Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Blogs > Revdyer


Rate this Entry

Ask Papa-'Scape #7

Posted October 7th, 2008 at 09:23 AM by Revdyer
Good morning, again, boys and girls! It is a happy Tuesday and raining where I am, so it is time to turn to the burning questions of the day being asked of Papa-'Scape.

The first one comes from deep within the Week@Heroscapers, October 6 blog, in a very interesting article about drafting. It is suggested, as the method for beginning the draft:

Ask Papa-Scape who goes first.

The answer is simple, of course. Papa-'Scape goes first. If I'm not there, then you go first. If there is more than one you (or more than one ewe, for that matter), then you roll the d20 and the person who rolls highest goes first. After that, the draft turn passes to the next tallest person and ends up with the shortest person, who is either Jim or theGuru.

Now a question from Revdyer's PM mailbox:

I recently received the object of my desire: The fabled krug pack. It was tapped up, which I found odd, but hey, I won it at a tournament so it could have been damaged. When I took out the figures, I marveled at them. But when I placed Denrick on the board, he was lopsided. There was an extrusion of plastic under neath him, and is that...neon yellow paint on his butt? I think someone took units they liked from that pack, put in the crappy ones, and tapped it back up!

~Cruising with Krug


Dear C with K,
There is an ancient saying, "Don't look a gift horse in the mouth." This applies to tournament prizes as well. (You don't do it because it is rude. It is also dangerous, but not nearly as dangerous as looking a gift camel or a gift llama in the mouth, as they spit. Lamas, however, can have their mouths looked in by qualified dentists and they only spit, usually, when instructed to rinse and do so.)

I am sincerely sorry that your Sir Dendrick is warped and deformed. I wouldn't worry about it too much, though, because no one picks him any more any way. I'm not sure about the yellow neon paint, which might be indigenous.

Your difficulty does raise an important issue, though, and that is about the quality of prizes being brought by HeroScape players to tournament prize tables. Remember: the quality of the prize reflects the quality of the prize-bringer. The prize table isn't the place to take the things that didn't get bought at your last garage sale.

One final question for this edition of Ask Papa-'Scape:

Dear Papa,
If my enemy has a figure in a hole where it is very, very dark, am I allowed to poke him with a foot-long dowel rod? -(signed) Sticky in Wicket

Dear Sticky,
Your lack of verbal skill leaves me wondering if the "him" in your question is the figure in the hole or the "enemy" (we prefer the term "opponent" or even "friend," at least "those people") you intend to poke. If you mean, "Can I poke the figure? with my stick?" the answer is, "Only if you are Ashigaru Yari." If you mean "Can I poke my friend?" that's something you and your friend are going to have to work out on your own. In part, it may all depend on how dark it is.

Well, that's it for this time. Remember, boys and girls, you can put someone's eye out with that, no matter what "that" is.

Love and kisses,
Papa-'Scape

Accept no imitations:
Total Comments 7

Comments

Old
pegasus's Avatar
These\You are getting better and better.
(on a different note, did she run out of blue paint, or was somebody not allowed to finish the job?)
Posted October 7th, 2008 at 10:37 AM by pegasus pegasus is offline
Old
Pumpkin_King's Avatar
...unless you are Ashigaru Yari...

Ah, hilarious stuff, Papa-Scape.
Posted October 7th, 2008 at 11:33 AM by Pumpkin_King Pumpkin_King is offline
Old
R˙chean's Avatar
Funny! Thanks Papa-Scape!
Posted October 7th, 2008 at 11:52 AM by R˙chean R˙chean is offline
Old
theGuru's Avatar
lol
Posted October 8th, 2008 at 01:22 PM by theGuru theGuru is offline
Old
NecroBlade's Avatar
Oh geez

'If you mean "Can I poke my friend?" that's something you and your friend are going to have to work out on your own. In part, it may all depend on how dark it is.'

Posted October 9th, 2008 at 01:51 AM by NecroBlade NecroBlade is offline
Old
Dissolutio's Avatar
Alright, so me and my friend talked about it, and decided that any time he has a figure in a hole that is tall enough to be adjacent to my ashigaru yari outside the hole, then we turn off the lights and I poke him (my friend) with the ashigaru yari's stick.
1: Does this sound fair to you?
2: You wouldn't believe how often this rule comes up.
Posted October 9th, 2008 at 01:53 AM by Dissolutio Dissolutio is offline
Old
Creationist's Avatar
I hope I dont fall in any holes near Papa Smurf. That would be a little awkward.
Posted October 14th, 2008 at 05:27 PM by Creationist Creationist is offline
 
Recent Blog Entries by Revdyer

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:15 PM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.