Heroscapers

Heroscapers (https://www.heroscapers.com/community/index.php)
-   C3G Library (https://www.heroscapers.com/community/forumdisplay.php?f=167)
-   -   The Book of C3G Destructible Object Rules (https://www.heroscapers.com/community/showthread.php?t=55039)

MrNobody November 15th, 2019 11:04 AM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - Final Editing
 
Color me not too worried about Quentin, at least less than Anderson. He’s okay, but the fact that he disrupts most Mutant synergy has always held him back from being super viable imo. Being able to hide in a car is an advantage for him, seeing as he’s kind of fragile, but he’s still just a 130 point figure.

My main goal is just to not have full cover vehicles all have to be designed around one cheap tactic from a single figure. I think there’s always going to be a tactic that’s cheap, but as long as it isn’t majorly influencing design decisions the way Anderson seemed to be doing I’m happy.

IAmBatman November 15th, 2019 11:07 AM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - Final Editing
 
Yeah, I think a big thing with Quentin is that he can't move while using his auto wounding, so the kiting potential is much less. Anderson really wasn't that tough with the Batmobile, but she was clearly good, so I'm OK with making this change. I'm hoping @Ronin @johnny139 or @Karat can take a look at Yodaking's suggested wording, though. And I'd also like to hear from the Heroes at large on this before making the change since this is technically in Final Editing. :-)

johnny139 November 15th, 2019 06:45 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - Final Editing
 
I don't like the phrase "No special power on an Army Card may circumvent this rule." because then we sort of reach the point where, like, what rules are the final authority? Card powers in general are "higher rank" than the rulebook - the rules say you can only attack once per turn, Double Attack says you can, Double Attack wins.

I'd instead go with something like, "even if a special power or special attack specifies does not require line of sight." Something more specific, so that powers would trump rules if done so directly.

Yodaking November 15th, 2019 07:05 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - Final Editing
 
I tried basing it on Blob's "I overrule all other powers in the game concerning movement powers" language. Wordsmiths can change it however they feel.

IAmBatman November 15th, 2019 07:14 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - Final Editing
 
Not sure we even need clarification like that if we don’t mention clear sight and just say they can’t attack figures outside the vehicle.

Yodaking November 15th, 2019 07:29 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - Final Editing
 
Whatever people feel is or isn't needed is fine with me, as long as we all agree on the intent.

IAmBatman November 15th, 2019 08:15 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - Final Editing
 
Does just this wording look good to folks, then, and are the Heroes down with this change?

Quote:

Figures occupying Vehicles with Full Cover are never in clear sight of figures outside of that Vehicle, never have clear sight on figures outside of that Vehicle, and may never attack or be attacked by a figure outside of that Vehicle.

johnny139 November 15th, 2019 08:29 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - Final Editing
 
Pretty sure that works. :up:

IAmBatman November 15th, 2019 08:32 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - Final Editing
 
OK. I'll give folks overnight to chime in if they have concerns and then, if they don't, I'll update the SP.

Good idea here, Yodaking. Thanks!

Ronin November 15th, 2019 09:05 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - Final Editing
 
Looks good to me.

IAmBatman November 16th, 2019 06:16 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - Final Editing
 
SP updated! The fifteen month saga continues ....

Speaking of, @japes where is this at in terms of Art? :-D

Lazy Orang November 16th, 2019 06:48 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - Final Editing
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Yodaking (Post 2333214)
I tried basing it on Blob's "I overrule all other powers in the game concerning movement powers" language. Wordsmiths can change it however they feel.

I'm with johnny - I've never liked that language on Cyberclaw powers. It makes things like Juggernaut - a power designed specifically to circumnavigate such powers - trickier than they should be. I'd like to leave room for a card that we want to say can shoot out of a vehicle - doesn't say we have to do it, but it leaves design space open, and it's not like it'll necessarily be broken if it's baked into the unit from its own design.

IAmBatman November 16th, 2019 06:49 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - Final Editing
 
We've already moved past that wording, so no worries. :-)

japes November 16th, 2019 09:50 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - Final Editing
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by IAmBatman (Post 2333439)
SP updated! The fifteen month saga continues ....

