Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 21st, 2009, 10:19 AM
White Noise's Avatar
White Noise White Noise is offline
 
Join Date: April 18, 2009
Location: USA - WI - Green Bay
Posts: 790
Images: 10
White Noise knows what's in an order marker White Noise knows what's in an order marker White Noise knows what's in an order marker
Climb and Engagement

There's something I've been wondering about concerning
the Climb ability. I've searched around and haven't found anything about this, so I figured I might as well ask.

The ability Climb says:
When moving up or down levels of terrain, (name of figure) may double/triple (depending on whether it's X2 or X3) their height.

My question is:
There is a Fyorlag Spider on a height 1 space and there is an enemy figure on a height 4 space next to the spider. Obviously they are not considered to be engaged. However, If the spider moves onto a height 2 space that is still next to the enemy figure (and for some reason has to use Climb X3 - say there's a battlement in the way) its height would temporarily become 6 (because Climb X3 triples height). Does it become momentarily engaged with the figure on the height 4 space? Furthermore, after moving onto the height 2 space and ending its movement, its height would revert to 2. Would it take a leaving engagement attack because it is no longer engaged?

Quote:
Originally Posted by clancampbell View Post
No matter your feelings towards D&D, it has divided us.
Something tells me that the cancellation, though tragic, may indeed mend that divide...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 21st, 2009, 10:23 AM
jschild jschild is offline
Dr Feelgood
 
Join Date: January 4, 2009
Location: USA - KY - Louisville
Posts: 6,543
jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Climb and Engagement

Climb never affects height.

It only affects how high you can climb in one turn. Your stated height is what you must use to determine if engaged or not.

Now through May 28th, the Louisville region is in desperate need of platelets - call the Red Cross if you are interested in donating!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 21st, 2009, 10:27 AM
killercactus's Avatar
killercactus killercactus is offline
The Guy That Thinks Runa is Good (and has actually won games with her)
 
Join Date: February 19, 2007
Location: OH - Austintown
Posts: 7,865
Images: 32
Blog Entries: 10
killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death! killercactus is hot lava death!
Re: Climb and Engagement

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cavalier in a thread titled "Battlements and Disengage" that I found searching
Originally Posted by Kahrma
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertDD
I hope that engagement on the same hex gets an answer in the faq too (a ruling like: "if two figures occupy the same space they are considered engaged" would do it, I think)

I see no reason for a separate ruling. I'd consider "moving through another figure" (ala ghost walk, phantom walk) similar to moving over a wall/battlement, or falling past other hexes. You can't stop in the middle, so engagement would only be checked (a) on the hex you left from, and (b) on the hex you wound up on.

You don't check for Nakita "engagement strike" when climbing a battlement from one engaged space to another around a Nakita - why would you check for engagement strike when walking from one engaged space to another through a Nakita?

Agreed.
Engagement is checked on the hex you left from and the hex you arrive on, not in the middle. Therefore, the spider is safe.

Like battle reports? Click Tourney Reports (New 10/21/2012 - Cutters / Brutes!)
KC's Maps
Click KC's Customs
Scaper of the Week #57
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 21st, 2009, 10:27 AM
ollie's Avatar
ollie ollie is offline
Is a Quadradical
 
Join Date: March 19, 2007
Location: VT
Posts: 9,537
Images: 43
Blog Entries: 22
ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth ollie is a man of the cloth
Re: Climb and Engagement

Quote:
Originally Posted by jschild View Post
Climb never affects height.
Actually, the power explicitly says that it does affect height:

Quote:
Originally Posted by climb x3
...may triple their height.
However, engagement is only checked on each hex of your move, not between, I think, so you're OK.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 21st, 2009, 10:31 AM
jschild jschild is offline
Dr Feelgood
 
Join Date: January 4, 2009
Location: USA - KY - Louisville
Posts: 6,543
jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Climb and Engagement

No, it doesn't, for sake of engagement.

Quote:
hen moving up or down levels of terrain, (name of figure) may double/triple (depending on whether it's X2 or X3) their height.
They do not suddenly become 2 or 3 times taller - they only double or triple their height for the sole purpose of movement, nothing else at all.

EDIT:

What I mean is that their power is that they are excellent climbers, being able to climb better than their height would otherwise suggest. The converse being is that their height does NOT actually increase when climbing.

Now through May 28th, the Louisville region is in desperate need of platelets - call the Red Cross if you are interested in donating!

Last edited by jschild; July 21st, 2009 at 10:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 21st, 2009, 10:47 AM
White Noise's Avatar
White Noise White Noise is offline
 
Join Date: April 18, 2009
Location: USA - WI - Green Bay
Posts: 790
Images: 10
White Noise knows what's in an order marker White Noise knows what's in an order marker White Noise knows what's in an order marker
Re: Climb and Engagement

Quote:
Originally Posted by ollie View Post
However, engagement is only checked on each hex of your move, not between, I think, so you're OK.
That's what I figured. Thanks for the clarification.

Quote:
Originally Posted by clancampbell View Post
No matter your feelings towards D&D, it has divided us.
Something tells me that the cancellation, though tragic, may indeed mend that divide...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 21st, 2009, 11:11 AM
Ullar/utgar own's Avatar
Ullar/utgar own Ullar/utgar own is offline
 
Join Date: March 15, 2009
Location: Canada - Ontario - Toronto - Bradford
Posts: 284
Ullar/utgar own is surprisingly tart
Re: Climb and Engagement

On the card it says that climb doesn't affect engagement only moving up and down levels.

