Heroscapers

Heroscapers (https://www.heroscapers.com/community/index.php)
-   C3G Library (https://www.heroscapers.com/community/forumdisplay.php?f=167)
-   -   The Book of Demogorgon Stalker (https://www.heroscapers.com/community/showthread.php?t=58624)

IAmBatman February 10th, 2021 05:33 PM

Re: The Book of Demogorgon - Breathing
 
Don’t love being able to jump in an enemy start zone turn one.

Second power is certainly slimmer. Destroying them doesn’t thematically feel like dragging them off, IMO, but the concept is workable. Maybe even saying remove them from the game would sell that?

Pretty sure the last power stacks as written.

LordVenoc February 10th, 2021 06:26 PM

Re: The Book of Demogorgon - Breathing
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by IAmBatman (Post 2447612)
Donít love being able to jump in an enemy start zone turn one.

Changing it in the way he did though really hurts it as far as start zone bombers go. It can't really pull anyone out of it, which was the main concern.

IAmBatman February 10th, 2021 06:34 PM

Re: The Book of Demogorgon - Breathing
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by LordVenoc (Post 2447617)
Quote:

Originally Posted by IAmBatman (Post 2447612)
Donít love being able to jump in an enemy start zone turn one.

Changing it in the way he did though really hurts it as far as start zone bombers go. It can't really pull anyone out of it, which was the main concern.

I guess not being able to move them en masse helps. You'd have to engage the fragile support piece on turn one, then there's a chance to kill your Demogorgon, then they can get a shot in on your fragile support piece, then you get another shot on them, then if they got in a good enough shot they have a chance to auto-destroy that figure.

Would a placement power like that allow them to take Atom/Chucky types along with them?

LordVenoc February 10th, 2021 07:22 PM

Re: The Book of Demogorgon - Breathing
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by IAmBatman (Post 2447618)
Quote:

Originally Posted by LordVenoc (Post 2447617)
Quote:

Originally Posted by IAmBatman (Post 2447612)
Don’t love being able to jump in an enemy start zone turn one.

Changing it in the way he did though really hurts it as far as start zone bombers go. It can't really pull anyone out of it, which was the main concern.

I guess not being able to move them en masse helps. You'd have to engage the fragile support piece on turn one, then there's a chance to kill your Demogorgon, then they can get a shot in on your fragile support piece, then you get another shot on them, then if they got in a good enough shot they have a chance to auto-destroy that figure.

Would a placement power like that allow them to take Atom/Chucky types along with them?

I was going to say no as I thought I had read it as the move to any space only comes from the card, but yes as is they would move along.

EDIT: Even still, that's gonna take two turns to accomplish (gotta place it next to the carried folks, then move the next turn) and you aren't getting attacks either turn, so feels like a non-issue.

IAmBatman February 10th, 2021 07:24 PM

Re: The Book of Demogorgon - Breathing
 
That’d be the path to start zone bombing, then.

LordVenoc February 10th, 2021 07:28 PM

Re: The Book of Demogorgon - Breathing
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by IAmBatman (Post 2447622)
Thatíd be the path to start zone bombing, then.

I'd check my edit. They're made to start on the card, and as of now the placement thing is instead of the turn. If you're giving up two turns just to get carried folks in the Start Zone, I would hardly call that a start zone bomb.

Lord Pyre February 10th, 2021 07:34 PM

Re: The Book of Demogorgon - Breathing
 
I donít really think a single attack of 4 counts as a start zone bomb... sure annoying and could potentially do a bit of damage, and we can totally avoid if we want. But I donít think itís a meta shifting concern.

IAmBatman February 10th, 2021 07:51 PM

Re: The Book of Demogorgon - Breathing
 
More stuff to watch out for.

Lord Pyre February 10th, 2021 07:55 PM

Re: The Book of Demogorgon - Breathing
 
Like I said you donít have to use my ideas. I thought the SP was fairly lackluster and not very evocative of them in the show. That was a quick rough outline of ideas, not a card-ready draft. Easy fixes, like they can only teleport within 10 spaces, or start them on the battlefield rather than the cards. Pick one of many from the list.

IAmBatman February 10th, 2021 08:16 PM

Re: The Book of Demogorgon - Breathing
 
For sure. Will support the LD either way, but yours does feel a bit cleaner and more streamlined. Maybe just needs the tweak that you can move them to any space on any battlefield (or would it be weird to have them completely dimension hop)?

I guess if we ever just did an Upside Down battlefield, you could have its rules reference the Upside Down power and say that if a figure would go on its Army Card, it can go on any empty space on the Upside Down instead.

Lord Pyre February 10th, 2021 08:21 PM

Re: The Book of Demogorgon - Breathing
 
Thatís what I would do yeah. If thereís a leader monster Iíd either do that or just let in on the cards themselves somehow.

Splash February 12th, 2021 01:55 AM

Re: The Book of Demogorgon - Breathing
 
Sorry been workin' a lot lately, here are some late night edits.
-Agree an eventual Upside Down map/scenario can swap the "this card" with "anywhere in the Upside Down" or something like that.
Quote:

NAME = DEMOGORGON STALKER

SPECIES = DEMOGORGON
UNIQUENESS = UNCOMMON HERO
CLASS = TORMENTOR
PERSONALITY = TERRIFYING

SIZE/HEIGHT = MEDIUM 5

LIFE = 5

MOVE = 5
RANGE = 1
ATTACK = 5
DEFENSE = 3

POINTS = 120


THE UPSIDE DOWN
Start the game with the Demogorgon on this card. While on this card, the Demogorgon is considered to be within Clear Sight of all figures you control. Whenever you would take a turn with the Demogorgon, you may instead place it on this card, or place it on any space on the battlefield. Before placing this Demogorgon this way, roll the 20-sided die; if you roll a 1-12, it must be placed adjacent to a figure with one or more wounds that is not an Undead, Android, Construct, or destructible object if possible.

DRAGGED INTO THE NETHER
Before moving with The Upside Down, you may choose an adjacent opponent’s small or medium figure, as long as it is the only figure this Demogorgon is engaged with, and place it on this card. At the end of each round, that opponent rolls the 20-sided die. If they roll a 1-15, that figure receives 1 wound. If they roll a 16-20, they may place that figure in their Starting Zone. There cannot be more than one enemy figure on this card at any given time.

TERRIFYING PRESENCE
The Demogorgon never takes leaving engagement attacks. Figures without the Fearless personality engaged with one or more figures with this special power who attack with a normal or special attack must reroll up to one die that shows a skull.
-The roll numbers can change.
-Outright killing folks is what they do in regular world, when they kidnap people in the Upside Down it's for slug babies.
-There's a lot of d20 rolling, but it is named after a D&D monster so...


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.