Speaking of, @japes where is this at in terms of Art? :-D

Every time I start back you guys are discussing something new so I slow play it.

IAmBatman November 16th, 2019 09:53 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - Final Editing
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by japes (Post 2333489)
Quote:

Originally Posted by IAmBatman (Post 2333439)
SP updated! The fifteen month saga continues ....

Speaking of, @japes where is this at in terms of Art? :-D

Every time I start back you guys are discussing something new so I slow play it.

I think/hope/believe we are done. :-)

japes November 16th, 2019 09:55 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - Final Editing
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by IAmBatman (Post 2333493)
Quote:

Originally Posted by japes (Post 2333489)
Quote:

Originally Posted by IAmBatman (Post 2333439)
SP updated! The fifteen month saga continues ....

Speaking of, @japes where is this at in terms of Art? :-D

Every time I start back you guys are discussing something new so I slow play it.

I think/hope/believe we are done. :-)

The week before thanksgiving Ill have a lot of home alone time so at worst Ill get caught up then.

IAmBatman November 16th, 2019 10:01 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - Final Editing
 
Thanks! I'm rooting for it! :-D :nether:

japes November 24th, 2019 02:00 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - Final Editing
 
Updated the cover shot in the FP as well as uploaded the newly revised and updated PDF. I picked up the edits in the SP as well as MrNobody and A3n comments

L0B5T3R November 24th, 2019 02:06 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - Final Editing
 
The PDF’s bullet listing for what the rules cover has a typo. It says Existing Vehicles instead of Exiting.

japes November 24th, 2019 02:24 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - Final Editing
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by L0B5T3R (Post 2335349)
The PDFs bullet listing for what the rules cover has a typo. It says Existing Vehicles instead of Exiting.

impossible. Someone would have caught that earlier. I think someone needs glasses.

J/K

Fixed and updated. Thanks.

IAmBatman November 24th, 2019 03:33 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - Final Editing
 
Sweet! +rep coming your way, sir! :-)

Let's get this one in the garage! I propose we move to On Deck.
@japes -
@Arkham -
@Karat -
@johnny139 -
@Soundwarp SG-1 -
@Lord Pyre -

tcglkn November 24th, 2019 04:36 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
Looks great. Glad we were able to easily tweak these to allow all DOs to be draftable if we want.

IAmBatman November 24th, 2019 04:39 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
For sure! I'm hoping you'll run an update for the Mole Machine eventually. :-)

Speaking of, once we get this wrapped, I will start a thread for the draftable version of the Sports Car - unless folks think we should just update the current thread when we release these rules?

tcglkn November 24th, 2019 04:51 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
No reason to start a new thread, just update the old one in my opinion. You can still use the same card for the VDO in scenarios, so I see no reason to have 2 versions of the card.

Not really motivated to make the Mole Machine draftable right now. Several things I would want to do before that and my pace will probably slow down a bit around here.

johnny139 November 24th, 2019 05:44 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
Book looks great! I'll give it a final readthrough soon and vote her through. :up:

Soundwarp SG-1 November 25th, 2019 12:36 AM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
Seems fine to me, but I'm not a proofreader so I'm not your huckleberry for catching typos and such.

yea

Ronin November 25th, 2019 08:57 AM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
Quick-and-dirty notes (low laptop battery, so not double-checking myself on anything or doing a lot of formatting):

-Drafting
--Start Zone? (should be caps, I think)
--Extraneous period in third bullet point (Army. Card.)

-Entering
--Army Card (card should be capitalized) right at the start of the section
--Probably shouldn't capitalize the list of sizes
--I'd spell out the numbers in "but only has 1 figure occupying it, a 2nd figure can enter that car"
--As far as "specific entrances/exits marked on the figure itself", just to be super duper clear... does having a door on the sculpt count? Picture suggests no. So what would that look like?

-Occupying
--Allowing to move to the driver's space at the cost of one space of movement.... this is the vehicle's movement, presumably? I'd rewrite this sentence either way, because switching the driver with another figure isn't quite normal movement.

