Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Arena of the Planeswalkers: MtG > Official Units and Spell Cards
Official Units and Spell Cards Discussion of official AotP units and spell cards


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 25th, 2015, 04:00 PM
Dysole's Avatar
Dysole Dysole is offline
PuppetMaster & #2 Ranked CoNner
 
Join Date: March 17, 2008
Location: Oregon Eugeneish area
Posts: 16,815
Images: 262
Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Dysole is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
The Book of Project Self SPELL

The Book of Project Self: Sorcery
Magic: Arena of the Planeswalkers master set


Quote:
Sorcery
Move a blue Planeswalker you control to an empty space that's adjacent to another figure you control.
-Rulings and Clarifications-
  • - TBA


-Combinations and Synergies-
  • - TBA


Synergy Benefits Received
  • - TBA


Synergy Benefits Offered
  • - TBA


-Strategy, Tactics and Tips-
  • - TBA

Unit Strategy Review
  • - TBA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 2nd, 2015, 06:20 PM
HeroTempest HeroTempest is offline
 
Join Date: November 2, 2015
Location: Brazil - Paraná - Curitiba
Posts: 43
HeroTempest knows what's in an order marker HeroTempest knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of Project Self SPELL

Does the planeswalker suffer disengage by being moved? I think so, but this spell raised this question on my last game
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 2nd, 2015, 06:38 PM
TREX TREX is offline
"like" happy
 
Join Date: February 24, 2010
Location: Absent
Posts: 8,002
TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death! TREX is hot lava death!
Re: The Book of Project Self SPELL

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeroTempest View Post
Does the planeswalker suffer disengage by being moved? I think so, but this spell raised this question on my last game
That's weird that it doesn't say whether or not. One would assume since you are using a card to do the move that you would not take a LEA, but it clearly doesn't say. Which would make me say you would take one. Ideas anybody? I'm curious now.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 2nd, 2015, 08:48 PM
Marro_Warlord's Avatar
Marro_Warlord Marro_Warlord is offline
 
Join Date: September 22, 2014
Location: USA - MA - Sharon
Posts: 2,532
Marro_Warlord rolls all skulls baby! Marro_Warlord rolls all skulls baby! Marro_Warlord rolls all skulls baby! Marro_Warlord rolls all skulls baby! Marro_Warlord rolls all skulls baby! Marro_Warlord rolls all skulls baby!
Re: The Book of Project Self SPELL

Quote:
Originally Posted by TREX View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeroTempest View Post
Does the planeswalker suffer disengage by being moved? I think so, but this spell raised this question on my last game
That's weird that it doesn't say whether or not. One would assume since you are using a card to do the move that you would not take a LEA, but it clearly doesn't say. Which would make me say you would take one. Ideas anybody? I'm curious now.
Flavor-wise, I'd say no. Your Planeswalker is creating an illusion of himself, and was never in the specified location. So technically, your guy was never there, and a fake version of himself was the one there. Therefore, no leaving engagement attack because he didn't exist.

Rule Lawyer-wise, you would. If your person moves at all ---> Leaving engagement attack. This would trigger a leaving engagement attack if the need arose. Since your figure would be moved, (and not even "placed"), he would definitely provoke a leaving engagement attack.

Alternate Interpretation: In the beginning, they never mentioned the "When Taelord starts to fly he will take any leaving engagement attacks," on Taelord. The same could be true here, which means that: He won't take leaving engagement attacks from moving this way.

I could see this playing out in any way.

Oops, rolled a 1.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 3rd, 2015, 09:15 AM
Kajoq Kajoq is offline
 
Join Date: August 31, 2015
Location: USA - GA - Atlanta
Posts: 209
Kajoq rolls all skulls baby! Kajoq rolls all skulls baby! Kajoq rolls all skulls baby! Kajoq rolls all skulls baby! Kajoq rolls all skulls baby!
Re: The Book of Project Self SPELL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marro_Warlord View Post

Rule Lawyer-wise, you would. If your person moves at all ---> Leaving engagement attack. This would trigger a leaving engagement attack if the need arose. Since your figure would be moved, (and not even "placed"), he would definitely provoke a leaving engagement attack.
By this logic, since you're 'Moving' wouldn't you also have to find a path and take any leaving engagement attacks along the way? I believe the -intended- use of this card would not generate any leaving engagement attacks, but they didn't do a good job on it. It's really frustrating they were so loose with the wording on these cards since MTG they're so consistent about the templating.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 3rd, 2015, 09:29 AM
Cavalier's Avatar
Cavalier Cavalier is offline
Trainer of n00bs
 
Join Date: August 16, 2006
Location: AZ - PHX Metro (Mesa)
Posts: 10,844
Images: 176
Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth Cavalier is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Project Self SPELL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kajoq View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marro_Warlord View Post

Rule Lawyer-wise, you would. If your person moves at all ---> Leaving engagement attack. This would trigger a leaving engagement attack if the need arose. Since your figure would be moved, (and not even "placed"), he would definitely provoke a leaving engagement attack.
By this logic, since you're 'Moving' wouldn't you also have to find a path and take any leaving engagement attacks along the way? I believe the -intended- use of this card would not generate any leaving engagement attacks, but they didn't do a good job on it. It's really frustrating they were so loose with the wording on these cards since MTG they're so consistent about the templating.
No. There are many ways of being moved (teleport, carry, etc.) that could have a leaving engagement attack associated but that would not require you to indicate the path traveled.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 4th, 2015, 08:35 AM
HeroTempest HeroTempest is offline
 
