Heroscapers
Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Official Units Discussion of official HeroScape units


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 19th, 2010, 11:16 AM
tcglkn's Avatar
tcglkn tcglkn is offline
Tickle Pickle
 
Join Date: August 17, 2009
Location: USA - FL - Orlando
Posts: 19,994
Images: 8
Blog Entries: 7
tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death!
The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind
Warriors of Eberron - Collection D2 (12) - "Veterans of the Last War"


(If you cannot view the army card image, follow this link to the Heroscapers Gallery)

Character Bio (From truth): Ah, the Illithid. It was only a matter of time before they made their way into Heroscape! The Mind Flayer Mastermind comes as a new addition to Utgar’s horde that can take control of other players's Heroes. Not only that, but their Psionic Blast can remove order markers from defending figures!


-Rulings and Clarifications-
Q. How the heck do "Uncommon Heroes" work? Is there a limit on how many I may draft into my army? Do I need a card for each one in my army? How do I tell each Feral Troll apart from the others?

A.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Battle For The Underdark Rulebook Glossary

Uncommon Figures: Each Army may have any number of an Uncommon Army Card with the same name. If your army has two or more of the same Uncommon Army Card, you must keep those figures separate (that is, keep track of which figure belongs to which card). For example, if you are using two Feral Trolls, you must clearly mark each Feral Troll figure and a matching Feral Troll Army Card so you can tell which Feral Troll is being activated by which Order Markers and which Wound Markers belong to which Feral Troll. Uncommon figures are considered to be Unique figures in every other way. See also: Army Card, Unique Figures, and Common Figures.

The master set includes a colored sticker sheet. It is suggested that when you have more than one of an Uncommon Hero figure, you mark both the base of the figure and the corresponding Army Card with a matching color sticker so you can keep track of that figure when it’s on the battlefield.
Q. I Enslaved my opponents Viking Hero and during my turn with it, it dies (due to lava, Counterstike, Falling, Disengagement, Overextending Eldgrimm, ect.) Do I get to place the Spirit on one of my cards or does it go back to the controlling player?

A. Short answer: No.
You have only gained temporary control of the figure, when it dies, your turn is immediately over and you must give it back to the person you Enslaved it from. (Nice try though )

-Combinations and Synergies-

Synergy Benefits Received:
Ornak: Red Flag of Fury
As a Uncommon Hero that follows Utgar, Mind Flayer Mastermind may benefit from Ornak’s RED FLAG OF FURY activation synergy.

Torin: Evil Eye Protection
As a Medium Utgar figure, the Mind Flayer may benefit from Torin's EVIL EYE PROTECTION Defensive Ability.
Synergy Benefits Offered:


C3V and SoV Custom Synergies
Spoiler Alert!


-Strategy, Tactics and Tips-
TBA

-Heroscapers Community Contributions-

Mind Flayer Mastermind Pre-Release Discussion

Mind Flayer - What's Your Army Idea?

Power Ranking and Master Index
Mind Flayer Mastermind- Low survivability keeps his game-altering powers in check. C



Welcome to C3G | C3G Playtesting Sign Up | C3G Books of Index

Praise about C3G: "This is great. The cards have everything you need to know about the figure on them."

Last edited by R˙chean; April 13th, 2015 at 10:55 PM. Reason: vc added
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 20th, 2010, 11:30 PM
tcglkn's Avatar
tcglkn tcglkn is offline
Tickle Pickle
 
Join Date: August 17, 2009
Location: USA - FL - Orlando
Posts: 19,994
Images: 8
Blog Entries: 7
tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death! tcglkn is hot lava death!
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

If anyone has any Clarifications from the Pre-Release thread that I missed, please post them.

Welcome to C3G | C3G Playtesting Sign Up | C3G Books of Index

Praise about C3G: "This is great. The cards have everything you need to know about the figure on them."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 3rd, 2010, 09:21 PM
N/A N/A is offline
 
Join Date: April 18, 2009
Location: Country - State - Major City (Town)
Posts: 15
N/A is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Mean bugger, can paralyze a low defense squad by knocking off order markers. Ranged Enslave in addition to that attack lets them swing twice, one of them usually works. When he gets BOTH off at once though you get to really see them at work!