-P&FC
--Hmm, how will we mark clear sight openings for a car with an open top? Not really a problem for this rulebook, just something I've been thinking about.

-Moving
--We mention that VDOs never take LEAs here, but it might be worth rewording that to mention that the reason they don't is because they're never considered engaged? I think that'd be worth emphasizing, and it provides more context if someone quickly looks the movement rules up.

-Exiting
--Engagement within VDOs is mentioned for the first time here... I think it's a logical extrapolation of what's mentioned in Occupying, but it should be specifically mentioned in Occupying for clarity. (Especially because getting enemy figures into the same vehicle will be a departure for anyone who played the old version of the VDO rules)

-Destroying
--I think "no LEAs" should be spelled out for the figures that were inside the car, as well as the ones droping off the top. (Given that they can be engaged inside the car)

Looking real sharp here, guys!

IAmBatman November 25th, 2019 11:51 AM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ronin (Post 2335500)
Quick-and-dirty notes (low laptop battery, so not double-checking myself on anything or doing a lot of formatting):

-Drafting
--Start Zone? (should be caps, I think)
--Extraneous period in third bullet point (Army. Card.)

-Entering
--Army Card (card should be capitalized) right at the start of the section
--Probably shouldn't capitalize the list of sizes
--I'd spell out the numbers in "but only has 1 figure occupying it, a 2nd figure can enter that car"
--As far as "specific entrances/exits marked on the figure itself", just to be super duper clear... does having a door on the sculpt count? Picture suggests no. So what would that look like?

-Occupying
--Allowing to move to the driver's space at the cost of one space of movement.... this is the vehicle's movement, presumably? I'd rewrite this sentence either way, because switching the driver with another figure isn't quite normal movement.

-P&FC
--Hmm, how will we mark clear sight openings for a car with an open top? Not really a problem for this rulebook, just something I've been thinking about.

-Moving
--We mention that VDOs never take LEAs here, but it might be worth rewording that to mention that the reason they don't is because they're never considered engaged? I think that'd be worth emphasizing, and it provides more context if someone quickly looks the movement rules up.

-Exiting
--Engagement within VDOs is mentioned for the first time here... I think it's a logical extrapolation of what's mentioned in Occupying, but it should be specifically mentioned in Occupying for clarity. (Especially because getting enemy figures into the same vehicle will be a departure for anyone who played the old version of the VDO rules)

-Destroying
--I think "no LEAs" should be spelled out for the figures that were inside the car, as well as the ones droping off the top. (Given that they can be engaged inside the car)

Looking real sharp here, guys!

Fixed the ones I could in the SP. The ones I put in red were already fine in the SP, so must be in the booklet specifically.

For the portions in blue:

1. I changed the text to indicate that it was marked both on the figure and on the Army Card. We'll have to figure out how exactly we want to do that when we get to VDOs that do that (The TARDIS may be the first) but that should at least give us the opening we need to do so without making the specifics a "today problem."

2. I imagine we'd have to add a third, overhead hitzone for ones that are open air. I find those mostly annoying due to the fact that, thematically, you should be able to see a figure that's in an open air vehicle, so probably not something I'll be doing much myself. But I understand that things like motorcycles and convertible sports cars are likely to happen.

3. I understand where you're coming from, but ... Occupying has this line currently: "Figures occupying a VDO are considered adjacent to all other figures occupying that VDO and to the VDO itself, but are never considered adjacent to or engaged with figures outside of the VDO."

I don't think it's unreasonable for us to ask users to know that two enemy figures adjacent to each other are considered engaged. I feel it'd be awkward to add essentially a definition of engagement to that clause.

Great notes overall! Thanks, Ronin. :-)

japes November 25th, 2019 06:05 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
Should be up to date now.

IAmBatman November 25th, 2019 07:25 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
Sweet! You rock.

