View Full Version : A few questions, which may have been discussed.
July 20th, 2006, 10:15 AM
I should know these already, but I have not been around for a while. Anyone give me some quick answers?
1. Can an AE standing on a bridge throw a grenade at someone directly under the bridge? (Seems feasible and legal)
Can an AE standing on Migol's tomb hit someone underneath it. (Does not seem feasible and I seem to recall it being illegal). Nevertheless, what is the distinction b/t these two things?
2. When Jotun throws into molten lava, does the thrown figure roll the d20?
3. Can the monks stealth leap a one hex wide chasm that is 20 levels deep? (Seems feasible but illegal?) Can the monks stealth leap from under Migol's Tomb to the top of it (assuming it was 12 or less levels high) (doesn't seem feasible, but it seems legal)?
4. Is Taelord overcosted? :wink:
July 20th, 2006, 10:56 AM
Good to see you HJ. ;)
Here are my thoughts...
1. The card states that "No clear line of sight is needed" so I'd say sure they can.
2. Yes, the thrown figure does get a d20 roll.
3. Yes. The card says that they can jump over water, so why not a chasm?
4. You better believe it.
July 20th, 2006, 11:01 AM
My take, which for the most part confirms what markwars says:
1) I think by a strict reading, yes to both. However, For the Migol's Tomb part, I probably would at least house-rule that you can't.
2) Yes. The Lava is rolled any time a figure moves into the Lava; it doesn't have to be via their own activation.
3) I would say YES to the Chasm; if I recall, the 12-level-restriction is the NET change, and thus jumping over the chasm would be OK. I'd probably say NO to the "jump through the floor" thing, though. But I think that may be more "house-rule" than rule, because the actual rules don't really cover overhangs in too great of detail unfortunately.
4) Depends on how many points you are playing with and what you have in your army :)
July 20th, 2006, 11:53 AM
3. Yes. The card says that they can jump over water, so why not a chasm?Put some water in the bottom of that chasm.
July 20th, 2006, 11:53 AM
I think the houserule for the tomb is a good idea. Just wondered if we had any official word.
As to the stealth leap, I do not beleive it refers to net change. If so, doesnt that mean I can leap over a 50 level high castle wall as long as I land on the ground? No net change. Common sense would dictate 12 levels net change lower or higher, and never exceeding 12 levels higher at any point. (So no jumping the big tree). But boy the card does NOT say that. How do you guys play it?
July 20th, 2006, 12:06 PM
i could jump over the grand canyon if there was a point where one side was six feet from the other no matter how deep it was. but i couldn't jump over a ten foot basket ball hoop. so i vote for yes chasm and no castle wall.
it seems to me that the card implise that they can leap 3 hexes all at once at a height of no more than 12. so a chasm would have no effect on their leap. i kinda see it like grenade lob.
July 20th, 2006, 12:15 PM
3) I also say yes to the chasm. And I don't know about you guys, but I can see the monks leaping out from under the tomb and then up on top of it. Not straight up through the floor. Of course, even this reasoning doesn't work if they are too far from the edge of the overhang.
July 20th, 2006, 02:41 PM
Wow HJ? My arch-nemesis!
Great to see you! :)
July 20th, 2006, 03:01 PM
happyjosiah is back, YAY!
vBulletin® v3.6.9, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.