Quick clarification question, if he enslaves say Kee-Mo-Shi and you use him to Mind Shackle an opponents figure, do you still gain control of said figure?

Second clarification! If I Enslave Iskra and manage to summon the Wretches while she is still under my control, do I control the Wretches or does my opponent?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 3rd, 2010, 09:32 PM
CheddarLimbo's Avatar
CheddarLimbo CheddarLimbo is offline
No Soup or Happy Endings For You!
 
Join Date: July 22, 2007
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 3,119
Blog Entries: 6
CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Quote:
Originally Posted by N/A View Post
Mean bugger, can paralyze a low defense squad by knocking off order markers. Ranged Enslave in addition to that attack lets them swing twice, one of them usually works. When he gets BOTH off at once though you get to really see them at work!

Quick clarification question, if he enslaves say Kee-Mo-Shi and you use him to Mind Shackle an opponents figure, do you still gain control of said figure?
Yes, you would retain control of the Mindshackled figure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by N/A View Post
Second clarification! If I Enslave Iskra and manage to summon the Wretches while she is still under my control, do I control the Wretches or does my opponent?
You don't control the Retchets, only Iskra. So, no, you cannot summon them (and consequently take a turn with them) if you don't control them.


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 3rd, 2010, 10:41 PM
dok's Avatar
dok dok is offline
GenCon Main Event Champion - 2010 & 2011
 
Join Date: October 9, 2008
Location: USA - CO - Denver
Posts: 17,322
Images: 106
Blog Entries: 17
dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth dok is a man of the cloth
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Quote:
Originally Posted by CheddarLimbo View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by N/A View Post
Second clarification! If I Enslave Iskra and manage to summon the Wretches while she is still under my control, do I control the Wretches or does my opponent?
You don't control the Retchets, only Iskra. So, no, you cannot summon them (and consequently take a turn with them) if you don't control them.
Unless, of course, you had the Rechets without Iskra in your army...

Granted, that's one of the least likely scenarios imaginable. I could see it happening as a result of some cutthroat denial drafting, I guess.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 3rd, 2010, 10:55 PM
All Your Pie's Avatar
All Your Pie All Your Pie is offline
 
Join Date: July 12, 2010
Location: USA - Arizona - Tucson
Posts: 1,065
All Your Pie rolls all skulls baby! All Your Pie rolls all skulls baby! All Your Pie rolls all skulls baby! All Your Pie rolls all skulls baby! All Your Pie rolls all skulls baby! All Your Pie rolls all skulls baby!
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

However, if you do denial draft, you could draft the mastermind purposefully to take advantage of the Retchets....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old August 4th, 2010, 01:10 AM
Frylock's Avatar
Frylock Frylock is offline
 
Join Date: October 20, 2009
Location: USA-MA-Boston
Posts: 933
Frylock knows what's in an order marker Frylock knows what's in an order marker Frylock knows what's in an order marker
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

That scenario is pretty unlikely, however. First you'd have to get your mastermind safely within four sight spaces of Iskra, then successfully roll a 17 or higher, then successfully summon the Rechets. That's only a 7% chance, not something I'd count on as a strategy or a reason to counterdraft the Rechets.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old August 4th, 2010, 01:45 AM
Aldin's Avatar
Aldin Aldin is offline
Site Admin & Professional SideBoarder
 
Join Date: September 22, 2006
Location: TN - Nashville
Posts: 12,800
Blog Entries: 4
Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer Aldin is a wielder of the Ban Hammer
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

It occurs to me that one nice effect of having a MFM in your army is that it forces your opponent to at least consider placing the "X" OM defensively as a potential Psionic Blast Victim instead of strategically as an attempt to mislead.