A3n November 25th, 2019 08:17 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
DRAFTING DESTRUCTIBLE OBJECTS
...
{missing "in"}
A DO included in a player's army is considered like any other figure in that player's army, with a few key exceptions:

{This confuses me...}
• A DO is not considered under a player's control, unless it is a VDO occupied by a figure in your army.
{I thought that was the idea of draftable DOs. You having control of them? Why else are we making them draftable?}


EXAMPLE 1: Vehicle Card
{missing fullstop}
Like the Official Destructible Object cards, Vehicle Destructible Object (VDO) cards have a similar appearance but with a few additions.

{I don't think this is succinct enough}
Driver Space: The circle space is where the figure is placed and designates who the driver of the vehicle is.
{Maybe something like...?}
Quote:

Driver Space: This circle space is where the figure designated as the driver of the vehicle is placed. All other figures in the vehicle can be placed elsewhere on the card. If a vehicle is controlled (driveable), a figure must occupy this space.

OCCUPYING VEHICLES
...
{I think this needs an addition to say they have to move the figure to driver space}
If a figure you control is the only figure occupying a VDO or if a figure you control is occupying the designated Driver space in a VDO, you now control that VDO. If your figure is the only figure occupying the VDO, that figure must be placed on the Driver Space of the card.

{Not sure of the intent here so I think it needs a little more clarity of who can be targeted.}
Unless a special power indicates otherwise, a figure can only target one figure occupying a VDO at a time.
{If there are multiple figures occupying the vehicle how &/or who chooses which is being targeted? Is it always the driver first? Or driver last?}


MOVING VEHICLES
{You don't move Army Cards}
Instead of moving normally with an Army Card you control, if one of the figures from that card occupies the Driver space for a VDO, you may move that VDO any number of spaces up to its Move number. You may only move each VDO this way once during each player turn.
{What about...?}
Quote:

If the figure that occupies the Driver space for a VDO takes a turn, instead of moving normally you may move that VDO any number of spaces up to its Move number. You may only move each VDO this way once during each player turn.
{Do we need to mention if VDOs are subject to all terrain rules? Like water, snow, heavy snow or road? But especially water?}
When moving the VDO, follow standard movement rules. VDOs are never considered engaged and never make or receive leaving engagement attacks.


EXITING VEHICLES
...
{I feel like this is an important paragraph & should be highlighted by either being in a coloured box or at the least all bold.}
If your figure exits a VDO that you do not control and your figure does not have the Super Strength special power, before placing your figure, roll one unblockable attack die against it.


DESTROYING VEHICLES
...
After removing the destroyed VDO from the battlefield, players may, in initiative order, place all of their figures that remain on top of the VDO's sculpt on spaces previously occupied by the destroyed VDO.
{Duplicated sentence.}
Then players may, in initiative order, place each remaining figure they control that was occupying the VDO's Army Card on a space or spaces previously occupied by the destroyed VDO. If a figure that was occupying a destroyed VDO cannot be placed on a legal space or spaces, that figure is immediately destroyed.

{I think we need an example of how this all works included in the book.}

IAmBatman November 25th, 2019 09:11 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
Answers in red.

Quote:

Originally Posted by A3n (Post 2335662)
DRAFTING DESTRUCTIBLE OBJECTS
...
{missing "in"}
A DO included in a player's army is considered like any other figure in that player's army, with a few key exceptions:

Fixed in SP, thanks!

{This confuses me...}
A DO is not considered under a player's control, unless it is a VDO occupied by a figure in your army.
{I thought that was the idea of draftable DOs. You having control of them? Why else are we making them draftable?}

A unit can be in your army without being under your control. They're different terms. The point of making them draftable is to start them in your Start Zone and thus make it a lot easier for you to obtain control of them by having one of your figures occupy the driver's space and keep control of them. But if an enemy figure enters a car and starts driving that car, then the enemy is in control of that figure.
You don't control your car if you're not the one driving it. This is true both in life and in this rule set.

If a car comes along with a mind of its own, it should be a Unique Hero, not a VDO.


EXAMPLE 1: Vehicle Card
{missing fullstop}
Like the Official Destructible Object cards, Vehicle Destructible Object (VDO) cards have a similar appearance but with a few additions.

Weird. This one is correct in the SP.

