Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Blogs > The Khronicles of Kolakoski and the Gang of Four


Sponsored Link
Rate this Entry

Friday the Thirteenth 'Scape Redux!

Posted June 28th, 2012 at 11:58 AM by kolakoski
Updated July 1st, 2012 at 12:59 PM by kolakoski
Well met!

I have come up with a unique scenario for Friday the Thirteenth 'Scape!, that requires rebuilding the map. The new map (to be built a few days before the game) will feature a central tower built around a stack of single hex pieces (probably Concrete terrain from the Marvel set) capped by a Molten Lava hex piece. The tower, and the small hill upon which it sits, will be a no-fly zone. Scattered about the rest of the map (where units may fly normally) will be little fortified areas representing high security laboratories, on Dungeon terrain, and several Treasure Glyphs.

The Treasure Glyphs (normally trapped, always remaining Power side down (unusable)) represent components of a Object of Power that may be constructed by dipping three of them into the Molten Lava at the top of the tower. Heroes may carry up to three Treasure Glyphs at a time. Squad units may carry up to one per squad. When a squad unit picks up a Treasure Glyph, it is placed on the squad's card. Thereafter, each squad unit may be considered to be carrying a Treasure Glyph for all purposes, or not, as the player owning the squad desires at any moment. Thus, killing a squad member need not result in one of a squad's Treasure Glyphs being dropped, unless the player wishes it to be; each member of a squad may drop one of the squad's Treasure Glyphs in a single turn; and any single squad unit may do so on consecutive turns. Common heroes will be treated as squad units, and uncommon heroes as heroes as pertains to Treasure Glyphs.
When more than one are dropped, or any time, Treasure Glyphs are never destroyed, and stack, for the purposes of this scenario.

Example: I have two squads of Drow. Two of them pick up two Treasure Glyphs (their maximum), by landing on them and surviving the traps. They may not do anything further with them within that turn. On the following turn, any Drow squad member may drop one of the Treasure Glyphs (both may be dropped by separate Drow units). Once the number of squad members is reduced such that it is equal to the number of Treasure Glyphs held, any additional loss(es) will result in dropped Treasure Glyph(s).

An intended advantage to squads handling Treasure Glyphs is that they can be picked up by units in one place and, on the next and any following turn, dropped in another place by other units in that squad (a sort of internal squad courier service).

The winner of the game will be the player (or team) that constructs an Object of Power (dipping three components of the Object of Power into the Molten Lava), by having a hero ending its movement (while possessing three Treasure Glyphs) at the top of the tower, adjacent to the Molten Lava hex, within ten (10) turns.

There you have it! All we need now is a name and back story for the scenario.
Total Comments 14

Comments

Old
chas's Avatar
Sounds good!

I see problems with the squad carrying rules, if the squad figures are very split up geographically. I think you might have to designate which squad member has it, unless you've really thought this through already.

Do the T Glyphs have any other functions, or are they basically Brandar's' Chests?

Points? Start zones?
Posted June 28th, 2012 at 12:23 PM by chas chas is offline
Old
kolakoski's Avatar

Clarification of Squad Units Handling Treasure Glyphs

Well met!

As follows:

"Squad units may carry up to one (1) per squad. When a squad unit picks up a Treasure Glyph, it is placed on the squad's card. Thereafter, each squad unit may be considered to be carrying a Treasure Glyph for all purposes, or not, as the player owning the squad desires at any moment. Thus, killing a squad member need not result in one of a squad's Treasure Glyphs being dropped, unless the player wishes it to be, each member of a squad may drop or hand off one of the squad's Treasure Glyphs in a single turn, and any single squad unit may do so on consecutive turns. A Treasure Glyph may not be handed off on the same turn in which it is acquired. However, only heroes may ascend the tower (and drop Treasure Glyphs into the Molten Lava). Common heroes will be treated as squad units, and uncommon heroes as heroes as pertains to Treasure Glyphs. Squad members may hand off to heroes and vice versa, as per normal hand offs between heroes.

Example: I have two squads of Drow. Two of them pick up two Treasure Glyphs (their maximum), by landing on them and surviving the traps. They may not do anything further with them within that turn. On the following turn, any Drow squad member may either hand off or drop one of the Treasure Glyphs. Once the number of squad members is reduced such that it is equal to the number of Treasure Glyphs held, any additional loss(es) will result in dropped Treasure Glyph(s)."

Treasure Glyphs "have no other function."
Posted June 29th, 2012 at 11:45 AM by kolakoski kolakoski is offline
Updated June 29th, 2012 at 03:51 PM by kolakoski
Old
kolakoski's Avatar

Modified Victory Conditions

Well met!

As follows:

"The winner of the game will be the player (or team) that constructs an Object of Power (dipping three components of the Object of Power into the Molten Lava), by having a hero end its movement (while possessing three Treasure Glyphs) at the top of the tower, adjacent to the Molten Lava hex, within ten (10) turns."

Also deleted the following language:

"
However, only heroes may ascend the tower (and construct the Object of Power)."
Posted June 30th, 2012 at 08:13 PM by kolakoski kolakoski is offline
Updated June 30th, 2012 at 08:23 PM by kolakoski
Old
chas's Avatar
1. Aren't we destroying the Object of Power, rather than "constructing" it?

