View Single Post
  #1  
Old September 1st, 2011, 03:00 PM
Filthy the Clown's Avatar
Filthy the Clown Filthy the Clown is offline
Online HS Season 1 Champion & 'scape's foremost 'scapegoat
 
Join Date: January 11, 2010
Location: Country - FL - Pensacola
Posts: 2,521
Images: 270
Blog Entries: 12
Filthy the Clown is a penguin with a machine gun Filthy the Clown is a penguin with a machine gun Filthy the Clown is a penguin with a machine gun Filthy the Clown is a penguin with a machine gun Filthy the Clown is a penguin with a machine gun Filthy the Clown is a penguin with a machine gun Filthy the Clown is a penguin with a machine gun Filthy the Clown is a penguin with a machine gun Filthy the Clown is a penguin with a machine gun Filthy the Clown is a penguin with a machine gun Filthy the Clown is a penguin with a machine gun
The Book of Capt. John Varan

The Book of Capt. John Varan


C3V Wave 1 – "Thormun's Reprieve"


PURPLE HEART
When a Human you control who follows Jandar and is adjacent to Capt. John Varan receives one or more wounds from an attacking figure who is not adjacent, you may instead place all of those wound markers on this Army Card.

BATTLE VALOR SPECIAL ATTACK
Range 5. Attack 2.
Instead of moving and attacking normally, Capt. John Varan may use Battle Valor Special Attack. When using Battle Valor Special Attack, Capt. John Varan may move up to 3 spaces before attacking. When moving and attacking with Battle Valor Special Attack, Capt. John Varan may move and attack one additional time for each wound marker on this Army Card.



There are two figures that can be used for this unit:
  1. A Heroclix figure from the Cosmic Justice set. Its model number and name is (019, 020, 021/Sgt. Rock).
  2. A Heroclix figure from the Cosmic Justice set. Its model number and name is (207/Gen. Frank Rock).

The PDF for this card can be downloaded here:Character Bio:
Spoiler Alert!
________________________________________________________________

-Rulings and Clarifications-

Purple Heart:
Q: Which figures must be "not adjacent" for Capt. Varan to be able to use Purple Heart?
A: The opponent's attacking figure must be "not adjacent" to the defending figure you control. Capt. Varan may use Purple Heart to protect a figure from a non-adjacent *ranged* attack, but not an adjacent attack.

Q: If an unwounded Capt. Varan is adjacent to a Jandar squad member or hero with one life left, and a ranged opponent attacks that figure and rolls two more skulls than shields by the defending one-life figure, and Capt. Varan uses Purple Heart, does he get one or two wounds?
A: Capt. Varan takes 2 wounds. The adjacent figure never receives any wounds. "All" the wound markers go to Varan, like the card says.

Q: Are the wounds Capt. John Varan receives from Purple Heart inflicted by the original attacker? For example: if a Protector of Ullar attacked someone and Varan Purple Hearted the wounds, would the other Protectors get the Combined Arbalest bonus dice if they attacked Varan?
A: No. The wounds inflicted by the normal attack are ignored. The wounds inflicted on Capt. John Varan are inflicted due to the special power Purple Heart and are not considered to be inflicted by the attacking figure.

Battle Valor Special Attack:
Q: If Capt. John Varan takes a wound from an Engagement Strike or falling damage while moving and attacking with Battle Valor Special Attack, do those wounds count when determining whether Capt. John Varan may move and attack again with Battle Valor Special Attack?
A: Yes. Check whether Capt. John Varan has more wounds on his card than the number of times he has moved and attacked with Battle Valor Special Attack this turn after completing each move and attack sequence with Battle Valor Special Attack. If he has more wounds, you may move and attack with Battle Valor Special Attack again.

Q: If Capt. John Varan has wound markers on his card, but steps on a glyph of Kelda while moving and attacking with Battle Valor Special Attack, do those wounds count when determining whether Capt. John Varan may move and attack again with Battle Valor Special Attack?
A: No. Capt. John Varan has no wounds on his card, so he cannot move and attack again with Battle Valor Special Attack.

_________________________________________________________________

-Combinations and Synergies-

Synergy Benefits Offered


PURPLE HEART : Jandar HumansSynergy Benefits Received
  • MARCUS DECIMUS GALLUS : Soldier Leadership
    As a soldier, Capt. John Varan may benefit from Marcus Decimus Gallus’ SOLDIER LEADERSHIP movement bonus
  • MARCUS DECIMUS GALLUS: Soldier Attack Enhancement
    As a soldier, Capt. John Varan may benefit from Marcus Decimus Gallus’ SOLDIER ATTACK ENHANCEMENT
  • 8TH INFANTRY PATHFINDER : Marching Orders
    As a Unique Soldier Hero that follows Jandar, 8th Infantry Pathfinder's MARCHING ORDERS ability is triggered by Order Markers revealed on Capt. John Varan's Army Card.
  • EBON ARMOR : Animated Materiel & Eternal War
    As a Unique Human, a destroyed Ebon Armor you control may be placed on Capt. John Varan's Army Card to replace Capt. John Varan upon his own destruction.
_________________________________________________________________

-Strategy, Tactics and Tips-
- TBA
_________________________________________________________________

-Heroscapers Community Contributions-


Power Ranking and Master Index
Quote:
Buying a few extra wounds for the Airborne Elite can make all the difference. Not bad with the 4th Mass, either. B+
Unit Strategy Review
- TBA


Last edited by superfrog; August 29th, 2018 at 05:21 PM. Reason: Updated Combinations and Synergies section.
Reply With Quote