Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Custom HeroScape Creations > Custom Units & Army Cards
Custom Units & Army Cards Fan-created HS army cards for units, glyphs, and equipment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #409  
Old September 30th, 2021, 01:49 PM
Scytale's Avatar
Scytale Scytale is offline
Thanksgiving Custom Contest Champion
 
Join Date: August 25, 2006
Location: USA - MN - Rochester
Posts: 10,886
Images: 479
Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth
Re: Help With Wurdz

Quote:
Originally Posted by SchismaticSounds View Post
I did glance at the 12th and something else for some amount of word order with the rendition I wrote.
The main problem I see now with my description is that it doesn't address if the special attack is instead of attacking or before. Though, I think I did compare with some other ability when writing it, allowing it to be generally spoken as a special attack?

A more direct comparison to the Gas Grenade Special would be this:

"Instead of attacking normally (if that is the intention),(or ‘before attacking normally,) a _ Thrall may attack with Toxic Purge Special Attack. If a skull is rolled, the defending figure subtracts one from its defense dice for the entire turn."
Unless specifically stated, a unit can either use a normal attack or a special attack, not both. I assume this one is not to be used alongside a normal attack.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SchismaticSounds View Post
I’m curious why there are so many different ways to describe reductions on different cards. Subtract from “defense dice/die”, defense value”, “defense”. I think it shows that there is some freedom involved? or a specific feeling to each description.
The original designers were terrible at consistency in their wording. That's all there is to it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SchismaticSounds View Post
In your version,
"Until the next order marker is revealed" is unnecessary. For Estivara it is specifically until the next time "You" reveal an order marker. I guess this way it just adds that potential extra if there is an initiative switch when using Cloud of Darkness at the end of a round.
The power would then not apply to additional Thrall turns if it didn't last until the next order marker is revealed, since each Thrall gets a separate turn. I assume the intent of the power is to weaken figures for the other Thralls.
Reply With Quote
  #410  
Old September 30th, 2021, 03:16 PM
AndreThaGiant's Avatar
AndreThaGiant AndreThaGiant is offline
 
Join Date: July 16, 2018
Location: USA - ND - Fargo
Posts: 222
AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Help With Wurdz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scytale View Post
The power would then not apply to additional Thrall turns if it didn't last until the next order marker is revealed, since each Thrall gets a separate turn. I assume the intent of the power is to weaken figures for the other Thralls.
Precisely. So, with that in mind, is "..until the next order marker is revealed" the proper wording?
Reply With Quote
  #411  
Old September 30th, 2021, 03:28 PM
SchismaticSounds's Avatar
SchismaticSounds SchismaticSounds is offline
 
Join Date: July 29, 2020
Location: USA - MT - Livingston
Posts: 286
SchismaticSounds wears ripped pants of awesomeness SchismaticSounds wears ripped pants of awesomeness SchismaticSounds wears ripped pants of awesomeness SchismaticSounds wears ripped pants of awesomeness SchismaticSounds wears ripped pants of awesomeness SchismaticSounds wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Help With Wurdz

Sorry, I tend to forget that a turn would be limited to that single thrall alone rather than your turn phase. Otherwise I'd say leave it open and use the "for the entire turn" again.

And I see now why Gas Grenade has the before attacking normally since it only applies to the single Caucasus.

Adapt what is useful, Discard what is not, Add what is uniquely your own.
Reply With Quote
  #412  
Old September 30th, 2021, 03:44 PM
Scytale's Avatar
Scytale Scytale is offline
Thanksgiving Custom Contest Champion
 
Join Date: August 25, 2006
Location: USA - MN - Rochester
Posts: 10,886
Images: 479
Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth Scytale is a man of the cloth
Re: Help With Wurdz

Quote:
Originally Posted by SchismaticSounds View Post
And I see now why Gas Grenade has the before attacking normally since it only applies to the single Caucasus.
Actually, that applies to the whole card. "Before attacking normally" references the attack phase, which is broken up in their unique case into special attack and then any normal attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #413  
Old September 30th, 2021, 03:54 PM
SchismaticSounds's Avatar
SchismaticSounds SchismaticSounds is offline
 
Join Date: July 29, 2020
Location: USA - MT - Livingston
Posts: 286
SchismaticSounds wears ripped pants of awesomeness SchismaticSounds wears ripped pants of awesomeness SchismaticSounds wears ripped pants of awesomeness SchismaticSounds wears ripped pants of awesomeness SchismaticSounds wears ripped pants of awesomeness SchismaticSounds wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Help With Wurdz

Well, I tried.
Sometimes it just makes sense to you until it doesnt.