{I don't think this is succinct enough}
Driver Space: The circle space is where the figure is placed and designates who the driver of the vehicle is.
{Maybe something like...?}
Quote:

Driver Space: This circle space is where the figure designated as the driver of the vehicle is placed. All other figures in the vehicle can be placed elsewhere on the card. If a vehicle is controlled (driveable), a figure must occupy this space.
I'm confused. Adding text makes it less succinct, not more. In addition, you can technically be in control (in terms of game rules) of a VDO without being in the driver space, you just can't drive it.

I do like the "All other figures in the vehicle can be placed elsewhere on the card" part, though. I'm not sure where in the booklet you drew this text from, though, as I'm not seeing a match in the SP, so I'm guessing it's the visual card example in the booklet, in which case I can't update anything on my end.


OCCUPYING VEHICLES
...
{I think this needs an addition to say they have to move the figure to driver space}
If a figure you control is the only figure occupying a VDO or if a figure you control is occupying the designated Driver space in a VDO, you now control that VDO. If your figure is the only figure occupying the VDO, that figure must be placed on the Driver Space of the card.

I see no reason to require this. Let's say I get to activate two figures on my turn. Why can't I have the first one go and be a passenger and the second get into the driver space? Thematically, why can't a figure get into a passenger space instead of the driver space when they're the first one entering the car? I'm not seeing a mechanical or thematic reason for this. What am I missing?


{Not sure of the intent here so I think it needs a little more clarity of who can be targeted.}
Unless a special power indicates otherwise, a figure can only target one figure occupying a VDO at a time.
{If there are multiple figures occupying the vehicle how &/or who chooses which is being targeted? Is it always the driver first? Or driver last?}

The driver or passenger designation has nothing to do with it. It's just saying if you want to target a figure inside the vehicle, here's how to do it.

I think this is a case of trying to clarify and only adding confusion with the extra text. I've trimmed down the SP as a result and now have this:

Quote:

When a figure occupying a Partial Cover VDO targets a figure outside of that VDO, they should use the target point for that VDO to trace line of sight and range. When a figure outside of a Partial Cover VDO wishes to targets a figure occupying that VDO, they should use the target points for that VDO as the hit zone for that figure.

If a special power targets or chooses a space instead of a figure and the space the VDO occupies is chosen, the VDO and all figures occupying the VDO are affected.


MOVING VEHICLES
{You don't move Army Cards}
Instead of moving normally with an Army Card you control, if one of the figures from that card occupies the Driver space for a VDO, you may move that VDO any number of spaces up to its Move number. You may only move each VDO this way once during each player turn.
{What about...?}
Quote:

If the figure that occupies the Driver space for a VDO takes a turn, instead of moving normally you may move that VDO any number of spaces up to its Move number. You may only move each VDO this way once during each player turn.
No. That text suggestion reopens the squad exploit we were specifically trying to shut down. I'll specify that it's instead of moving with all of the figures for an Army Card you control.


{Do we need to mention if VDOs are subject to all terrain rules? Like water, snow, heavy snow or road? But especially water?}
When moving the VDO, follow standard movement rules. VDOs are never considered engaged and never make or receive leaving engagement attacks.

We specified that they're figures. Figures follow terrain rules. After that, we only need to specify what rules they break, IMO.

EXITING VEHICLES
...
{I feel like this is an important paragraph & should be highlighted by either being in a coloured box or at the least all bold.}
If your figure exits a VDO that you do not control and your figure does not have the Super Strength special power, before placing your figure, roll one unblockable attack die against it.

I'll let japes make the call on that one. :-)

DESTROYING VEHICLES
...
After removing the destroyed VDO from the battlefield, players may, in initiative order, place all of their figures that remain on top of the VDO's sculpt on spaces previously occupied by the destroyed VDO.
{Duplicated sentence.}
Then players may, in initiative order, place each remaining figure they control that was occupying the VDO's Army Card on a space or spaces previously occupied by the destroyed VDO. If a figure that was occupying a destroyed VDO cannot be placed on a legal space or spaces, that figure is immediately destroyed.

