Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Blogs > The Khronicles of Kolakoski and the Gang of Four


Sponsored Link
Rate this Entry

The Lost City of Ashra

Posted April 8th, 2019 at 08:04 PM by kolakoski
Updated April 27th, 2019 at 11:30 AM by kolakoski


Well met!

I will be hosting the Gang of Four on May 4, 2019, at chas' Game Palace, with this simple scenario, inspired by the classic 1945 movie, Tarzan and the Amazons.


The Lost City of Ashra



















Groups of Explorers have joined forces to find the Lost City of Ashra, and are about to enter it. Inevitably, they will form secret alliances, and then . . .

"The Treasures are here, here, here, here, and here," the Ninja said. All are closely guarded by Warriors." The Captain thought a moment. "We need to divert their attention. Ideas?" The Ninja spoke again. "They value their Sacred Trees above all else, save, perhaps the life of their Great Priest, Acolarh. A threat to either or both should do the trick." "Not everyone will like the idea of killing trees, or priests for that matter," the Captain said. "But they'll get over it somehow. Being filthy rich will help."

The Map. There is a Glyph of Rannweig, under Acolarh, at the top of his Tower ("Acolarh's Tower"). There are 5 Treasure Glyphs. There are 3 Great Evergreens and 9 Evergreens. [I will be free building the Map the night before to these specifications. Pics to come.]

The Explorers. 4-5 players with pre-made armies of 600 points apiece (no Marvel, but C3V, Kha (SoV candidate), and C3V Public Playtesting units are allowed), each player's army to fill no more than 12 spaces, placed, a card at a time, as in Heat of Battle, outside the City (adjacency to other players' units allowed), on hexes outside the City. No Explorer's army may contain Acolarh or the Warriors of Ashra (the "WoA") (Acolarh and the WoA, together, the "Amazons"). The Explorers may then (after HoB placement) move anywhere on the Map, including into the City, but may not attack any Trees or units (other Explorers' or the Amazons'), nor place any OMs on the Amazons, nor may they move onto any Treasure Glyphs, until the beginning of round 4. Prior to round 4, all Explorer units are considered "friendly" to each other and to the Amazons. After round 3 (at the beginning of Round 4), the armies of Explorers are considered, of course, "enemies" to each other and the Warriors of Ashra.

The Amazons. There will be a Warriors of Ashra card for the Amazons, and a card for Acolarh. Each player may place one, and only one, of his Order Markers upon the WoA each turn, beginning with the third. No OMs may ever be placed upon Acolarh's card. The WoA cannot be moved in such a way that they would risk falling damage, nor may Amazons attack Amazons. WoA may not risk Leaving Engagement Attacks, for which purpose all Explorers are considered "enemies," even those Explorers of the player controlling them (which otherwise would be considered "friendly"). Thus, you may not move WoA out of engagement with any Explorer's units, even your own. Acolarh stands on the Glyph of Rannveig (Wind), and bestows his grace (Leaf of the Home Tree Aura and Ullar's Amulet) upon the WoA. He may not be Enslaved, Moon Frenzied, Mindshackled, etc., but may be moved by Chainfighters, Wyverns, Knockback, Jotun's Throw, etc., and, of course, may be killed.

The Amazons Have Bows. The range for the Warriors of Ashra is increased to 5 for this scenario.

Falling Trees. The C3G Christmas Special Falling Trees will be used in this scenario.




GREAT FALLING TREE
If this Great Evergreen Tree is destroyed at any point during your turn, before removing it from the Battlefield you must choose 3 spaces in a straight line from one of the spaces this Great Evergreen Tree occupies. All figures on these spaces and all adjacent spaces, whose bases are not higher than the height of this tree, receive one wound. Huge figures are not affected.




FALLING TREE
If an Evergreen Tree is destroyed at any point during your turn, before removing it from the Battlefield you must choose 2 spaces in a straight line from that Evergreen Tree. All figures on these spaces whose bases are not higher than the height of that tree receive one wound. Huge figures are not affected.

Treasure Glyphs. The 5 Treasure Glyphs in this scenario are all Brandar's Chests and have no inherent powers. The rules for Treasure Glyphs are quoted below.


TREASURE GLYPHS

Treasure Glyphs, which are available in this Master Set, are a special type of Glyph. Treasure Glyphs are normally mobile and can be carried by a Unique Hero unless otherwise stated in a scenario. Treat Treasure Glyphs as normal Glyphs with the following exceptions. Some scenarios may break these rules.


1. Only Unique Hero figures can attempt to pick up or activate Treasure Glyphs. Remember that Uncommon figures are considered Unique for all special powers and Glyphs. Other figures can land on spaces with Treasure Glyphs on them, but they cannot attempt to pick them up or activate them unless otherwise stated.

Note: Any figure may choose to stand on a Treasure Glyph and not activate it or pick it up, preventing others from gaining access to it.

2. Treasure Glyphs do not force figures to stop when moving onto them. However, a Unique Hero figure that ends its movement on a space with a Treasure Glyph may attempt to pick it up or activate it, depending on the Treasure Glyph's individual rule.

3. When attempting to pick up or activate a symbol-side up Treasure Glyph, you always roll for a trap before revealing it. You never roll for a trap on a power-side up Treasure Glyph.

4. Treasure Glyphs that have been placed on a figure's Army Card affect only the figure that is carrying them unless otherwise stated.

5. Treasure Glyphs cannot be traded between figures. Treasure Glyphs must first be dropped by one figure (either Voluntarily while moving, or by the figure being destroyed - see below), and then picked up by another figure at a later time.

6. A Unique Hero can carry any number of Treasure Glyphs. Traps: When one of your Unique Heroes ends its movement on a Treasure Glyph that is symbol-side up, you may attempt to pick the Treasure Glyph up or activate it (depending on the scenario). If you do, that figure might be caught by the scenario-specific trap. Roll the 20-sided die.

If you roll a 1-5, you set off the trap. Leave the Treasure Glyph symbol-side up. The scenario-specific trap takes effect.

If you roll a 6 or higher, you did not set off the trap, and the figure that landed on the Treasure Glyph now picks up or activates the Treasure Glyph. Turn the Treasure Glyph power-side up, remove it from the battlefield, and place it on the figure's corresponding Army Card (unless otherwise stated in the scenario). That figure now controls that Treasure Glyph.

Note: You do not roll for a trap when landing on a Treasure Glyph that is power-side up.

The Victory Conditions. The player with the most Victory Points (out of 65 total) after 15 rounds wins. VPs are awarded to each player as follows:

1 VP apiece for killing each of the 9 Warriors of Ashra.

2 VP apiece for destroying each of the 9 Evergreens.

3 VP apiece for destroying each of the 3 Great Evergreens.

4 VP for killing Acolarh.

5 VP for possession of each of the 5 Treasure Glyphs at the end of the game.


* * * * *



P.S.: Saw these recently. Prepare for the sequel . . .













Total Comments 0

Comments

 
Recent Blog Entries by kolakoski

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:23 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.