Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Official Units Discussion of official HeroScape units


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #133  
Old October 21st, 2010, 04:50 PM
tannergx tannergx is offline
 
Join Date: June 7, 2008
Location: USA - CA - Scotts Valley
Posts: 240
Images: 16
tannergx rolls all skulls baby! tannergx rolls all skulls baby! tannergx rolls all skulls baby! tannergx rolls all skulls baby!
Re: The Book of Marcu Esenwein

I have a question about Life Drain that I did not see in this thread. In a game last night, my opponent attempted a Pounce attack with a Badru Wolf on Marcu and failed to kill him. As a result, the wolf was destroyed.

Should Marcu get to remove a wound marker? In the game we didn't, but the more I read Life Drain, the more I'm wondering. It was Marcu's shields that resulted in the wolf being destroyed.

Has it ever come up?

~tgx

Edit: See Rˇchean's follow-up. Wow... embarassing. Don't know why I didn't check the FAQs first. Sorry for the spam.

Last edited by tannergx; October 21st, 2010 at 05:46 PM. Reason: Being a dumb***...
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old October 21st, 2010, 05:13 PM
Rˇchean's Avatar
Rˇchean Rˇchean is offline
GenCon 2014 Main Event Champ / Obsessive-Compulsive HS Storage Organizer
 
Join Date: May 9, 2006
Location: TX - Dallas
Posts: 7,317
Images: 90
Blog Entries: 10
Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Marcu Esenwein

Quote:
Originally Posted by tannergx View Post
I have a question about Life Drain that I did not see in this thread. In a game last night, my opponent attempted a Pounce attack with a Badru Wolf on Marcu and failed to kill him. As a result, the wolf was destroyed.

Should Marcu get to remove a wound marker? In the game we didn't, but the more I read Life Drain, the more I'm wondering. It was Marcu's shields that resulted in the wolf being destroyed.

Has it ever come up?

~tgx
Yep..it has come up...

From the FAQ:

If one of the Wolves of Badru attempts to Pounce and fails to destroy the defending figure, the attacking Wolf is destroyed. For figures like Cyprian Esenwein, Zombies of Morindan, and Tagawa Samurai, does the defending figure get “credit” for destroying the figure? They each have powers that trigger when destroying an opponent’s figure.
No. The defending figure does not get credit for the kill when a Wolf of Badru fails in its Pounce Special Attack.

Link in my sig

A must read for all 'Scapers!
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old October 22nd, 2010, 05:38 AM
Confred's Avatar
Confred Confred is offline
Empty Fist Shaking Power Codex Architect
 
Join Date: April 26, 2008
Location: USA - VA
Posts: 2,225
Images: 407
Blog Entries: 2
Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness Confred wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: The Book of Marcu Esenwein

But if somehow a character had Life Drain and Counter Strike?

My Customs: Classic, RPG, Supers, Fiction, Space Hulk
Let's take your vision to pristine together.
Reply With Quote
  #136  
Old October 22nd, 2010, 08:52 AM
YoYoCheese's Avatar
YoYoCheese YoYoCheese is offline
 
Join Date: September 5, 2010
Location: USA - GA - Atlanta
Posts: 46
YoYoCheese is surprisingly tart
Re: The Book of Marcu Esenwein

Quote:
Originally Posted by Confred View Post
But if somehow a character had Life Drain and Counter Strike?
Ogre Pulvirizer attacks Marcu, Marcu rolls one shield (or more if something's increasing his defence), and the Ogre somehow rolls zero skulls.
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old October 22nd, 2010, 08:59 PM
CheddarLimbo's Avatar
CheddarLimbo CheddarLimbo is offline
No Soup or Happy Endings For You!
 
Join Date: July 22, 2007
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 3,119
Blog Entries: 6
CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: The Book of Marcu Esenwein

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoYoCheese View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Confred View Post
But if somehow a character had Life Drain and Counter Strike?
Ogre Pulvirizer attacks Marcu, Marcu rolls one shield (or more if something's increasing his defence), and the Ogre somehow rolls zero skulls.
Marcu is dealing the damage, by way of a rule change that allows him to do it with shields instead of skulls. I think Marcu would get to get the Life Drain.



Last edited by CheddarLimbo; October 22nd, 2010 at 08:59 PM. Reason: Rampant speculation on my part, btw...
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old October 23rd, 2010, 12:13 AM
dok's Avatar
dok dok is offline
GenCon Main Event Champion - 2010, 2011, & 2017
 
Join Date: October 9, 2008
Location: USA - CO - Denver
Posts: 21,735
Images: 108
Blog Entries: 17
dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Marcu Esenwein

I believe the precedent for this has already been set - Tagawa Samurai get experience for counterstrike kills.

While we're on the subject, I believe leaving engagement attacks also count.

WoB pounce is a special case where the target does not get credit for the kill.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kinseth View Post
Clerics in D&D are not adept at fighting.

