Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 16th, 2008, 09:09 AM
TheMainMan's Avatar
TheMainMan TheMainMan is offline
Twenty Questioner
 
Join Date: August 12, 2006
Location: MI - Ann Arbor
Posts: 470
TheMainMan knows what's in an order marker TheMainMan knows what's in an order marker
Marrden Nagrubs/ Hivelord Question


The question is, if you have a Hivelord adjacent to a Nagrub, can you destroy the nagrub in order to take a wound off of that Hivelord, if that Hivelord has taken no wounds?
We actually ran into this. A nagrub was on a narrow path in the way of Tor-Kul-Na. The owner of the Hivelord wanted to destroy the Nagrub, but had no wounds to take off. The owner of the Hivelord thinks it should not matter if he has a wound or not, he has the option to destroy the Nagrub if he wants to. The person he was playing against said he can only destroy a Nagrub if he has a wound, and that the rest of text says if you destroy, remove 1 wound marker. It does not say you may.

Unfortunately there are not a lot of characters with similar powers to compare them to see how they work. We came up with Cyprien and Kelda, but theirs were so different that it is hard to compare. Cyprien's does say the word "may", and Kelda's does say "upto".

So, having asked the question, shown our thought process, and shown our effort, what are your thoughts?

-TMM

To be the man, you have to beat the man!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 16th, 2008, 10:02 AM
Revdyer's Avatar
Revdyer Revdyer is offline
Our Invaluable & Highly Esteemed Resident Chaplain
 
Join Date: May 9, 2006
Location: AR - Little Rock
Posts: 13,323
Images: 11
Blog Entries: 18
Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth Revdyer is a man of the cloth
Re: Marrden Nagrubs/ Hivelord Question

I see your ambiguity, with that "may move" and "may destroy" but then a simple "take 1." Nevertheless, I would be of the opinion that the Hivelord may destroy the Nagrub even if there is no wound marker to remove.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 16th, 2008, 10:11 AM
paradox22's Avatar
paradox22 paradox22 is offline
 
Join Date: August 27, 2007
Location: Kansas City metro area (Grain Valley, Blue Springs)
Posts: 547
paradox22 knows what's in an order marker paradox22 knows what's in an order marker
Re: Marrden Nagrubs/ Hivelord Question

I agree with Rev...
If my opponent wants to destroy his own figures... Im always for it!



Get your Kansas City Metro Scaping fix here: http://kcheroscapers.getphpbb.com/forum.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 16th, 2008, 10:14 AM
Soul Shackle's Avatar
Soul Shackle Soul Shackle is offline
 
Join Date: January 18, 2008
Location: NC - Fayetteville
Posts: 2,605
Images: 253
Blog Entries: 3
Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Marrden Nagrubs/ Hivelord Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revdyer View Post
I see your ambiguity, with that "may move" and "may destroy" but then a simple "take 1." Nevertheless, I would be of the opinion that the Hivelord may destroy the Nagrub even if there is no wound marker to remove.
I would disagree. I have no argument to back this up, it just seems the intent of the designers that you must use the Nagrub to remove a wound. I wouldn't be surprised if Rev, is right, though. (Does that help? )

Paging theGuru...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 16th, 2008, 10:24 AM
nyys's Avatar
nyys nyys is offline
quoting myself - insanity beckons
 
Join Date: June 21, 2007
Location: MA - South Shore
Posts: 15,222
Images: 2
nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth nyys is a man of the cloth
Re: Marrden Nagrubs/ Hivelord Question

Hmmm... well if moving 0 is still considered moving, then I would say that you can destroy a Nagrub even if you don't have a wound marker to remove.

Boston Marathon 4/15/13 3:39:41
Last Race: Naragansett Running Festival 7/21/13 - Half Marathon - 1:50:01
Next Race: KeyBank Vermont Marathon 5/25/14
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 16th, 2008, 10:32 AM
Mooseman's Avatar
Mooseman Mooseman is offline
 
Join Date: December 26, 2006
Location: FL - Tampa
Posts: 1,669
Images: 28
Mooseman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Mooseman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Mooseman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Mooseman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Mooseman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Mooseman wears ripped pants of awesomeness Mooseman wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Marrden Nagrubs/ Hivelord Question

'may destroy one adjacent Marrden Nagrub'

