View Full Version : minions of utgar
September 19th, 2006, 08:20 PM
Instead of taking a turn with the Minions of Utgar, you may take a turn with any Kyrie Warrior you control who follows Utgar.
So it isn't bonding right? Whats the point then?
This has confused me and my friends for along time.
September 19th, 2006, 08:31 PM
to keep taelord within 4 spaces of them
September 19th, 2006, 08:32 PM
or if your minions all got killed(cept 1), then u could do some damage with taelord(and the next utgar kyrie) instead!
September 19th, 2006, 08:35 PM
then why don't you take a turn with taelord himself
September 19th, 2006, 08:35 PM
Well you can use it to fake out your opponent, or make a change to who you want to move and attack with after a round has started. With just Taelord out right now it isn't very good though, since Taelord doesn't have any abilities he can use directly when it's his turn. For example you could use it to switch a turn to Taelord if you unexpectedly lose 2 of your 3 Minions, but even moving and attacking with a single Minion is almost more viable then moving and attacking with Taelord. The ability will become much more useful once we get wave 6 and the female Utgar kyrie though. You then have more options with whom to switch a turn.
September 19th, 2006, 08:38 PM
here's a scenario:
Ur 2nd order marker is plaed on the minions.
However, DW9 blows 2 of them up in the first turn.
so, u can use utgar's orders to use taelord instead of the minions.
do you play with order markers? if u dont, then yes, the ability is useless.
September 19th, 2006, 08:46 PM
i put on the order marker during my turn.
Sorry if that makes me a noob. Me and my friend play with modified master game rules.
September 19th, 2006, 08:49 PM
that's fine. why bother with the order markers than?
September 19th, 2006, 08:58 PM
we make it into a utgar kyrie bonding
September 19th, 2006, 09:11 PM
The crappy bonding also allows one to decide between moving and attacking with the minions, or positioning Taelord so that the next activation of the minions will get the +1 bonus.
In practice, I almost always go for moving and attacking with the minions w/o the bonus if necessary, but nice to have the option :lol:
And, yeah, if one isn't using order markers, not much point to the ability :)
September 20th, 2006, 01:40 PM
Why place the order marker on your turn? Why place it at all then? That's one of the more interesting house rules I've heard.....care to explain how it works?
September 20th, 2006, 03:12 PM
Its my turn.
I put an order marker on charos.
I use him and then put down another order marker
I use my next card
when my turn is over i remove all order markers
Then it is my friends turn
We each get to use 4 cards (we count x as 4)
September 20th, 2006, 03:42 PM
Why use the order markers at all then? Why not just activate four cards?
So your're saying you get to take four full turns before your friend? Wow....on a small map and a small point game you could destroy must of his army with that.
September 20th, 2006, 03:47 PM
Especially if you use units that frenzy... or if you use Major Q (36 attacks before your opponent takes a turn!!!)
vBulletin® v3.6.9, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.