Adapt what is useful, Discard what is not, Add what is uniquely your own.
Reply With Quote
  #414  
Old October 8th, 2021, 09:39 AM
AndreThaGiant's Avatar
AndreThaGiant AndreThaGiant is offline
 
Join Date: July 16, 2018
Location: USA - ND - Fargo
Posts: 222
AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Help With Wurdz

Hello,

Question regarding auras. I'm working on a custom that has nearly identical verbiage as RTS' Swamp Ooze, except it utilizes shadow instead of swamp. Obviously swamp ooze affects RTS, and I'm not about to call it Shadow Ooze, but is Shadow Aura acceptable in this situation? Someone mentioned that auras don't affect the person providing them, but unless it's explicitly worded that is doesn't affect them, it does right?

The ability in question:

SHADOW AURA
All land, water, and ice spaces within 1 space of Ilvara that are no more than 5 levels above or below Ilvara's base are considered shadow spaces for figures you control.

Thanks in advance,
Reply With Quote
  #415  
Old October 8th, 2021, 11:10 AM
Captain Stupendous's Avatar
Captain Stupendous Captain Stupendous is online now
 
Join Date: May 21, 2015
Location: Country - State - Major City (Town)
Posts: 1,001
Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Help With Wurdz

Based on the wording of the power, it would affect the figures own space. While this doesn’t break any rules per se, it does break from precedent as every other power with the word aura in its title does not affect its own figure. So it works fine mechanically, but the break from precedent might be a theme break for some people, depending on how concerned they were with strict continuity with classic scape terminology and precedent.

If that’s a problem for you, the easiest solution would probably be to just change the name of the power, something like Spreading Shadow might work well?
Reply With Quote
  #416  
Old October 8th, 2021, 11:28 AM
AndreThaGiant's Avatar
AndreThaGiant AndreThaGiant is offline
 
Join Date: July 16, 2018
Location: USA - ND - Fargo
Posts: 222
AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Help With Wurdz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Stupendous View Post
Based on the wording of the power, it would affect the figures own space. While this doesn’t break any rules per se, it does break from precedent as every other power with the word aura in its title does not affect its own figure. So it works fine mechanically, but the break from precedent might be a theme break for some people, depending on how concerned they were with strict continuity with classic scape terminology and precedent.

If that’s a problem for you, the easiest solution would probably be to just change the name of the power, something like Spreading Shadow might work well?
The precedent was one of my concerns. How perfect would SHADOW CAST be? Damn you @Sir Heroscape

How do you feel about EMIT SHADOW?
Reply With Quote
  #417  
Old October 8th, 2021, 11:36 AM
Captain Stupendous's Avatar
Captain Stupendous Captain Stupendous is online now
 
Join Date: May 21, 2015
Location: Country - State - Major City (Town)
Posts: 1,001
Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Help With Wurdz

Hmmm, shadow isn’t something I typically think of as being emitted, but others mileage may vary.

How about “Cloaked in Shadow” or “Consuming Darkness”?
Reply With Quote
  #418  
Old October 8th, 2021, 11:48 AM
AndreThaGiant's Avatar
AndreThaGiant AndreThaGiant is offline
 
Join Date: July 16, 2018
Location: USA - ND - Fargo
Posts: 222
AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness AndreThaGiant wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Help With Wurdz

My only counterargument to that would be that Estivara's ability CLOUD OF DARKNESS doesn't mention shadow at all.



She's the only exception though; Deepwyrm and Darrak all reference shadow tiles in their "darkness" abilities. I'm fine going with either the "darkness" route or the "shadow" route. Example: Vark Darkclaws, but their ability is SHADOW MASTERS.

I'm hoping for more of an action-y verb. Is CAST DARKNESS too fine of a line with Xundar's SA?
Reply With Quote
  #419  
Old October 8th, 2021, 11:53 AM
Captain Stupendous's Avatar
Captain Stupendous Captain Stupendous is online now
 
Join Date: May 21, 2015
Location: Country - State - Major City (Town)
Posts: 1,001
Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla Captain Stupendous is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Help With Wurdz

Yeah, since darkness refers to shadows elsewhere I wouldn’t worry about the estivara precedent. Cast Darkness is maybe a bit similar to shadow cast but probably fine?

How about “Invoke Shadow/Darkness” for a more actiony verb feel?
Reply With Quote
  #420  
Old October 8th, 2021, 12:16 PM
Dad_Scaper's Avatar
Dad_Scaper Dad_Scaper is offline. Isn't that smurfy?
Counting gray cells and coming up short... Also, I confess to being a fanboy.
 
Join Date: January 3, 2007
Location: MD - Baltimore
Posts: 27,079
Images: 4
Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth Dad_Scaper is a man of the cloth
Re: Help With Wurdz

This is not an ability that is likely to be reused, so I'd encourage wording that really evokes theme:

Cloak of Shadow
Veil of Darkness/Shadow
Shroud of Night

Something like that.

C3V "Easily the best quality classic customs I have ever seen."
Designing Customs? Help With Wurdz
= =
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Custom HeroScape Creations > Custom Units & Army Cards
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:07 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2022 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.