Heroscapers

Heroscapers (https://www.heroscapers.com/community/index.php)
-   Software (https://www.heroscapers.com/community/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   Virtual Valhalla- Play Heroscape Online (https://www.heroscapers.com/community/showthread.php?t=32406)

nicktheant September 14th, 2010 10:55 PM

Virtual Valhalla- Play Heroscape Online
 
After being annoyed about not being able to play Heroscape Often, I looked into online play. Virtualscape's dedicated server isn't up anymore, plus it was fairly buggy. I've known about Virtual Valhalla for a while, but had never tried it.

This thread talks about installing and using Virtual Valhalla.

Ive messed around with this before with a buddy but I played my first game tonight. It works perfectly to my knowledge and I would definitely recommend trying it.

Things worth mentioning about it:

It is in 2d, which isn't bad, it allows for easier gameplay.

It is a module which runs in the program Vassal.

It has ROTV and Wave 1 preloaded, but you can add and save figures by typing in the stats and adding a picture.

There are preloaded maps and there is a ability to create your own maps inside the game.

If you are going to play with a friend I recommend using a audio chat service or a phone call to make things quicker/smoother as using the in game chat is good but could slow things down somewhat. If you are not then the regular chat will work fine.

There is a main room inside Virtual Valhalla used for chat(you cant play games in it), you can set up additional rooms in order to play a game with someone.

I would recommend keeping the cards with you or using the Heroscape Battleplan for references to the cards because it does not have the special abilities loaded into the game nor the points.

It has order markers built in as expected. Along with dice rollers.

Basically it runs the game like a normal game board would, you will need to know the rules of Heroscape, you will be determining what dice are rolled (Height advantages and Specials), how far you move, range, ect.

I'll post some pictures of me playing possibly tomorrow.

I do not own Vassal, Virtual Valhalla, Heroscape Battle Plan or anything else listed. This just to help/encourage others to play online.

nicktheant September 14th, 2010 10:57 PM

Re: Virtual Valhalla- Play Heroscape Online
 
How to use order markers.

TurtleKing99 September 15th, 2010 01:18 AM

Re: Virtual Valhalla- Play Heroscape Online
 
Okay, I got It up and working, and almost played a game with Scapemaster.

Works pretty well, hopefully I can play a real game tomorrow

http://i856.photobucket.com/albums/a...g?t=1284524373

nicktheant September 15th, 2010 08:29 AM

Re: Virtual Valhalla- Play Heroscape Online
 
Great! I'm glad someone's been trying it out.:)

TurtleKing99 September 15th, 2010 05:56 PM

Re: Virtual Valhalla- Play Heroscape Online
 
I'm a little confused on order markers, How do they work here?

And you both have to have the same map selected, right?

And how do you save maps and open them?

nicktheant September 15th, 2010 07:07 PM

Re: Virtual Valhalla- Play Heroscape Online
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by TurtleKing99 (Post 1205597)
I'm a little confused on order markers, How do they work here?

And you both have to have the same map selected, right?

And how do you save maps and open them?

1. I can't go into detail right now, but around 8 tonight I can help you out.

2. Yes you need to load the same map.

3. Same as number 1, but I do believe the creator had said that was possible to do. (I'm still figuring some things still :lol:)

nicktheant September 15th, 2010 10:56 PM

Re: Virtual Valhalla- Play Heroscape Online
 
OK, I edited the 2nd post with a video I made on how to use order markers. Sorry the quality isn't the best.

TurtleKing99 September 16th, 2010 01:15 AM

Re: Virtual Valhalla- Play Heroscape Online
 
Now I'm having problems with the chat- just randomly stops working, and then doesn't let me synch.

And I'm also not getting Wave 1.

nicktheant September 16th, 2010 08:31 AM

Re: Virtual Valhalla- Play Heroscape Online
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by TurtleKing99 (Post 1206187)
Now I'm having problems with the chat- just randomly stops working, and then doesn't let me synch.

And I'm also not getting Wave 1.

Hm, Tryy checking if you have the latest version of vassal.

As for wave 1:
Download wave 1 from this list.
Since you're on a mac I can really be specific as I don't know much. But you need to drag the wave 1 file in to "virtual Valhalla_ext" folder. You can do that on a mac right?:lol:

pixlepix September 25th, 2010 09:08 PM

Re: Virtual Valhalla- Play Heroscape Online
 
if any1 i up for a game, message me

Solstar May 30th, 2016 06:32 AM

Re: Virtual Valhalla- Play Heroscape Online
 
sorry to bring out this old thread,but can someone please tell me how to edit the units?or rather how to add images to custom units?on the "properties" tab there are twi filed,"image" and "card image",but the readme doesn't bother to explain if you need a jpg\png from your pc with full path or from the internet.i tried both ways and neither works,the custom unit is still without an image,any help?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.