Heroscapers

Heroscapers (https://www.heroscapers.com/community/index.php)
-   C3V and SoV Customs (https://www.heroscapers.com/community/forumdisplay.php?f=75)
-   -   The Book of Vulcanmech Incendiborgs (https://www.heroscapers.com/community/showthread.php?t=41586)

infectedsloth June 6th, 2012 05:11 PM

The Book of Vulcanmech Incendiborgs
 
The Book of Vulcanmech Incendiborgs

C3V Wave 2 - Age of Chaos - Dwarf and Soulborgs

https://www.heroscapers.com/communit...2_original.jpg

The printer-friendly PDF

The figures used for this unit are AT-43 figures from the Red Blok set.
The name of the figure is Strielitz Kolossus Unit Box.

Character Bio:

Spoiler Alert!


Redundant Systems
Start the game with 3 Redundant Systems markers on this army card. After a Vulcanmech Incendiborg receives one or more wounds, you may remove 1 Redundant Systems marker form this card to ignore all wounds.

Flamethrower Special Attack
Range Special. Attack 4.
A Vulcanmech Incendiborg that does not attack normally may use Flamethrower Special Attack. Choose 2 spaces in a straight line from the attacking Vulcanmech Incendiborg. All figures on those spaces that are in line of sight are affected by Flamethrower Special Attack. Roll attack dice once for all affected figures. Each figure rolls defense dice separately.


-Rulings and Clarifications-


Flamethrower Special Attack.
Q: If a Vulcanmech Incendiborg is engaged and wants to use the Flamethower Special Attack, must the first hex of whichever fire-line he chooses include an engaged enemy figure?
A: Yes, if a Vulcanmech Incendiborg is engaged, the first figure attacked must be adjacent to that attacking Vulcanmech Incendiborg.

-Combinations and Synergies-

Synergy Benefits Received:
- KHOSUMET THE DARKLORD : Relentless Assault
Having a Relentless personality, Vulcanmech Incendiborgs may benefit from Khosumet the Darklord’s RELENTLESS ASSAULT attack bonus.

EXECUTIONER 616 : Remote Detonation
Vulcanmech Incendiborgs can be exploded by Executioner 616.
Synergy Benefits Offered:

KNIGHTS OF BLACKGAARD : Relentless Army Attack Bonus
As Relentless figures, Vulcanmech Incendiborgs may be included in an army with Knights of Blackgaard without negating their attack bonus.
-Strategy, Tactics and Tips-
TBA


-Heroscapers Community Contributions-


Power Ranking and Master Index

Sculpt poll: Vulcanmech Incendiborgs

Vulcanmech Incendiborgs
- If they can work their way to high ground before their markers are gone, they will often dominate the game. A

Unit Strategy Review

TBA

http://www.heroscapers.com/community...cendiborgs.jpg

infectedsloth June 6th, 2012 05:12 PM

Re: The Book of Vulcanmech Incendiborgs
 
My first attempt at a "Book", so let me know if I missed anything.

awesomeunleashed June 6th, 2012 05:23 PM

Re: The Book of Vulcanmech Incendiborgs
 
Probably want to make it "Age" of Chaos. Also, Redundant Systems is missing its last period and "does" is spelled incorrectly in FTSA. :p

I need to get my hands on these, if only because I'm skeptical of thier super-high cost...

ZBeeblebrox June 6th, 2012 05:26 PM

Re: The Book of Vulcanmech Incendiborgs
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by awesomeunleashed (Post 1621765)
Probably want to make it "Age" of Chaos. Redundant Systems is missing its last period and "does" is spelled incorrectly in FTSA. :p

I need to get my hands on these, if only because I'm skeptical of thier super-high cost...

You can always proxy first if you are skeptical. ;)

Bothi June 6th, 2012 05:37 PM

Re: The Book of Vulcanmech Incendiborgs
 
*Snip*

I was wrong, don't know how to delete post D:

cmgames June 6th, 2012 06:49 PM

Re: The Book of Vulcanmech Incendiborgs
 
The Flamethrower wording leaves it open to interpretation, but it may warrant clarification JIC. If a Vulcanmech Incendiborg is engaged and wants to use the Flamethower SA, must the first hex of whichever fire-line he chooses include an engaged enemy figure?

~Z

Anitar June 6th, 2012 06:58 PM

Re: The Book of Vulcanmech Incendiborgs
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by cmgames (Post 1621835)
The Flamethrower wording leaves it open to interpretation, but it may warrant clarification JIC. If a Vulcanmech Incendiborg is engaged and wants to use the Flamethower SA, must the first hex of whichever fire-line he chooses include an engaged enemy figure?