Nope. One is about figures on top of a VDO and one is about figures occupying a VDO. Easy to miss, but distinct, and intentional.


{I think we need an example of how this all works included in the book.}

"how all this works" is a bit vague, but I'm open to someone ambitious and with a good camera putting one together. I'm not sure where I'd start, though, or what exactly you're looking for.

johnny139 November 27th, 2019 11:30 AM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
A few things I noticed:

- Example 1 box has "Uniquenes" instead of "Uniqueness"
- We introduce DO and VDO without defining them. Pretty easy to figure out what means what, but I'd like the first instance of each to include a parenthetical clarifying to make sure.

Otherwise it looks good - these booklets are always top notch.

IAmBatman November 28th, 2019 09:17 AM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
Already had the red under Example 1 and added the blue just now:

Quote:

EXAMPLE 1: Vehicle Card
Like the Official Destructible Object cards, Vehicle Destructible Object (VDO) cards have a similar appearance but with a few additions.

Uniqueness: Whether a Vehicle is Unique or Uncommon.

Occupancy: The number value indicates the number of figures that can occupy the Vehicle.

Size/Height: The Size and Height indicate the Vehicle’s actual size and height as per the standard Heroscape game mechanics, but also by their inclusion symbolize that this Destructible Object (DO) is compatible with the throwing rules from the C3G Destructible Objects rule set.
Edit: And Uniqueness was right in the SP, but apparently japes missed an "s" when copying over. :-P

johnny139 November 28th, 2019 09:16 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
Ah, I see, they're in the Example box - didn't think to check there. Works for me. :up:

IAmBatman November 28th, 2019 10:44 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
OK. I'm calling a moratorium on wording edits. We've had our best and brightest all take at least one pass at it and things have been updated. In the interest of not letting perfect be the enemy of good, I'm going to let @japes do the final edits here based on the comments and the SP updates, then I'm going to call for the On Deck vote again and let that vote go through one way or the other. :-)

I think it's time for this to wrap and for energies spent on it to be repurposed elsewhere!

japes November 28th, 2019 11:14 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
Cool. I should be able to get this tomorrow.

IAmBatman November 29th, 2019 12:52 AM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
Thanks. :up: Just let me know. Down to six voters here, so hopefully when I call the vote again it'll go pretty smoothly.

johnny139 November 29th, 2019 07:24 AM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
Yea once it's updated. The public are the best proofreaders anyways, I'm sure they'll point out anything we miss. :p

IAmBatman November 29th, 2019 08:47 AM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
I just hope after this collective effort that they DO read and find enjoyment out of the rules!

Tornado November 29th, 2019 09:09 AM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
Well said. Really excited for this one. A major stepping stone to CityScape.
Thanks for all time spent on this one japes!

Karat November 29th, 2019 09:07 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
Sorry I'm late to the party, but I just finally read through them in their entirety. Edits/questions below.
Quote:

OCCUPYING VEHICLES

Figures occupying a VDO are still considered to be on the battlefield, controlled by the player whose army they are in, occupying the same space (or spaces) as that VDO for the purpose of counting spaces for range and power selection, but are not affected by any special terrain rules for that space.
Something about this paragraph bugs me. Perhaps it is because there is so much going on in a single sentence. While it is all semi-cohesive, I think adding a conjunction just before the last conjunction would help and I'd lose that last comma making it a continuation of the previous phrase instead of it's own seperate clause. To that end, I'd probably word it like so:

Figures occupying a VDO are still considered to be on the battlefield, controlled by the player whose army they are in, and occupying the same space (or spaces) as that VDO for the purpose of counting spaces for range and power selection but are not affected by any special terrain rules for that space.


Figures occupying a VDO are considered adjacent to all other figures occupying that VDO and to the VDO itself, but are never considered adjacent to or engaged with figures outside of the VDO.

Instead of moving normally, a figure on a VDO Army Card may move into an unoccupied space designated on the card, such as the driver's space, or out of a designated space to the passenger area of the card.