Online Heroscape!
Reply With Quote
  #139  
Old January 24th, 2015, 08:11 AM
greenlee_smythe greenlee_smythe is offline
 
Join Date: February 15, 2014
Location: Country - State - Major City (Town)
Posts: 17
greenlee_smythe is surprisingly tart
Re: The Book of Marcu Esenwein

Quote:
Originally Posted by Troy Spiral View Post
The Plot thickens... i asked for more clarification and was told this (in refrence to the DW7k ruling)


Quote:
Troy,

Thank you for writing. The reference in Deathwalker 7000ís FAQ entry refers to his turn, and not the entire turn. Once his turn is up and his ability has resolved the game ends in a draw as no figures remain.

With Marcu you lose the game if he changes allegiance upon rolling a 17+ for his ability. After this ability resolves your opponent gains control of your Marcu, and you lose due to not having any remaining figures.

Thanks for the great question. Please let me know if you need anymore help!

Good Gaming!


Rob
Customer Service Representative
Wizards of the Coast
1-800-324-6496 (US and Canada)
425-204-8069 (From all other countries)
Monday-Friday 9am-6pm PST / 12pm-9pm EST
This is not correct...because after taking a turn with Marcu, ownership returns to the original owner...so if he is my only figure and i roll a 17 and u take a turn with him, once u are done, i get control of him back. it says so on the first page of this forum.
Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old January 24th, 2015, 02:58 PM
Rˇchean's Avatar
Rˇchean Rˇchean is offline
GenCon 2014 Main Event Champ / Obsessive-Compulsive HS Storage Organizer
 
Join Date: May 9, 2006
Location: TX - Dallas
Posts: 7,317
Images: 90
Blog Entries: 10
Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth Rˇchean is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of Marcu Esenwein

You are correct.

The post you quoted from Troy Spiral is over 7 years old and was not accurate when it was originally posted, as the subsequent 2.5 pages of discussion point out.

A must read for all 'Scapers!
Reply With Quote
  #141  
Old April 6th, 2015, 07:49 PM
Serenity's Avatar
Serenity Serenity is offline
 
Join Date: October 26, 2010
Location: USA-CA-San Francisco (Antioch)
Posts: 917
Serenity wears ripped pants of awesomeness Serenity wears ripped pants of awesomeness Serenity wears ripped pants of awesomeness Serenity wears ripped pants of awesomeness Serenity wears ripped pants of awesomeness Serenity wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: The Book of Marcu Esenwein

Marcu Esenwein
C3V and SoV Custom Synergies
Spoiler Alert!
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old May 13th, 2015, 01:41 PM
IshMEL's Avatar
IshMEL IshMEL is offline
 
Join Date: August 17, 2011
Location: US - NY - Brooklyn
Posts: 1,435
Images: 471
IshMEL is a penguin with a machine gun IshMEL is a penguin with a machine gun IshMEL is a penguin with a machine gun IshMEL is a penguin with a machine gun IshMEL is a penguin with a machine gun IshMEL is a penguin with a machine gun IshMEL is a penguin with a machine gun IshMEL is a penguin with a machine gun IshMEL is a penguin with a machine gun IshMEL is a penguin with a machine gun IshMEL is a penguin with a machine gun
Re: The Book of Marcu Esenwein

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serenity View Post
Marcu Esenwein
C3V and SoV Custom Synergies
Spoiler Alert!
Not sure if Myrddin should be listed here. Since Marcu is the only figure where adding to a d20 roll is undesirable, it's not really a useful synergy. Similarly, Marcu actually benefits from an opponent's Van Nessing.
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old May 13th, 2015, 07:22 PM
Serenity's Avatar
Serenity Serenity is offline
 
Join Date: October 26, 2010
Location: USA-CA-San Francisco (Antioch)
Posts: 917
Serenity wears ripped pants of awesomeness Serenity wears ripped pants of awesomeness Serenity wears ripped pants of awesomeness Serenity wears ripped pants of awesomeness Serenity wears ripped pants of awesomeness Serenity wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: The Book of Marcu Esenwein

Desirable and undesirable are in the eye of the beholder. If I really want Marcu to move closer to the action (perhaps so I can use a future order marker to reach a particular space) then I might actually wish for my opponent to take over Marcu and hopefully move him to a place that will be advantageous for me in the future. Perhaps the Myrddin language should state that Marcu is affected rather than benefits however.
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old May 13th, 2015, 09:44 PM
yamissflash's Avatar
yamissflash yamissflash is offline
Our Illustrious Winner?...
 
Join Date: May 29, 2009
Location: USA-PA-Pittsburgh
Posts: 896
yamissflash knows what's in an order marker yamissflash knows what's in an order marker yamissflash knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of Marcu Esenwein

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serenity View Post
Desirable and undesirable are in the eye of the beholder. If I really want Marcu to move closer to the action (perhaps so I can use a future order marker to reach a particular space) then I might actually wish for my opponent to take over Marcu and hopefully move him to a place that will be advantageous for me in the future. Perhaps the Myrddin language should state that Marcu is affected rather than benefits however.
I would say adding to your roll would not be an advantage. Sure, your opponent might move him to a more developed spot, but it isn't so much a benefit to you as a benefit to your opponent that he might mess up.

This is starting to sound like my guaranteed to have a chance post...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:46 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.