I love it when a plan comes together!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 21st, 2009, 11:19 AM
jschild jschild is offline
Dr Feelgood
 
Join Date: January 4, 2009
Location: USA - KY - Louisville
Posts: 6,543
jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla jschild is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: Climb and Engagement

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ullar/utgar own View Post
On the card it says that climb doesn't affect engagement only moving up and down levels.
Because they don't "grow", they are just good climbers.

Now through May 28th, the Louisville region is in desperate need of platelets - call the Red Cross if you are interested in donating!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 21st, 2009, 11:59 AM
Obsidian's Avatar
Obsidian Obsidian is offline
 
Join Date: March 2, 2009
Location: USA - IA- Des Moines
Posts: 730
Images: 24
Obsidian wears ripped pants of awesomeness Obsidian wears ripped pants of awesomeness Obsidian wears ripped pants of awesomeness Obsidian wears ripped pants of awesomeness Obsidian wears ripped pants of awesomeness Obsidian wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Climb and Engagement

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ullar/utgar own View Post
On the card it says that climb doesn't affect engagement only moving up and down levels.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fyorlag Spiders Army Card
When moving up or down levels of terrain, Fyorlag Spiders may tripple their height.
I don't see where it says anything about it not affecting engagement.
But yes, since engagement/disengagement is only considered when a figure is on a hex, not in between. It's like when a figure falls off a cliff and passes by an enemy on the way down. You don't roll for disengagement because you were never engagned on a particular hex.

Side Note: I just noticed that you may add height when moving up or down. This means that when falling, you could choose to roll for falling damage even if the drop was not more than 5 high.I can't think of many situations where this would be advantageous. Maybe if Cyprien were almost dead and you didn't want your spiders to give him easy life. I just thought this would be something worth pointing out.


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 21st, 2009, 01:29 PM
Retlaw's Avatar
Retlaw Retlaw is offline
Ruler of the Damned
 
Join Date: May 10, 2006
Location: IN - Plainfield
Posts: 1,867
Images: 403
Blog Entries: 1
Retlaw is a penguin with a machine gun Retlaw is a penguin with a machine gun Retlaw is a penguin with a machine gun Retlaw is a penguin with a machine gun Retlaw is a penguin with a machine gun Retlaw is a penguin with a machine gun Retlaw is a penguin with a machine gun Retlaw is a penguin with a machine gun Retlaw is a penguin with a machine gun Retlaw is a penguin with a machine gun Retlaw is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: Climb and Engagement

A picture is worth a thousand words ...

(click for larger image)

The orange circle is the starting postition for our spider, the green circle is one of your opponent's spiders, and the blue/cyan circle is your spider at the end of his move.

Now, on the right example, using the ladder to get up the four hexes, your spider would become engaged and leave engagement when he got to the top (per the FotA rule book).

In the example on the left, I would think the spider using climb would also become engaged and then disengage when going from the orange circle to the blue/cyan circle. However, it sounds like most of you are saying that the spider wouldn't become engaged. I think I will respectfully disagree with that opinion -- but I'll keep checking the rule book.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old July 21st, 2009, 01:32 PM
Cavalier's Avatar
Cavalier Cavalier is offline
Trainer of n00bs
 
Join Date: August 16, 2006
Location: AZ - PHX Metro (Mesa)
Posts: 10,843
Images: 176
Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death! Cavalier is hot lava death!
Re: Climb and Engagement

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retlaw View Post
A picture is worth a thousand words ...

(click for larger image)

The orange circle is the starting postition for our spider, the green circle is one of your opponent's spiders, and the blue/cyan circle is your spider at the end of his move.

Now, on the right example, using the ladder to get up the four hexes, your spider would become engaged and leave engagement when he got to the top (per the FotA rule book).

In the example on the left, I would think the spider using climb would also become engaged and then disengage when going from the orange circle to the blue/cyan circle. However, it sounds like most of you are saying that the spider wouldn't become engaged. I think I will respectfully disagree with that opinion -- but I'll keep checking the rule book.
With the ladder, their would be engagement, since the spider is occupying a 'space'. With the 'climb' version, the spider is never in a 'space' except at the begging and end of its move.

This has been discussed previously and a clarification given. I can't recall the exact context of the discussion, but I will attempt to find the relevant thread..
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old July 21st, 2009, 01:34 PM
Grungebob's Avatar
Grungebob Grungebob is offline
Mighty Mouse!
 
Join Date: May 4, 2006
Location: TX - Dallas
Posts: 10,426
Images: 31
Blog Entries: 5
Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Grungebob is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: Climb and Engagement

The space occupied is called a ladder rung space or just rung space. With climb there are no spaces being occupied.


"Hahahah! You losers! I told you so!!"
~Clancampbell
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Let's see Spidey climb these DarkSpade Custom Terrain & Obstacles 18 January 3rd, 2009 09:16 AM
Climb 2x Troubleman23 Official Rules & FAQ's 4 May 9th, 2008 08:00 PM
Engagement Q's Archkyrie11 Official Rules & FAQ's 11 January 2nd, 2008 07:18 PM
Edge of the World Climb. Nerd_Tendo Official Rules & FAQ's 8 July 10th, 2007 02:56 AM
Engagement and Leaving engagement attacks questions. Pumpkin_King Official Rules & FAQ's 4 January 8th, 2007 11:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:14 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.