Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Official Rules & FAQ's Compilation and discussion of official HeroScape Rules and Frequently Asked Questions. **Special attacks never receive any bonuses.**


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 29th, 2008, 11:01 AM
Soul Shackle's Avatar
Soul Shackle Soul Shackle is offline
 
Join Date: January 18, 2008
Location: NC - Fayetteville
Posts: 2,605
Images: 253
Blog Entries: 3
Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness
NOTE: Before Posting Your Question...

Before posting a question that you may have about HeroScape, here are a few suggestions I urge you to try:
  • First, check your rulebook. The answer may very well be inside. If you'd like to view the rulebooks online, netherspirit has provided links to the .pdf versions:
Rulebooks PDF thread
  • Second, see if your question is answered below:
Why are their different stats on the 2 sides of the card?
One side (the one with the larger image) is for the Basic Game. The other side (the one with the special power text) is for the Master Game. First, decide which rules you want to use for your game (again, we suggest playing a few games with the basic rules to get your feet wet), and then have all players use the correct side of their cards for that rule set.

Why is there an X order marker? Do I have to use it?
We suggest using the X order marker. It is used to confuse your opponent because they can’t see which markers have numbers, and which marker doesn’t. That way, your opponent doesn’t always know where your next move is coming from!

What is the difference between a ROUND, and a TURN?
A round starts when all players roll for initiative. It ends when all players have played all 3 of their order markers (if they can). All players then re-roll initiative and the next round begins! Don’t forget to move the Round Marker if you are using one of our pre-built scenarios. In a round, each player has multiple turns. See the next question for more detail on turn progression in a round.

How do turns work within a round? Once the player that wins initiative takes their 1st turn, do they take their 2nd turn immediately, or does play continue to the left?
When you roll for initiative, you are deciding who will get to use their numbered order markers before their opponents during that round. For example- players Chris, Bryan, and Megan are playing.
Chris rolls a 17 and wins initiative.
Chris takes his 1st turn (move and attack with the figure(s) on the Army Card that his first order marker is on).
Play then continues to the left.
Bryan then takes his 1st turn.
Megan then takes her 1st turn.
Chris takes his 2nd turn.
Bryan takes his 2nd turn.
Megan takes her 2nd turn.
Chris takes his 3rd turn.
Bryan takes his 3rd turn.
Megan takes her 3rd turn.
By winning initiative, Chris made sure that he could go before his opponents with each of his 3 order markers. Players then roll for initiative again, and a new Round begins!

When taking a turn with a Squad figure, how does moving & attacking work?
First, reveal the order marker on the Squad Army Card, and then move with any or all figures shown on the chosen Army Card. After you move with any figures on the Army Card that you want, you can attack with any or all figures on the chosen Army Card. So, you have to move all of the figures first (if you even want to move them) then attack with the figures. You cannot move and attack with one, then move and attack with another, then move and attack with a third.

If a figure falls and rolls for falling damage, does that stop its movement?
No, not unless the fall destroyed it. If a figure falls (moves down to a level equal to or more than the figure’s height) in the middle of it’s movement, roll for falling damage per the instructions. If the damage is either not inflicted, or it doesn’t destroy the figure, it can continue its movement.

Does a double spaced figure have to stop in the water?
The figure only has to stop (per water rules) if both ends are standing on a water space. A double spaced figure can move across a 1 hex water river without stopping.

What is the difference between ENGAGED and ADJACENT?
2 figures are adjacent if they are either:
A: Standing on same level spaces that are right next to each other without anything like a ruin in between (if the figures are both taller than the ruin, they are still adjacent., or
B: On different level spaces next to each other, and the higher figure’s base is on a level less than the height of the lower figure.
In either of those instances, the figures are adjacent.
2 different opponent’s figures are adjacent to each other (per the rules above, and the images below) they are considered engaged.

If I am engaged to an opponent’s figure, can I move around it while still staying engaged?
Yes. As long as you don’t move away from the figure you can run circles around it in order to gain height advantage, engage other figures, etc.

