Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Official Units Discussion of official HeroScape units


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #37  
Old September 20th, 2010, 05:12 PM
Darth Vader's Avatar
Darth Vader Darth Vader is offline
 
Join Date: October 21, 2008
Location: OH-Toledo
Posts: 1,058
Images: 11
Blog Entries: 1
Darth Vader wears ripped pants of awesomeness Darth Vader wears ripped pants of awesomeness Darth Vader wears ripped pants of awesomeness Darth Vader wears ripped pants of awesomeness Darth Vader wears ripped pants of awesomeness Darth Vader wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcglkn View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Vader View Post
So, in theory I could keep Enslaving one Mind Flayer to another one, and visa versa, therefore creating an endless chain of Mind Flayer dominance, if the d20 falls my way, correct?
No, because you have to reveal and Order Marker on the Mindflayer in order to use Enslave.
Ok, I knew there would be a catch. My bad.

I encompass, and I eclipse.
Helm's Deep
My Maps
Embracing the Fun
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old September 20th, 2010, 08:59 PM
CheddarLimbo's Avatar
CheddarLimbo CheddarLimbo is offline
No Soup or Happy Endings For You!
 
Join Date: July 22, 2007
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 3,119
Blog Entries: 6
CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Also the last line of the Enslave power reads "Enslave does not affect Mind Flayers".


Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old September 27th, 2010, 08:24 AM
chas's Avatar
chas chas is offline
 
Join Date: June 23, 2008
Location: USA- NY - New York City
Posts: 5,087
Blog Entries: 64
chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death! chas is hot lava death!
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Arr, Mateys! In the first play of our new Pirates! scenario (see Kolakoski's blog), my MM Enslaved an opposing Sonlen aboard the enemy vessel, and forced him to leap off the ship into the water below, killing him--a maneuver we now call WALK THE PLANK! Shiver me timbers, that was a good one!

Last edited by chas; September 27th, 2010 at 12:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old September 27th, 2010, 12:33 PM
Trav11111's Avatar
Trav11111 Trav11111 is offline
 
Join Date: January 31, 2007
Location: MN - St.Cloud
Posts: 1,084
Images: 30
Trav11111 knows what's in an order marker Trav11111 knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Quote:
Originally Posted by CheddarLimbo View Post
Also the last line of the Enslave power reads "Enslave does not affect Mind Flayers".
You could have had more fun with this. Look at my example .

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcglkn View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Vader View Post
So, in theory I could keep Enslaving one Mind Flayer to another one, and visa versa, therefore creating an endless chain of Mind Flayer dominance, if the d20 falls my way, correct?
No, because you have to reveal and Order Marker on the Mindflayer in order to use Enslave.

But you could still Enslave another Mind Flayer and use him to attack or whatever. Just no endless Enslaving.
Except the last line on the Enslave power says it doesn't affect Mind Flayers, so you too.


See so much more fun with a rare opportunity .

"Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun." - Ash, Army of darkness
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old September 27th, 2010, 02:24 PM
Vivaldi's Avatar
Vivaldi Vivaldi is offline
 
Join Date: October 13, 2008
Location: USA - UT - SLC
Posts: 72
Vivaldi is surprisingly tart
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

This guy has terrifying potential against low defense bonding squads, especially ones with beastly heroes. Just think about blasting a nagrub dropping an OM, then going on a rampage with TKN, or vaporizing a spider then assassinating their Raelin with Sujoah. The same goes for blades/Grimnak, arrows/Krug, Greenscales/Nilfheim, Romans/Mogrimm.

Even more devastating is if you run an Ornak and 2x flayers against low defense squads. you can basically erase their round on OM 1, giving you a 1 OM advantage. I can see this working on cutters, non-valiant 4th, aubriens, MRT, and maybe even zombies.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old September 27th, 2010, 05:57 PM
MegaSilver's Avatar
MegaSilver MegaSilver is offline
Online HS Season 12 Champ, But Still Three-N-Two
 
Join Date: April 13, 2009
Location: USA - KY - Caneyville
Posts: 13,488
Images: 103
Blog Entries: 39
MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth MegaSilver is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vivaldi View Post
This guy has terrifying potential against low defense bonding squads, especially ones with beastly heroes. Just think about blasting a nagrub dropping an OM, then going on a rampage with TKN, or vaporizing a spider then assassinating their Raelin with Sujoah. The same goes for blades/Grimnak, arrows/Krug, Greenscales/Nilfheim, Romans/Mogrimm.