~Aldin, taking the Strong Willed feat

Aldin was Arkmer...
in the
The Cave of Christmas Celebration...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old August 9th, 2010, 03:04 PM
N/A N/A is offline
 
Join Date: April 18, 2009
Location: Country - State - Major City (Town)
Posts: 15
N/A is a puppet of Ne-Gok-Sa
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Uhh, I was just re-reading over the Enslave power and it says ANY unique Hero figure. Nothing about it being an opponents unique hero figure. Does that mean I can use Enslave on my own unique heroes to take a turn with them? Gives him a little extra kick if that's the case, and with the wording I don't see why not.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old August 9th, 2010, 03:18 PM
Fencerjared's Avatar
Fencerjared Fencerjared is offline
 
Join Date: May 15, 2007
Location: USA - TX - Austin
Posts: 1,432
Fencerjared wears ripped pants of awesomeness Fencerjared wears ripped pants of awesomeness Fencerjared wears ripped pants of awesomeness Fencerjared wears ripped pants of awesomeness Fencerjared wears ripped pants of awesomeness Fencerjared wears ripped pants of awesomeness
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Quote:
Originally Posted by N/A View Post
Uhh, I was just re-reading over the Enslave power and it says ANY unique Hero figure. Nothing about it being an opponents unique hero figure. Does that mean I can use Enslave on my own unique heroes to take a turn with them? Gives him a little extra kick if that's the case, and with the wording I don't see why not.
Yes.

"Anti"-Oxymoron
I'm anti-fashion, anti-religion
Anti-police and anti-system;
Anti-commercial and anti-prison,
Anti, anti-everything.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old August 9th, 2010, 05:50 PM
kolakoski's Avatar
kolakoski kolakoski is offline
worthless thread clother
 
Join Date: July 15, 2008
Location: USA - NY - NYC
Posts: 3,650
Images: 2765
Blog Entries: 263
kolakoski is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla kolakoski is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla kolakoski is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla kolakoski is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla kolakoski is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla kolakoski is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla kolakoski is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla kolakoski is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fencerjared View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by N/A View Post
Uhh, I was just re-reading over the Enslave power and it says ANY unique Hero figure. Nothing about it being an opponents unique hero figure. Does that mean I can use Enslave on my own unique heroes to take a turn with them? Gives him a little extra kick if that's the case, and with the wording I don't see why not.
Yes.
More support for Heroscape! Team with Rhogar, Raelin and a few other Heroes (OK, and a small screen ).



When I fight in Delta+, it just feels right!

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old August 9th, 2010, 07:38 PM
CheddarLimbo's Avatar
CheddarLimbo CheddarLimbo is offline
No Soup or Happy Endings For You!
 
Join Date: July 22, 2007
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 3,119
Blog Entries: 6
CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla CheddarLimbo is inducted into the Halls of Valhalla
Re: The Book of the Mind Flayer Mastermind

Quote:
Originally Posted by kolakoski View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fencerjared View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by N/A View Post
Uhh, I was just re-reading over the Enslave power and it says ANY unique Hero figure. Nothing about it being an opponents unique hero figure. Does that mean I can use Enslave on my own unique heroes to take a turn with them? Gives him a little extra kick if that's the case, and with the wording I don't see why not.
Yes.
More support for Heroscape! Team with Rhogar, Raelin and a few other Heroes (OK, and a small screen ).
Moving Raelin without wasting an OM is a pretty big deal.


Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Heroscapers > Official Classic HeroScape > Official Units
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Mind Flayer Paradox wriggz HeroScape General Discussion 82 September 26th, 2010 11:59 PM
Mindflayer Mastermind pre-release discussion thread TheSparkleInYourWater Official Units 168 August 4th, 2010 02:32 AM
Hive Mind Validon Official Rules & FAQ's 14 March 29th, 2010 08:50 PM
Red Skull's Mastermind Army! Strange Competitive Armies Discussion 0 October 29th, 2007 10:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:45 AM.

Heroscape background footer

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.