Is there a vertical component to Range? If my figure has a range of 6, can it shoot something that is 5 spaces away and 10 levels up?
There are no vertical rules in regards to Range. Range only refers to the horizontal distance (counted by the hex spaces on the board. A figure can be one level above yours, or 100 levels above yours; as long as he is within horizontal Range and you have Line of Sight to any part of its hit zone, you can target it for an attack.

If something is partially blocking a figure that I’m targeting for an attack (ruin, another figure, tree), can I still attack it?
Yes, as long as you can look behind the target point of your figure and see ANY PART of the targeted figure’s hit zone, you can target it for an attack. You can target a figure even if you can only see a small portion of the figure’s hit zone; you do not have to be able to see a majority of the hit zone.

Can a defender have height advantage when rolling defense dice?
Yes. Height advantage refers to both attacking and defending. If either figure’s base is on a level higher than the other figure’s base, that figure has height advantage and can roll one more die (attack or defense) for that attack.

What makes an attack “Special” in regards to a Special Attack v.s. a Normal Attack?
Each figure has Special Powers listed on their card. Just because they are using a Special Power doesn’t make the attack a Special Attack. The Special Power has to have the actual words “Special Attack” in the name in order for it to be a Special Attack. For example: Mimring’s Fire Line Special Attack is a Special Attack, while Agent Carr’s Sword of Reckoning is only a Special Power that modifies his normal attack.
  • Third, if your question relates to a certain special power or Special Attack, READ the power on the card CAREFULLY. You'd be amazed how often this will solve your problem. You don't have to worry about how Cyber Claw affects the Wolves of Badru's Pounce if you read carefully and see that you must be unengaged to use Pounce in the first place.
(FAQ used from Hasbro's official website, HeroScape.com)
  • Fourth, see if your question is answered in the Advanced FAQ:
Official HeroScape Advanced FAQ

(Advanced FAQ used from Hasbro's official website, HeroScape.com)
  • Fifth, if your question relates to a specific unit, try scanning the unit's Book:
The BOOKS of HeroScape Index by Revdyer
  • Finally, use the Forum's SEARCH feature. Change the dropdown bar underneath the search entry box to "Search Titles Only". Type in words relating to the question you have (for example, if you want to know if a figure defending against a Double Attack may roll defense dice against each attack, type the words double attack). If you're getting over 100 results, try enclosing your phrase in quotation marks. If this does not help, try changing the dropdown box back to "Search Entire Posts" and repeat the process.
ONLY AFTER you've extended all these options, and still have no answer to your question, you should start a new thread. Here are your options:

If your question is about HeroScape gameplay, post your question by clicking here.
If your question is about an official unit, post your question by clicking here; or better yet, post it in the unit's Book (Index link above).
If your question is about a competitive army, post your question by clicking here.
If your question is about a map/scenario or map-building, post your question by clicking here.
If your question is about this website, post your question by clicking here.

If your question even vaguely resembles, If sgt drake can grapple over water, what the HELL DOES HE GRAPPLE ONTO?? A CLOUD?!?!? A BIRD?!?!?, (this was an actual question with its own thread), please reconsider posting. HeroScape is not completely logical. Get over it - it's a game.

We all appreciate your efforts to resolve your issue on your own and are happy to help with your question as long as you've tried your best to figure it out yourself.

Last edited by Soul Shackle; July 9th, 2008 at 01:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 29th, 2008, 11:04 AM
Onacara Onacara is offline
has been BANNED
 
Join Date: January 1, 2007
Location: Pony Street
Posts: 16,992
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 27
Onacara is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: Note: Before Posting Your Question...

You forgot the most important thing SS.....



READ THIS POST!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 29th, 2008, 11:07 AM
Soul Shackle's Avatar
Soul Shackle Soul Shackle is offline
 
Join Date: January 18, 2008
Location: NC - Fayetteville
Posts: 2,605
Images: 253
Blog Entries: 3
Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Note: Before Posting Your Question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Onacara View Post
You forgot the most important thing SS.....

READ THIS POST!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 29th, 2008, 03:52 PM
oni's Avatar
oni oni is offline
 
Join Date: August 23, 2006
Location: WA - Seattle
Posts: 544
oni is surprisingly tart
Re: Note: Before Posting Your Question...