Even more devastating is if you run an Ornak and 2x flayers against low defense squads. you can basically erase their round on OM 1, giving you a 1 OM advantage. I can see this working on cutters, non-valiant 4th, aubriens, MRT, and maybe even zombies.
Only works on Unique or uncommon heroes.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old September 27th, 2010, 06:39 PM
RickyDMMontoya's Avatar
RickyDMMontoya RickyDMMontoya is offline
 
Join Date: November 24, 2007
Location: In his house at R'lyeh. Dead, waiting, dreaming.
Posts: 107
RickyDMMontoya has disabled reputation
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Quote:
Originally Posted by MegaSilver View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vivaldi View Post
This guy has terrifying potential against low defense bonding squads, especially ones with beastly heroes. Just think about blasting a nagrub dropping an OM, then going on a rampage with TKN, or vaporizing a spider then assassinating their Raelin with Sujoah. The same goes for blades/Grimnak, arrows/Krug, Greenscales/Nilfheim, Romans/Mogrimm.

Even more devastating is if you run an Ornak and 2x flayers against low defense squads. you can basically erase their round on OM 1, giving you a 1 OM advantage. I can see this working on cutters, non-valiant 4th, aubriens, MRT, and maybe even zombies.
Only works on Unique or uncommon heroes.
No, Psionic Blast (which is what removes the enemy order markers) works on any figure/card.

Rules Lawyer.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old October 11th, 2010, 10:38 PM
hero9510's Avatar
hero9510 hero9510 is offline
 
Join Date: May 13, 2008
Location: USA - NJ - Wayne
Posts: 70
hero9510 is surprisingly tart
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Ok, didn't see it so here goes:
I enslave my opponents Finn. I drop him into lava and kill him. The way I read the card, Finn's card reverts back to the original owner and he gets to place Finn. Is this correct or can I suicide him and put Finn on my own card?
It seems that since I never really come into possession of the card I can use it, but if someone has another thought I'd appreciate it.

If power corrupts,
and absolute power corrupts absolutely,
and knowledge is power,
does absolute knowledge corrupt absolutely?
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old October 11th, 2010, 11:29 PM
CheddarLimbo's Avatar
CheddarLimbo CheddarLimbo is offline
No Soup or Happy Endings For You!
 
Join Date: July 22, 2007
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 3,119
Blog Entries: 6
CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Quote:
Originally Posted by hero9510 View Post
Ok, didn't see it so here goes:
I enslave my opponents Finn. I drop him into lava and kill him. The way I read the card, Finn's card reverts back to the original owner and he gets to place Finn. Is this correct or can I suicide him and put Finn on my own card?
It seems that since I never really come into possession of the card I can use it, but if someone has another thought I'd appreciate it.
You only gain temporary control of the figure, so no you do not get to use his Spirit Power.


Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old November 11th, 2010, 06:19 PM
tcglkn's Avatar
tcglkn tcglkn is offline
Tickles Pickles
 
Join Date: August 17, 2009
Location: USA - VA
Posts: 30,137
Images: 46
Blog Entries: 7
tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth tcglkn is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Updated with Power Rankings.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old November 27th, 2010, 05:03 AM
Temprit's Avatar
Temprit Temprit is offline
 
Join Date: July 14, 2007
Location: St. Cloud, Minnesota
Posts: 538
Temprit is surprisingly tart
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

I have a question I would like help with. If someone has Alastair and overextends him and you then take a turn with the Mindflayer, and enslave Alastair, would you be able to overextend him again? I don't see why not sense the wording for the power states "You may" Suggesting a specific player.


"Showing off is the fool's idea of glory."
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old November 27th, 2010, 05:10 AM
Looking East Looking East is offline
 
Join Date: November 5, 2009
Location: Somewhere beneath the stars
Posts: 204
Looking East knows what's in an order marker Looking East knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

That's an interesting question. I think you would be allowed to overextend him.

What I wonder is if you did this same thing with Eldigrim and it was fatal, could you place his spirit or does your opponent get to?

When exactly does your turn you are taking with the enslaved hero end?

Last edited by Looking East; November 27th, 2010 at 05:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Mind Flayer Paradox wriggz HeroScape General Discussion 82 September 26th, 2010 11:59 PM
Mindflayer Mastermind pre-release discussion thread TheSparkleInYourWater Official Units 168 August 4th, 2010 02:32 AM
Hive Mind Validon Official Rules & FAQ's 14 March 29th, 2010 08:50 PM
Red Skull's Mastermind Army! Strange Competitive Armies Discussion 0 October 29th, 2007 10:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:44 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.