Seems pretty clear to me, but of course, I'm always on the wrong side of rules discussions, so maybe that means you can't
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 16th, 2008, 10:35 AM
Soul Shackle's Avatar
Soul Shackle Soul Shackle is offline
 
Join Date: January 18, 2008
Location: NC - Fayetteville
Posts: 2,605
Images: 253
Blog Entries: 3
Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Marrden Nagrubs/ Hivelord Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mooseman View Post
'may destroy one adjacent Marrden Nagrub'

Seems pretty clear to me, but of course, I'm always on the wrong side of rules discussions, so maybe that means you can't
Best rule logic ever.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 16th, 2008, 11:12 AM
Taeblewalker's Avatar
Taeblewalker Taeblewalker is offline
Will Ultimately Face the Evil Black Dragon
 
Join Date: May 9, 2006
Location: Monticello, NY
Posts: 10,718
Images: 215
Blog Entries: 2
Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death! Taeblewalker is hot lava death!
Re: Marrden Nagrubs/ Hivelord Question

The next sentence says "remove one wound marker;" not, "you may remove one wound marker."

I am on the fence - you can always move through your own Nagrub, but if an enemy small or medium figure is on the other side of it, you cannot Trample Stomp it unless that Nagrub is gone.

I suppose the Nagrub just becomes a case of over-eating?

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 16th, 2008, 11:39 AM
Nadom's Avatar
Nadom Nadom is offline
I'm Heroscape's Birthbuddy
 
Join Date: December 11, 2006
Location: USA - OR - Eugene
Posts: 1,119
Images: 2
Nadom rolls all skulls baby! Nadom rolls all skulls baby! Nadom rolls all skulls baby! Nadom rolls all skulls baby! Nadom rolls all skulls baby!
Re: Marrden Nagrubs/ Hivelord Question

There is always the option of simply Trample Stomping the offending Nagrub...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 16th, 2008, 11:44 AM
Aldin's Avatar
Aldin Aldin is offline
Site Admin & Professional SideBoarder
 
Join Date: September 22, 2006
Location: TN - Nashville
Posts: 13,547
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 4
Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: Marrden Nagrubs/ Hivelord Question

Well, now I know who Damja was playing with (this question came up in the Nagrub Book last night). I lean towards saying no. The imperative in "remove 1 wound marker" doesn't seem to allow for use by an unwounded Hivelord. Still... I could easily see it the other way.

~Aldin, who would love to see a theGuru post on it

He either fears his fate too much
or his desserts are small
That dares not put it to the touch
to gain or lose it all
~James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old June 16th, 2008, 11:47 AM
Soul Shackle's Avatar
Soul Shackle Soul Shackle is offline
 
Join Date: January 18, 2008
Location: NC - Fayetteville
Posts: 2,605
Images: 253
Blog Entries: 3
Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Marrden Nagrubs/ Hivelord Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nadom View Post
There is always the option of simply Trample Stomping the offending Nagrub...
True, though no guarantee of rolling the 8 or higher.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old June 16th, 2008, 11:59 AM
syvarris0's Avatar
syvarris0 syvarris0 is offline
 
Join Date: February 4, 2008
Location: USA-IL-Chaicago(Plainfield)
Posts: 211
syvarris0 is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: Marrden Nagrubs/ Hivelord Question

I say yes and here is my evidence:

"Before moving the chosen hivelord you may destroy one adjacent Marrden Nagrub you control."

So that means you would be able to destroy that Marrden Nagrub in the hivelords way even with full health.

Haven't posted in 7 months,found out about PS3 and more recently WOWTBC
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Book of Marrden Nagrubs scorpiusx Official Units 46 March 4th, 2019 12:50 PM
Favorite Squad Sculpt 28: Marrden Nagrubs Hex_Enduction_Hour Official Units 26 April 1st, 2011 10:38 AM
Marrden Nagrubs - Hivelord Life Bond (special power) fatrandy13 Official Units 2 March 6th, 2008 09:28 AM
Marrden Nagrubs misssing info HeroscapeLunatic Official Units 13 October 12th, 2007 09:24 PM
Marro Hivemind range 12, Nagrubs, Hivelord ? Homba Official Rules & FAQ's 4 September 3rd, 2007 05:27 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:14 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.