2. Are you sure about the one hero doing it all? Remember, if that hero dies, all glyphs he/she carries (except one) are destroyed! Maybe you just want to suspend that rule for these glyphs only, so that they are only dropped?
Posted July 1st, 2012 at 09:04 AM by chas chas is offline
Old
kolakoski's Avatar

Object of Power Clarification

Well met!

When the hero reaches the top of the tower and is adjacent to the Molten Lava, and he dips three Treasure Glyphs into it in the process of creating the Object of Power, he wins by becoming all-powerful. We are the bad guys!

The Treasure Glyphs are never destroyed (revised blog text).
Posted July 1st, 2012 at 10:24 AM by kolakoski kolakoski is offline
Old
awesomeunleashed's Avatar
This looks pretty interesting. I like playing special scenarios like this. Couple comments:

You mention "normal hand-offs"-is this because you normally play with them allowed? I'm assuming you are aware that they are not "normally" allowed...

Exactly how powerful is this "Object of Power?" Is it powerful enough to immediately destroy all enemies? Or does it simply make one able to easily slay even the strongest opponents? Or maybe it just makes you near-invulnerable to attack?

What I'm trying to get at is, if this Object of Power is not omnipotent, do you think it would add to the scenario if the goal was to destroy your enemies, but you could construct an Object of Power Treasure Glyph that gave your entire army (or even just that figure) something like +12 Attack? That way, if you were able to protect the figure with the Glyph, you would easily win, but if someone else took it from you...
Posted July 1st, 2012 at 10:52 AM by awesomeunleashed awesomeunleashed is offline
Old
kolakoski's Avatar

Thanks, Awesome!


Well met!

Thanks for the correction! I've deleted all references to "handing off."

As for the exact nature of the Object of Power, it is intended that its creation end the game.

"Is it powerful enough to immediately destroy all enemies? Or does it simply make one able to easily slay even the strongest opponents?"

Yes. The scenario is very clean and elegant as is, but feel free to modify the nature of the Object, and extend the game, if you wish.
Posted July 1st, 2012 at 12:56 PM by kolakoski kolakoski is offline
Updated July 1st, 2012 at 07:14 PM by kolakoski
Old
awesomeunleashed's Avatar
Oh, I agree the scenario is good as it is. I was just throwing out an idea that might add to it a little. However, I think it would probably add unnecessary extra length to the game (which sounds like it could already take a while), so it might not be for the best.

Anyway, I hope you guys have fun. I might actually use a scenario like this sometime, it's a good idea...
Posted July 1st, 2012 at 02:28 PM by awesomeunleashed awesomeunleashed is offline
Old
chas's Avatar
What about turning it into a continuing series? Game 1: somebody assembles the object. Game 2: everyone else has to defeat the holder and destroy it, but he has the special advantages it gives. Etc.
Posted July 1st, 2012 at 02:46 PM by chas chas is offline
Old
kolakoski's Avatar

After you . . .


Well met!

Since you guys are so keen on the idea, I'll leave it to you to create either an extension to the existing scenario or a follow-up one, including an appropriate Object of Power, and its back story.
Posted July 1st, 2012 at 07:13 PM by kolakoski kolakoski is offline
Old
kolakoski's Avatar

If . . .


Well met!

If we play at 600 . . .

In both of these armies, Elaria's
Queen of Thieves boosts the Nakitas' Engagement Strike 15. In the first army, the Drow's Poison Weapons and Hide in Darkness and Sonlen's Dragon Swoop and Dragon Healing gain +1 from Elaria's Queen of Thieves, while, in the second army, it is Arashara's Shifting Sands that benefits. Both armies are competitive, with range and a screen.

210 Drow x 3
160 Sonlen
120 Nakitas
60 Elaria
50 Chainfighter x 2 or Theracus/Isamu
600, 16 or 17 spaces

200 Ararshara
120 Nakitas
120 Raelin SotM
100 Romans x 2
60 Elaria
600, 14 spaces
Posted July 2nd, 2012 at 12:21 PM by kolakoski kolakoski is offline
Old
chas's Avatar
Pretty tricky way of getting me to read the C3 Wave description. Did you get the figures?

You're the game master, so if we are playing with 600 points, just let us know on our 'private' player net!

I always like to see the Drow in action.

I have a female custom thief who is part of my Desert Tribe...maybe I'll go look at her card again.
Posted July 4th, 2012 at 08:18 AM by chas chas is offline
Old
kolakoski's Avatar

Wave 5 Heroes of Paizum Sculpts - Gorgeous!


Well met!

From chas:

"Did you get the figures?"

Yes, and they are really beautiful. Also, the Pathfinder (company of origin) characters and their names are not nearly as cool as those created by the C3V team for the figures.

As for the point total, I'm open to suggestion.
Posted July 4th, 2012 at 09:57 AM by kolakoski kolakoski is offline
Old
chas's Avatar
600 points is fine, since we'll have 4 people. Taeblewalker has his parents coming to visit from Florida for the next couple of weeks, and will probably not be available.
Posted July 5th, 2012 at 09:36 PM by chas chas is offline
 
Recent Blog Entries by kolakoski

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:00 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.