~Z

Same as Mimring and Rhogar: yes.

rym June 6th, 2012 08:04 PM

Re: The Book of Vulcanmech Incendiborgs
 
Am I correct in assuming that, where the Flamethrower SA states "2 spaces", the limiting factor is LOS? Meaning, if a figure was 12 hexes away, but in a straight line from the base of the Vulcanmech, and the Vulcanmech could see the figure, then I could attack that figure (and obviously another figure adjacent to the first figure, if one so happened to be there)?

If so, then that power totally rocks and certainly justifies their (the Incendiborgs) high point cost.

Kudos on a pretty cool unit, guys. ;)

MegaBunnySuicide June 6th, 2012 08:13 PM

Re: The Book of Vulcanmech Incendiborgs
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rym (Post 1621876)
Am I correct in assuming that, where the Flamethrower SA states "2 spaces", the limiting factor is LOS? Meaning, if a figure was 12 hexes away, but in a straight line from the base of the Vulcanmech, and the Vulcanmech could see the figure, then I could attack that figure (and obviously another figure adjacent to the first figure, if one so happened to be there)?

If so, then that power totally rocks and certainly justifies their (the Incendiborgs) high point cost.

Kudos on a pretty cool unit, guys. ;)

As the power says in the part that's in bold below it is only 2 space from the attacking figure not how you were suggesting.

Quote:

Flamethrower Special Attack
Range Special. Attack 4.
A Vulcanmech Incendiborg that does not attack normally may use Flamethrower Special Attack. Choose 2 spaces in a straight line from the attacking Vulcanmech Incendiborg. All figures on those spaces that are in line of sight are affected by Flamethrower Special Attack. Roll attack dice once for all affected figures. Each figure rolls defense dice separately.

dok June 6th, 2012 08:13 PM

Re: The Book of Vulcanmech Incendiborgs
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rym (Post 1621876)
Am I correct in assuming that, where the Flamethrower SA states "2 spaces", the limiting factor is LOS? Meaning, if a figure was 12 hexes away, but in a straight line from the base of the Vulcanmech, and the Vulcanmech could see the figure, then I could attack that figure (and obviously another figure adjacent to the first figure, if one so happened to be there)?

Nope; as Anitar said, it's the adjacent space and the next one, just like Rhogar and Mimring (who use the same phrasing).

I understand the skepticism about the price tag. It might help to think of them like a unique hero with triple attack and 6 life, only they can't suffer more than one wound in any attack, and they start to lose attacks hydra-style after the fourth wound. Do you see how that can be pretty good? While these guys are not quite as potent as the other 180 point large soulborg option that's out there, they are very dangerous.

Anitar June 6th, 2012 08:15 PM

Re: The Book of Vulcanmech Incendiborgs
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rym (Post 1621876)
Am I correct in assuming that, where the Flamethrower SA states "2 spaces", the limiting factor is LOS? Meaning, if a figure was 12 hexes away, but in a straight line from the base of the Vulcanmech, and the Vulcanmech could see the figure, then I could attack that figure (and obviously another figure adjacent to the first figure, if one so happened to be there)?

If so, then that power totally rocks and certainly justifies their (the Incendiborgs) high point cost.

Kudos on a pretty cool unit, guys. ;)

It says
Quote:

2 spaces away from the attacking Incendiborg
Like Fire Line (and Dragon Breath), the limiting factor is whether those two spaces are right next to the 'borg.

Seriously people, we've had powers like this before...

cmgames June 6th, 2012 08:46 PM

Re: The Book of Vulcanmech Incendiborgs
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Anitar (Post 1621840)
Quote:

Originally Posted by cmgames (Post 1621835)
The Flamethrower wording leaves it open to interpretation, but it may warrant clarification JIC. If a Vulcanmech Incendiborg is engaged and wants to use the Flamethower SA, must the first hex of whichever fire-line he chooses include an engaged enemy figure?

~Z

Same as Mimring and Rhogar: yes.

I knew it would work that way, but I went and checked the Books of Mimring & Rhogar and the FAQ, and neither one clarified this question up front. I did find it buried on page 9 of The Book of Mimring, but that is the sort of clarification I think should be right up front.

I haven't actually read the wording of Mimring's Fire Line SA in years, so when I read this card I thought "since the attack does not target a figure, but instead chooses a line of spaces, and since the engagement rule restricts you to choosing an engaged figure as the target of an attack, the Flamethrower SA is open to argument of interpretation."

~Z


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.