the end of the turn.

2. You do lose, since while your opponent is taking the turn with Marcu, you control no figures.


So, which side is correct? This is probably a question we should send off to Hasbro, as whatever we decide, it would be best if we get some kind of official answer. In any case, until this happens, we can discuss this question here.

Of course if the admins feel this topic is unnessesary, it can be closed/ deleted.


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 9th, 2007, 06:51 PM
Cavalier's Avatar
Cavalier Cavalier is offline
Trainer of n00bs
 
Join Date: August 16, 2006
Location: AZ - PHX Metro (Mesa)
Posts: 10,844
Images: 176
Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth
I don't see how this is a question. The unit is still yours, your opponent only gets to control it.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 9th, 2007, 06:53 PM
LilNewbie's Avatar
LilNewbie LilNewbie is offline
Site Admin & Master Custom Creator
 
Join Date: May 8, 2006
Location: NM - Albuquerque
Posts: 5,594
LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer LilNewbie is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Cav is right. Unlike Sir Hawthorne you don't give the card over to the opponent and you keep any order markers/figures on the card. The opponent just gets to dictate his actions for that activation/turn.

Newb.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 9th, 2007, 07:10 PM
Billtog's Avatar
Billtog Billtog is offline
GW Bush's
 
Join Date: August 7, 2006
Location: VA - Newport News
Posts: 3,881
Images: 4
Blog Entries: 3
Billtog rolls all skulls baby! Billtog rolls all skulls baby! Billtog rolls all skulls baby! Billtog rolls all skulls baby! Billtog rolls all skulls baby!
Indeed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 9th, 2007, 07:17 PM
rdhight's Avatar
rdhight rdhight is offline
Embraces the Suck
 
Join Date: June 1, 2007
Location: crawling through holes.
Posts: 2,678
Images: 7
Blog Entries: 4
rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness
If a lone Marcu's Hatred loses you the game, an enemy Dr. Doom Mind Exchanging your last hero would also lose you the game, wouldn't it?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 9th, 2007, 07:22 PM
jcb231 jcb231 is offline
has been BANNED
 
Join Date: May 13, 2006
Location: Here, There, and Everywhere
Posts: 6,015
jcb231 is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Neither one will lose you the game.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 9th, 2007, 07:28 PM
rdhight's Avatar
rdhight rdhight is offline
Embraces the Suck
 
Join Date: June 1, 2007
Location: crawling through holes.
Posts: 2,678
Images: 7
Blog Entries: 4
rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness rdhight wears ripped pants of awesomeness
That's what I meant.

Too bad Mind Exchange does not, itself, trigger Eternal Hatred. That would be a classic Doom death and a classic Marcu kill. He tries to take control of Marcu, but the hate is TOO STRONG!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 10th, 2007, 08:36 AM
Revdyer's Avatar
Revdyer Revdyer is offline
Our Invaluable & Highly Esteemed Resident Chaplain
 
Join Date: May 9, 2006
Location: AR - Little Rock
Posts: 13,323
Images: 11
Blog Entries: 18
Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth
Add my "Nay" to the pile.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 10th, 2007, 09:15 AM
Tiberius's Avatar
Tiberius Tiberius is offline
Which Team Am I On?...
 
Join Date: May 11, 2006
Location: PA - Pittsburgh (Monaca)
Posts: 4,777
Tiberius has disabled reputation
I originally thought it would end the game but after hearing everyone's justifications you have swayed me. Since you do not gain control of the figure or the owner does not lose ownership of the figure, basically, the opponent is taking your turn for you, and that is all.

Tiberius is Rogue...
aboard STARSHIP THETA...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 10th, 2007, 11:15 AM
Junge Roman's Avatar
Junge Roman Junge Roman is offline
 
Join Date: October 11, 2006
Location: TX - Houston
Posts: 1,018
Junge Roman has disabled reputation
"at the end of turn, control of Macu returns to you."

So, you do NOT retain control of the figure. If you don't control it, is it still yours?

That's the key question to me.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old July 10th, 2007, 11:27 AM
kenjib's Avatar
kenjib kenjib is offline
Hotdoghead-Molesterface
 
Join Date: August 21, 2006
Location: CA - Pasadena
Posts: 3,066
kenjib rolls all skulls baby! kenjib rolls all skulls baby! kenjib rolls all skulls baby! kenjib rolls all skulls baby! kenjib rolls all skulls baby! kenjib rolls all skulls baby!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Junge Roman
"at the end of turn, control of Macu returns to you."

So, you do NOT retain control of the figure. If you don't control it, is it still yours?

That's the key question to me.
I agree. Here's a typical victory objective from the rulebook. This one is for Clashing Fronts:

"Victory: When the other side has no figures left on the battlefield, you win. If th ebattle reaches the end of Round 12, then the battle is over and th eplayer or team with the most points on the battlefield wins (see Scoring, on page 14 in the Master Game Guide)."

Even though it will return to you later, once it is under control of your opponent you do not have any figures left on the battlefield. I think that technically from an anal retentive rules-lawyer perspective you would lose the game but I also think that Hasbro/WotC would rule otherwise and that you wouldn't lose because I think that's more the intent of the rules, if not the letter, and the Dr. Doom thing in particular makes that clear.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old July 10th, 2007, 11:31 AM
Eclipse's Avatar
Eclipse Eclipse is offline
regurgitation cynic
 
Join Date: July 19, 2006
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 4,103
Eclipse wears ripped pants of awesomeness Eclipse wears ripped pants of awesomeness Eclipse wears ripped pants of awesomeness Eclipse wears ripped pants of awesomeness Eclipse wears ripped pants of awesomeness Eclipse wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Quote:
Originally Posted by Junge Roman
"at the end of turn, control of Macu returns to you."

So, you do NOT retain control of the figure. If you don't control it, is it still yours?

That's the key question to me.
It doesn't matter either way. As per the DW7K ruling, the results of the game aren't set until the turn is completely finished. Even if you have zero figures on the board mid turn, as long as you have at least one left at the end of the turn, you're fine.

To pull out another really bizarre situation that could happen, picture this. Your opponent flies in with Silver Surfer and destroys your last figure. In a bizarre move, they then decide to use their Special Move to land on the Glyph of Sturla. If, at this point, any of figures are revived, you do not lose the game, even though in the middle of the turn you didn't have any remaining figures.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:30 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.