Get the Admin to sticky and lock this thread.

Feed the newbs! Link to a common HS topic in your signature.
Storage ideas
What Should I get next?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 29th, 2008, 05:32 PM
Soul Shackle's Avatar
Soul Shackle Soul Shackle is offline
 
Join Date: January 18, 2008
Location: NC - Fayetteville
Posts: 2,605
Images: 253
Blog Entries: 3
Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: Note: Before Posting Your Question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by oni View Post
Get the Admin to sticky and lock this thread.
I'd feel funny asking myself, but feel free to ask an admin... for the good of the site.

EDIT: I DID, however, leave my sig off purposefully - just in case...

Last edited by Soul Shackle; June 29th, 2008 at 05:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 29th, 2008, 05:47 PM
Onacara Onacara is offline
has been BANNED
 
Join Date: January 1, 2007
Location: Pony Street
Posts: 16,992
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 27
Onacara is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: Note: Before Posting Your Question...

Stickying it wont work cause most people don't read them...maybe if we can find a way to staple it to their foreheads as they enter.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 29th, 2008, 06:29 PM
Soul Shackle's Avatar
Soul Shackle Soul Shackle is offline
 
Join Date: January 18, 2008
Location: NC - Fayetteville
Posts: 2,605
Images: 253
Blog Entries: 3
Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: NOTE: Before Posting Your Question...

I capitalized "NOTE"... will that help?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 29th, 2008, 09:48 PM
Onacara Onacara is offline
has been BANNED
 
Join Date: January 1, 2007
Location: Pony Street
Posts: 16,992
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 27
Onacara is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: NOTE: Before Posting Your Question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soul Shackle View Post
I capitalized "NOTE"... will that help?
It should...but just in case we have to go with plan B...I am ready.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 29th, 2008, 10:59 PM
DragonSlayer2's Avatar
DragonSlayer2 DragonSlayer2 is offline
Has Roman Archers with a Combined Attack of 18. Seriously.
 
Join Date: May 29, 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,397
DragonSlayer2 knows what's in an order marker DragonSlayer2 knows what's in an order marker DragonSlayer2 knows what's in an order marker
Re: NOTE: Before Posting Your Question...

I would recommend sending it to them with the first e-mail they receive after joining the site.

In war, indeed, there is no substitute for victory. ~General MacArthur

Great Traders: Nyys, generalgina, Porkins, Grand Moff Venom, Bogusoid, MikeLizzio, FEDEX WORKER
MY TRADE LIST
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 30th, 2008, 12:14 AM
Elf_Archer's Avatar
Elf_Archer Elf_Archer is offline
 
Join Date: August 23, 2007
Posts: 1,661
Elf_Archer rolls all skulls baby! Elf_Archer rolls all skulls baby! Elf_Archer rolls all skulls baby! Elf_Archer rolls all skulls baby!
Re: NOTE: Before Posting Your Question...

That's a great idea. We could make a little PDF guide of helpful tidbits of information like this, the Cartography with Oogie from Heroscape CodeX, a link to the Virtual Scape site, and some other stuff like how to play CoN.

Elf_Archer is the Sacred Band...
in the GARNET CAVE...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old July 5th, 2008, 11:46 AM
Soul Shackle's Avatar
Soul Shackle Soul Shackle is offline
 
Join Date: January 18, 2008
Location: NC - Fayetteville
Posts: 2,605
Images: 253
Blog Entries: 3
Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness Soul Shackle wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: NOTE: Before Posting Your Question...

Updated a few things.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Rules & FAQ's
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Having a Note Pad at your side during a match? Eckels HeroScape General Discussion 39 April 14th, 2008 09:34 AM
Death Note HS Customs Kezi Custom Units & Army Cards 2 November 15th, 2007 07:19 PM
Death note {Possible spoilers} Please read! dragonfire Other Media 3 September 23rd, 2006 11:10 PM
A Note From Grungebob truth Scapers Online 14 May 11th, 2006 12:15 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:38 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.