Join Date: November 2, 2015
Location: Brazil - Paraná - Curitiba
Posts: 43
HeroTempest knows what's in an order marker HeroTempest knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of Project Self SPELL

Probably we gonna play without taking disengage damage.
I guess it's a bit OP be able to move anywhere without being attacked for a 5 points card.
However, taking disengage on the path you are moving the pw or even create a path to move doesn't make much sense at all.
I think it should be like the flying ability: you take disengage when leaving and then go straight where you want to. But the spell text doesn't mention anything about that.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 4th, 2015, 09:28 AM
Targanth's Avatar
Targanth Targanth is offline
 
Join Date: June 14, 2008
Location: USA - MN - Rochester
Posts: 597
Targanth rolls all skulls baby! Targanth rolls all skulls baby! Targanth rolls all skulls baby! Targanth rolls all skulls baby!
Re: The Book of Project Self SPELL

I have considered the 'move' for this card to be like a teleport (or flying). Since it says nothing about engagement, I would expect normal engagement rules to apply - the Blue Planeswalker would be exposed to take leaving engagement attack from any enemy figures adjacent to the original position.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 24th, 2016, 08:08 PM
Tornado's Avatar
Tornado Tornado is offline
Fan Fiction Prompt Master
 
Join Date: August 11, 2010
Location: USA - MI - Kalamazoo (Climax)
Posts: 30,090
Images: 392
Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Project Self SPELL

Is it a move or a teleport. If it is a move, is it based on the Move # of the casting PW?

This is an important ruling that would also apply to Pass Through Stone.

It reads like a Teleport but I wish it said place instead of move if it is a Teleport or said 'move up to....spaces' if it is a move.

A cloud can change its semblance, yet retain its will
With the intimacy of destruction, One knows what it is to be alive
The empty sky holds no reflection, for sorrow
- Eslo Rudkey
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 24th, 2016, 08:56 PM
lefton4ya's Avatar
lefton4ya lefton4ya is offline
PDFin' sweet self spammer
 
Join Date: December 22, 2008
Location: USA - OH/KY - Cincinnati/Florence
Posts: 4,788
Images: 127
Blog Entries: 1
lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth lefton4ya is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Project Self SPELL

I had the same question in a game today. I went with a teleport so ignores move, but I was wondering if the planeswalker is engaged and you use Project Self, does an opponent roll for disengament? I do not think the wording of AotP cards were put through enough scrutiny when compared to Heroscape, when it should be the opposite because they benefit from years of questing wording of both Heroscape and Magic the Gathering cards should mean the designers have more help in wording.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old July 24th, 2016, 11:10 PM
Colorcrayons's Avatar
Colorcrayons Colorcrayons is offline
 
Join Date: March 7, 2012
Location: USA - MN - Minneapolis
Posts: 207
Colorcrayons rolls all skulls baby! Colorcrayons rolls all skulls baby! Colorcrayons rolls all skulls baby! Colorcrayons rolls all skulls baby! Colorcrayons rolls all skulls baby!
Re: The Book of Project Self SPELL

I look at it this way:

It doesn't specifically state that the Planeswalker is exempt from the general rule of leaving engagement attacks (specific overides the general), so it would take a leaving engagement attack if it was adjacent to an enemy figure before being transported/moved/teleported/whatever.

Its also a 5 point spell. One shouldn't expect too much for that price.
Personally, I vote for balance reasons alone associated with the cost that it take LEA.

Its already incredibly powerful, able to move the PW to the otherside of the board potentially. There has to be a drawback to that power, especially for that price.

Its worth the risk of the 50% chance of a wound.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old July 25th, 2016, 11:22 AM
Tornado's Avatar
Tornado Tornado is offline
Fan Fiction Prompt Master
 
Join Date: August 11, 2010
Location: USA - MI - Kalamazoo (Climax)
Posts: 30,090
Images: 392
Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth Tornado is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Project Self SPELL

I do not want a LEA ruling. I know you take LEAs because it does not say that you do not.

I want a 'move X # of spaces' or is it a 'teleport/place power that has no limits in distance'?

Also the 5 point basis is pointless as there are powerful low point spells and spells not worth their cost(IMO). The card that destroys 2 of your opponent's Spell cards is a 5 pointer and it is worth way more than that.

There is a spell like it that moves a creature you control and that one specifically states that you do not take LEAs so you do not, that is clear.

What is not clear is if this is a 'move' or 'place' power?

A cloud can change its semblance, yet retain its will
With the intimacy of destruction, One knows what it is to be alive
The empty sky holds no reflection, for sorrow
- Eslo Rudkey
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Arena of the Planeswalkers: MtG > Official Units and Spell Cards
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Book of Unsummon SPELL Dysole Official Units and Spell Cards 11 March 29th, 2016 09:44 AM
The Book of Corrupt SPELL qt.bangerang Official Units and Spell Cards 1 September 15th, 2015 02:04 PM
The Book of Scatter Arc SPELL Dysole Official Units and Spell Cards 0 July 25th, 2015 03:56 PM
The Book of Despise SPELL qt.bangerang Official Units and Spell Cards 0 July 25th, 2015 03:39 PM
The Book of Blessing SPELL Ninja Status Official Units and Spell Cards 0 July 25th, 2015 02:38 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:37 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.