Heroscapers

Heroscapers (https://www.heroscapers.com/community/index.php)
-   Official Rules & FAQ's (https://www.heroscapers.com/community/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Sonlen Q: Engaged Dragon Attack Capabilities (https://www.heroscapers.com/community/showthread.php?t=24290)

T Rex April 6th, 2009 03:29 PM

Sonlen Q: Engaged Dragon Attack Capabilities
 
When Sonlen is engaged, can he dragon swoop someone that he is not engaged to. This would also apply to other characters with multiple abilities, Drund's cripling gaze, Morsbane's power of negation, and perhaps others too. My friend insists that all abilities must be focused on only the engaged figure.

ABOMINATION April 6th, 2009 03:35 PM

Re: sonlen
 
Your friend is wrong, if it is a special attack, then it can only be directed against the engaged figure. But if it is a special power, such as Acid Breath, Crippling gaze, or such, then you may attack anyone within the powers reach.

killercactus April 6th, 2009 03:35 PM

Re: sonlen
 
Yes, he can. Only Attacks are limited to figures that are engaged. Special Powers, like Sonlen's Dragon Swoop, are not limited to figures that he is engaged with.

The same goes for Braxas' Poisonous Acid Breath, Morsbane's Rod of Negation, and Deadeye Dan's Sharpshooter, amongst others.

EDIT: ABOMINATION! :ninja:

Dysole April 6th, 2009 03:36 PM

Re: sonlen
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by T Rex (Post 790263)
When Sonlen is engaged, can he dragon swoop someone that he is not engaged to. This would also apply to other characters with multiple abilities, Drund's cripling gaze, Morsbane's power of negation, and perhaps others too. My friend insists that all abilities must be focused on only the engaged figure.

He can dragon swoop whomever is in range. If it's a special ability (like Dragon Swoop, Negation, or Crippling Gaze), it can be used on figures that you aren't engaged to. If it's a special attack, you have to use it on the figure you're engaged to.

ABOMINATION April 6th, 2009 03:39 PM

Re: sonlen
 
I am truly that which you call me. :p I finally figured a way how to not get ninja'd. You post a brief answer, then go and edit it to a more detailed explanation.

T Rex April 6th, 2009 03:58 PM

Re: sonlen
 
Thanks for all those prompt responses, especially since you agreed with my position. I immediately called my misguided friend and bombarded him with the information!:thumbsup:

#1MustangScaper April 23rd, 2009 05:43 PM

Re: Sonlen Q: Engaged Dragon Attack Capabilities
 
Just to throw a monkey wrench into this discussion:

Correct me if I am wrong,
A Double Attack Special power must be directed at the engaged figure(s) as long as it is still engaged and still alive.

Since I am typing I need a sanity check:
Comman Squad Question: must I attack with the figures that moved, or can I move 4 figures and then attack with 4 seperate figures?

My understanding is that I must attack with the figures I moved this turn. Please chime in ( i need some expert input so feel comfortable in this rule because I just recently purchased 3 multiple squads for every common army wave 2 thru 8.

Dysole April 23rd, 2009 05:49 PM

Re: Sonlen Q: Engaged Dragon Attack Capabilities
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by #1MustangScaper (Post 803520)
Just to throw a monkey wrench into this discussion:

Correct me if I am wrong,
A Double Attack Special power must be directed at the engaged figure(s) as long as it is still engaged and still alive.

Since I am typing I need a sanity check:
Comman Squad Question: must I attack with the figures that moved, or can I move 4 figures and then attack with 4 seperate figures?

My understanding is that I must attack with the figures I moved this turn. Please chime in ( i need some expert input so feel comfortable in this rule because I just recently purchased 3 multiple squads for every common army wave 2 thru 8.

Don't know what you mean by Double Attack Special Power, but a Special Attack has to be used on engaged figures, but a Special Power does not.

The common squad figures you moved you must attack with.

MI_Tiger April 23rd, 2009 06:00 PM

Re: Sonlen Q: Engaged Dragon Attack Capabilities
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by #1MustangScaper (Post 803520)
Just to throw a monkey wrench into this discussion:

Correct me if I am wrong,
A Double Attack Special power must be directed at the engaged figure(s) as long as it is still engaged and still alive.

Double Attack doesn't change the nature of the attack, it just lets you do it twice. The second attack has to follow all normal attack rules, including engagement requirements. So, yes, Syvarris' second attack (for example) must be directed at an engaged figure, if any.


Quote:

Originally Posted by #1MustangScaper (Post 803520)
Since I am typing I need a sanity check:
Comman Squad Question: must I attack with the figures that moved, or can I move 4 figures and then attack with 4 seperate figures?

My understanding is that I must attack with the figures I moved this turn. Please chime in ( i need some expert input so feel comfortable in this rule because I just recently purchased 3 multiple squads for every common army wave 2 thru 8.

Your understanding is correct. Unless a special power says otherwise (like the Zombies), you must attack with the figures you moved that turn.

#1MustangScaper April 23rd, 2009 06:01 PM

Re: Sonlen Q: Engaged Dragon Attack Capabilities
 
Double Attack Special Power: Krug & Syvarris has this. It is a special power. Are you saying Syvarris can attack an engaged figure and then on his second attack, target a non-enganged figure?

Edit: Never mind.

Dysole April 23rd, 2009 06:03 PM

Re: Sonlen Q: Engaged Dragon Attack Capabilities
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by #1MustangScaper (Post 803544)
Double Attack Special Power: Krug & Syvarris has this. It is a special power. Are you saying Krug can attack an engaged figure and then on his second attack, target a non-enganged figure?

Okay now that I know what you're talking about, no. What MI_Tiger said is correct.

gorthan313 April 23rd, 2009 06:03 PM

Re: Sonlen Q: Engaged Dragon Attack Capabilities
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by #1MustangScaper (Post 803544)
Double Attack Special Power: Krug & Syvarris has this. It is a special power. Are you saying Krug can attack an engaged figure and then on his second attack, target a non-enganged figure?


If the second figure is not engaged to Krug, then the big boy can't attack that figure. He only has range 1, you realize.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.