If a figure you control is the only figure occupying a VDO or if a figure you control is occupying the designated Driver space in a VDO, you now control that VDO.

PARTIAL COVER AND FULL COVER

As denoted in the left box of each VDO, a VDO can have Partial Cover or Full Cover.

Figures occupying Vehicles with Full Cover are never in clear sight of figures outside of that Vehicle, never have clear sight on figures outside of that Vehicle, and may never attack or be attacked by a figure outside of that Vehicle.

VDOs with Partial Cover do allow for clear sight between figures occupying that VDO and figures on the outside. Partial Cover VDOs are those with windows or other openings that allow for clear sight. These clear sight openings will be marked on Army Cards by the green target points on the VDO’s Hit Zone. Clear sight can only be traced through these target points.

When a figure occupying a Partial Cover VDO targets a figure outside of that VDO, they should use the target point for that VDO to trace line of sight and range. When a figure outside of a Partial Cover VDO wishes to targets a figure occupying that VDO, they should use the target points for that VDO as the hit zone for that figure.
I bolded the typo here to make it visible

If a special power targets or chooses a space instead of a figure and the space the VDO occupies is chosen, the VDO and all figures occupying the VDO are affected.

MOVING VEHICLES

Instead of moving normally with all of the figures for an Army Card you control, if one of the figures from that card occupies the Driver space for a VDO, you may move that VDO any number of spaces up to its Move number. You may only move each VDO this way once during each player turn.

When moving the VDO, follow standard movement rules. VDOs are never considered engaged and never make or receive leaving engagement attacks.

If a VDO would be moved, any figures occupying it stay in that VDO and are moved with it. If any of the occupants cannot be moved for any reason, that VDO cannot be moved.

EXITING VEHICLES

After moving a VDO you control on your turn or instead of moving a figure occupying a VDO, you may exit with any or all of your figures that occupy that VDO.

To exit with a figure that is occupying a VDO, place it on an empty space adjacent to the VDO (adjacent to the VDO's entrance/exit area if it has one). If an exiting figure was engaged with any other figures occupying the VDO prior to exiting the VDO, it will take any leaving engagement attacks.

If your figure exits a VDO that you do not control and your figure does not have the Super Strength special power, before placing your figure, roll one unblockable attack die against it.

DESTROYING VEHICLES

If a VDO receives enough wounds to be destroyed, each figure occupying a space on top of that VDO's sculpt or occupying a space on that VDO's Army Card immediately receives X Wounds where X = any excess wounds the VDO received beyond what was needed to destroy it.

After removing the destroyed VDO from the battlefield, players may, in initiative order, place all of their figures that remain on top of the VDO's sculpt on spaces previously occupied by the destroyed VDO.

Then players may, in initiative order, place each remaining figure they control that was occupying the VDO's Army Card on a space or spaces previously occupied by the destroyed VDO. If a figure that was occupying a destroyed VDO cannot be placed on a legal space or spaces, that figure is immediately destroyed.

Do we really need both of these? They are repetitious. I'd probably lose the last bit of the first little paragraph so you are not repeating ypurself.

Figures moved when the VDO is destroyed never take any leaving engagement attacks but will receive any falling damage that may apply.

IAmBatman November 29th, 2019 09:33 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
OK, made what is hopefully the last edits for that first paragraph and the typo. Thanks, Karat.

I'm going to keep those two paragraphs you mentioned last, as they cover different things (figures on top of a VDO and figures occupying a VDO).

Should be good to go now. :-)

Karat November 29th, 2019 10:04 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
Oh and Yea after we get updated.

japes December 9th, 2019 05:16 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
Updated!!!!!!!!!

Tornado December 9th, 2019 09:42 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
:woot:

IAmBatman December 10th, 2019 12:56 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
OK. Got Karat's yea already, so with this last proposal for On Deck I just need:

@japes - yea
@Arkham -
@johnny139 - yea
@Soundwarp SG-1 - yea
@Lord Pyre -

Soundwarp SG-1 December 10th, 2019 06:58 PM

Re: The Book of Vehicle Rules - VOTE for On Deck
 
yea


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2023 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.